Skip to main content

African American Studies: Biography

Primary and selected secondary sources for research in African American Studies at Princeton University.

Biography

African American Biographical Database  (1790-1950)

Biographical profiles & extended narratives of African-Americans from all walks of life. Many profiles include photographs & illustrations, and there is a rich collection of full-text African-American reference books.

African American authors, 1745-1945: bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook.

African American National Biography, edited by Henry Louis Gates and Evelyn Brooks-Higginbotham. New York: Oxford University Press, 2008. (DR) E185.96.A4466 2008 Supplement, 2008-20012 (DR) E185.96.A4466 2013 Suppl.

African-American Political Leaders, by Charles W. Carey, Jr.  New York: Facts On File, c2004.  (F) E185.96.C18 2004

African American Writers  

African Americans in the Military, by Catherine Reef.  New York: Facts On File, c2004 (FNC) U52.R42 2004

African Americans in the Performing Arts, by Steven Otfinoski.  Rev. ed. New York, NY: Facts on File, Inc., 2003. (F) PN2286.)88 2010

American National Biography  (17th Century+)  

Authoritative bios of more than 18,000 prominent Americans who are deceased. Updated monthly. Includes bibliographic data on publications by and about these individuals. Search by name or various characteristics including gender, ethnicity, occupation, dates.

Biography Index  (1946+)  

Links to 500,000 biographical entries in standard reference sources. Also lists bio coverage in contemporary magazines from 1984 to present. Offers multiple search criteria: name, race, ethnicity, gender, occupation, date, and keyword. Especially strong for US.

Biography Reference Bank  (Ancient times to present)

Combines the in-depth, original profiles of Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated, plus the periodicals coverage of Biography Index, full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from the complete range of Wilson databases (including biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, or obituaries).

Black American Military Leaders: A Biographical Dictionary, by Walter L. Hawkins.  Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Co., c2007.  (F) E181 .H382 2007

Contemporary African American novelists: a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook

Contemporary Authors (Literature Resource Center)

Contemporary Black Biography

Dictionary of American Negro Biography, by Rayford W. Logan and Michael R. Winston.  1sted. New York: Norton, c1982. (DR) E185.96.L 1982

Dictionary of Literary Biography (Literature Resource Center)

Freedom’s Lawmakers: A Directory of Black Officeholders during Reconstruction, by Eric Foner.  Rev.ed. Louisiana pbk. ed. Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 1996. (F) E185.96F64 1996

Grove Music Online  (antiquity+)

Harlem Renaissance Lives from the African American National Biography.  General editors, Henry Louis Gates, Jr. and Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham. Oxford: New York: Oxford University Press, 2009. (F) E185.6.H265 2009

Librarian for History and African American Studies