Skip to Main Content

Newspapers at Princeton: Europe Current

United Kingdom/Ireland

Also see Newspaper Collections.   For historical also see Finding World Newspapers at Princeton.

 
Times (London)  (1785+)

 

Guardian and Observer (1791+)

London Evening Standard  (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) (1827+) 

Daily Mail (1896+)
Illustrated London News Archive (1842-2003)
 
Independent (Gale Historical Archive) (1986-2016) (Paper has ceased)
 
Irish Times, The (1859+)

Irish Newspaper Archive
Contains electronic versions of Irish newspapers from the 1700's to current day.

Scotsman (1817-1950; 1981+)
  • Scotsman (Factiva) (1981+)
  • Scotsman (PressReader.com) (current 3 months)
  • Scotsman (Nexis Uni) (1993+)
  • Scotsman (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) (1817-1950)

Telegraph (1855-2016)

Financial Times (1888+)
  • The Official Index to the Financial Times. 1981-2005 (Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone HG11.A56q
  • 1888-2021 (image access through Gale)
  • August 2004+ for FT.Com; 2005+ for newspaper (access through FT.COM; If not registered go to the SSO signin.)
    • UK edition - November 28, 2005 - present
    • Europe edition - January 3, 2006 - present
    • US edition - September 1, 2005 - present
    • Asia edition - January 28, 2009 - present
    • Middle East edition - March 1, 2010 - present
UKPressOnline  (1835+)

19th-21st Century newspapers from the United Kingdom.

France

Le Monde (December 19, 1944+)

Germany

Frankfurter Allgemeine Archiv. F.A.Z.-BiblioNet contains digitized articles from Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung since 1993 and Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung beginning in 1995; F.A.Z. 49-92 contains digitized articles from Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung from 1949-1992 and Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung from 1990-1992; and Frankfurter Rundschau contains digitized articles from Frankfurter Rundschau since 1995.

Russia

Also see Newspaper Collections.  For historic also see Finding World Newspapers at Princeton.
 

Gudok Digital Archive (DA-GUDO) (1918+)

Izvestia

Scan Interfax. The SCAN (System for Comprehensive Analysis of News) search-and-analysis system provides access to the electronic resources of Russian media organizations. The system was designed by Interfax and uses hi-tech tools to search, monitor, and analyze textual information. The system currently provides full-text versions of the main central and regional media (about 5,000 sources), with daily additions of more than 30,000 documents.   Please contact Slavic East European and Eurasian Studies Librarian  Thomas Keenan for SCAN login credentials.
 
Literaturnaia Gazeta (1929+) 
Literaturnaia Gazeta (PressReader.com) (2007+)
 
Moscow News Digital Archive (1930-2014) (ceased)

 

Novoe Russkoe Slovo Digital Archive (DA-NRS) (1918-1980) (ceased)

 

Pravda Digital Archive (1912-2009)
Pravda (PressReader.com) (current 3 months)
 
Imperial Russian Newspapers. Comprises out-of-copyright newspapers spanning 1782-1918.
 
East View Universal Databases. Provides access to journal articles, news articles, government reports, and other material from the post-Soviet period. Provides access in Russian or English. Searches submitted in English will yield results in English. Searches in Russian may be conducted using a drop-down keyboard or using Library of Congress Transliteration. Individual titles currently held in electronic format only may be browsed and searched. Includes Current Digest of the Russian Press, CIS & Baltic Periodicals, Russian Central Newspapers, Russian/NIS Newswires, Russian Regional Newspapers, and other serials from Russia.
 

Spain

Also see Newspaper Collections and Newspapers and Current Information (Latin America, Spain, and Portugal)
For historic, also see Finding World Newspapers at Princeton.
 
El Pais.es (1976+)
Articles from the newspaper of record for Spain -- El Pais.