This is the "Newspaper Collections" page of the "Newspapers at Princeton" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Newspapers at Princeton   Tags: newspapers  

Last Updated: Jul 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/newspapers Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Newspaper Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Newspaper Collections

This guide highlights major newspaper collections at Princeton University in electronic format.   The historical tabs also contain many helpful tips for finding current newspapers in various formats. These sources contain many newspapers that are not listed. Search the Main Catalog for individual titles of newspapers.
 
Provides full-text of many international, national, and regional newspapers.

Provides full-text of many major national and regional newspapers.

Provides full-text of many major national and regional newspapers, including the full-text of the Wall Street Journal.

Provides images of newspapers from around the world.  Typically includes current 3 months.
Provides full text access to the New York Times (1995+) , the Wall Street Journal (1982+), the Los Angeles Times (1985+), and the Chicago Tribune (1985+) and many other papers.
Digital version of the microfilm for Baltimore Sun (2008+), Barron's (2008+), Boston Globe (2008+), Chicago Tribune (2008+), Guardian London (2010+), Los Angeles Times (2008+), National Law Journal (2009+), New York Times (2008+), Philadelphia Inquirer (2010+), San Francisco Chronicle (2008+), USA Today (2009+), Wall Street Journal (2008+), Washington Post (2008+), and many other newspapers.

 

World News Connection (Eastview) (1995+)
Foreign News Alert Service from the US Government. Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, focusing especially on local media sources. Covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.  Preceded by Foreign Broadcast Information Service (1941-1996) and Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) (1957-1994).
 
NewspaperArchive.com
Includes newspapers from the United States, Canada, China, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Jamaica, Japan, South Africa, United Kingdom, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.  Coverage varies by paper.


Proquest Historical Newspapers
Coverage depends on the newspaper. American Hebrew and Jewish Messenger (1857-1922); American Israelite (1854-2000); Arizona Republican (1890-1922); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Baltimore Sun (1837-1988); Boston Globe (1872-1982); Call and Post (Cleveland) (1934-1991); Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Chicago Tribune (1849-1990); Christian Science Monitor (1908-2000); Cleveland Call & Post (1934-1991); Detroit Free Press (1831-1922); Guardian and the Observer (1791-2003); Indianapolis Star (1903-1922); Irish Times (1859-2012); Jerusalem Post (1932-2008); Jewish Advocate (1905-1990); Jewish Exponent (1887-1990); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Los Angeles Times (1881-1990); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); New York Times (1851-2010); New York Tribune (1841-1962); Newsday (1940-1985); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); St. Louis Dispatch (1874-1922); Scotsman (1817-1950); South China Morning Post (1903-1995); Times of India (1838-2004); Wall Street Journal (1889-1996); Washington Post (1877-1997).   Also includes a Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953).

Gale News Vault (Varies depending on newspaper.)  
Cross searchable database of the 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century British Library Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals, Financial Times Historical Archive, Illustrated London News Historical Archive, Times Digital Archive, Daily Mail Historical Archive, and the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.

CDNC:  California Digital Newspaper Collection. Freely accessible repository of digitized California newspapers from 1846+.
 
 

Additional Sources

Ethnic NewsWatch 1960+ Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
ABYZ News Links Links to online newspapers and other news sources worldwide. Primarily composed of newspapers but also includes many broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies.
Alt-Press Watch Earliest date is 1970. Most start in the 1990s. Full-text database of newspapers, magazines, and journals from alternative and independent presses.
Center for Research Libraries. Global Resources Network.  Newspapers Searchable catalog of the extensive collection of international, USA, and Civilian Conservation Corps Camp newspapers held by the Center for Research Libraries and available via interlibrary loan.
Dateline 1985+ Contains articles from local & regional publications that chronicle the day-to-day operations of U.S. and Canadian companies. Important business trends and events as well as regional market & economic conditions also receive considerable coverage.
FACTS.com 1940+ Provides digest of major news stories around the world.
GenderWatch 1970+ Full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Keesing's Record of World Events Online 1960+ Monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic and economic affairs.
listsofnewspapers.com Directory of newspapers from around the world.
Newspaperindex.com   Links to newspapers and front pages from around the world. 
World Press Trends Database 1998+ Primary source of data on the newspaper industry world-wide. For each of more than 70 countries and territories, a broad range of annual data includes elements such as the number of titles and circulation, advertising costs and income, sales revenue, number of journalists and employees, salary costs, and costs for newsprint.
 

Newspaper Search

 To search across many newspapers simultaneously, use Articles+ Newspapers.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip