Research Guides: Newspapers at Princeton: Middle East Current

Middle East Current

Middle East Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Selection of full-text Middle Eastern newspapers and newswires covering international and Middle Eastern regional topics.
Mideastwire This link opens in a new window
Daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
Multi Data Online Data Bank This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from important studies, opinions, and analyses published in Arab newspapers and magazines. 2000+
Afghan Central Press Collection This link opens in a new window
The Afghan Central Press collection brings together four national, Kabul-based publications of Afghanistan whose long runs and prominence provide a concentrated vantage point for understanding developments in Afghanistan for much of the twentieth century. The English-language Kabul Times is presented alongside Pushto publications Anīs, Hewād, and Iṣlāḥ. The archives of these newspapers provide a chronicle of events from the fall of the Kingdom of Afghanistan, the establishment of the People’s Democratic Republic of Afghanistan, the Soviet invasion, the rise of the Mujahedeen, the establishment of the Taliban and Al Qaeda, invasion by the United States and the ensuing period of reconstruction from the view of the capital.

Haaretz (English)
Daily Israeli newspaper, 2001+
Haaretz (Hebrew)
Hebrew language Israeli daily, 2001+
Jerusalem Post
English Language Israeli Daily, 1988+

Jerusalem Post This link opens in a new window
English language Israeli daily, 1932-2008.
Index to Hebrew Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in Hebrew language periodicals and a few monographs, as well as articles in other languages dealing with all aspects of Israeli life and culture. Files which make up the database include Eretz Israel Database, Tel-Hai Index to Hebrew Newspapers, and the Bar-Ilan Indexing Project.
In order to access this database, Hebrew fonts must be loaded.
PressReader.com This link opens in a new window
Provides images of newspapers from around the world. Typically includes about 3 months.
Nexis UNI (former Lexis-Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text of many international papers.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text of some international papers. Under source category,select language (includes Arabic and Turkish) or region.

Financial Times (1888+)

The Official Index to the Financial Times. 1981-2005 (Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone HG11.A56q
1888-2021 (image access through Gale)
August 2004+ for FT.Com; 2005+ for newspaper (access through FT.COM; If not registered go to the SSO signin.)
- UK edition - November 28, 2005 - present
- Europe edition - January 3, 2006 - present
- US edition - September 1, 2005 - present
- Asia edition - January 28, 2009 - present
- Middle East edition - March 1, 2010 - present

Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers.
Researchers will find a wealth of unique content from the Middle East and North Africa, much of which has never been digitized or available as open access material. Content in the Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French. The collection comprises mostly out-of-copyright, orphaned content. CRL members and subscribing institutions also receive access to five in-copyright titles from the region: al-Jumhūrīyah (الجمهورية, Egypt), Filasṭīn (فلسطين, Israel), al-Akhbar (الاخبار, Lebanon), al-Riyadh (الرياض, Saudi Arabia), and al-Dustūr (الدستور, Jordan).