Research Guides: Newspapers at Princeton: Asia Current

China & Taiwan

Also see Newspaper Collections.

Renmin Ribao (1946+)

Renmin Ribao (2007+)
Renmin Ribao (1946-2012) For current issues, go directly to publisher's site. IMPORTANT: for pdf files, use Internet Explorer, and open files outside the browser directly in Acrobat Reader or Professional.

South China Morning Post (1903+)

South China Morning Post (1993+) (ProQuest Central)
South China Morning Post (1903-2001) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Apabi Newspaper database This link opens in a new window
Set of Chinese newspapers in original format, first date included differs, most start around 2010.
Choose the shuzi baozhi tab.
Current Digest of the Chinese Press This link opens in a new window
Weekly collection of Chinese press materials in English translation.
Covers politics, international relations, security, economics, business, public health, environment, education, and culture. Articles originate from major state news sources. All articles are full-text searchable. 2011+
Da gong bao (Ta Kung Pao, L’impartial) This link opens in a new window
All editions of this important pro-communist newspaper (Tianjin, Shanghai, Chongqing, Hankou, Hong Kong, Guilin) are included. Full-text search; results are available in snippets or full page pdf.
Guangming Ribao This link opens in a new window
Browsable and searchable version of the influential Chinese central government newspaper targeting intellectuals 1949-2018
Hongkong Weekly Press Online This link opens in a new window
The Hongkong Weekly Press was an English-language weekly newspaper published between 1890 and 1945. This online collection includes issues published from 1920 to 1929 as full-text searchable scans.
Jie fang jun bao (1956+) This link opens in a new window
Chinese newspaper with full-text, no images.
Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers (CRL) This link opens in a new window
Collection of thirteen Republican newspapers from Beijing, Chongqing, Hankou, Jiaodong (Shandong) and Shanghai covering the period of 1911-1949.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) This link opens in a new window
Includes Canton Times (1919-1920), China Critic (1939-1946), China Monthly Review (1950-1953), China Press (1925-1938), China Weekly Review (1923-1950), Chinese Recorder (1868-1941), Chinese Repository (1832-1851), Millard's China National Review (1919-1919), Millard's Review of the Far East (1919-1921), North - China Herald (1850-1941), Peking Daily News (1914-1917), Peking Gazette (1915-1917), Peking Leader (1918-1919), Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921), Shanghai Times (1914-1921), Weekly Review (1922-1923).
Udndata This link opens in a new window
Collection of searchable Taiwanese full-text newspapers from the United Daily News group, including the Lianhebao from 1951.
WiseSearch This link opens in a new window
News items from over 1,500 newspapers and other media sources from the Greater China region, national, provincial and regional level. Some English-language sources from Asia are included, as is company news.
See the EAL pages for more info. 1998+

Japan

Also see Newspaper Collections.

Japan Chronicle Weekly This link opens in a new window
Well-informed, but controversial newspaper founded and based in Kobe, tracing Japan’s engagement with modernity and its emergence onto the world stage. Includes the weekly Commercial Supplement. 1902-1940
Japan Times Archives This link opens in a new window
English newspaper in Japan since 1897. Archive includes the Japan Times only, not the back issues of the newspapers it merged with along its history (1918: The Japan Mail, 1940: The Japan Advertiser and The Japan Chronicle.
Kikuzo II bijuaru for Libraries This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable newspaper database containing all non-copyrighted articles from Asahi shinbun since 1879. In addition, it includes Aera, Shukan Asahi and Chiezo.
Click on Sutato gamen e (SSL)
Maisaku (Mainichi Shinbun Online Database) This link opens in a new window
The Mainichi Shimbun is the one of 3 major Japanese newspapers and the oldest daily newspaper. Provides the following: Mainichi Shimbun (1872+); Weekly Economist (1989+; images in reduced size edition is available from 1989-1999); and The Mainichi (English) (2008+). Can also browse today’s news and breaking news.
Yomidasu = ヨミダス (Yomiuri Database Service) This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Yomiuri Shinbun containing searchable newspaper articles from 1874 through 1989 in image format, and from 1986 in full text. Also included is a Who's who of 26,000 people and the English-language Daily Yomiuri since 1989.
\Adobe Flash Player 9\ needed.

South and Southeast Asia

See the Journalism in South Asia Guide.

Also see Newspaper Collections.

Financial Express (2005+) [India]

Hindustan Times [India]

Hindustan Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) (1924-2010) [India]
Hindustan Times (ProQuest) (2005+)
Hindustan Times (NexisUNI) (2004+)
Hindustan Times (Factiva) (1997+)

Times of India (1838+)

Times of India (Newsbank) (2002+)
Times of India (Pressreader) (current 3 months)
Times of India (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) (1838-2011)

South Asian Newspapers (Center for Research Libraries - Global Research Network) This link opens in a new window
Chronicles conflicts as well as contemporary perspectives on independence movements, early statehood, and the extensive economic and social growth taking place in South Asia. The collection covers several countries, including Afghanistan, Bangladesh (formerly East Pakistan), India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, and features multiple languages such as Bengali, Dari, English, Nepali, and more. With reportage dating as far back as the 1850s, the South Asian Newspapers collection provides a wealth of coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the 19th and 20th centuries. An open access collection in East View.
Southeast Asian Newspapers (Center for Research Libraries - Global Research Network) (1839-1976) This link opens in a new window
Chronicles the changes that took place throughout Southeast Asia and the challenges of early statehood. Covering several countries from the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and featuring multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese, the Southeast Asian Newspapers collection incorporates a wealth of coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the late 19th and 20th centuries.
World Newspaper Archive - South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers include Ceylon Observer (Sri Lanka), Indian People (Allahabad), Kayasare hinda (Bombay), Leader (Allahabad), Madras Mail (Madras), Pioneer (Allahabad), and Tribune (Lahore).

Korea

Also see Collections of Newspapers.

Korea Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
1956-2016
KINDS This link opens in a new window
Korean Integrated News Database System is a one-stop search portal for newspaper articles published in South Korea.
Naver News Library This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of 4 major news papers in South Korea: Kyonghyang Sinmun, Tonga Ilbo, Maeil Kyongje, and Han'gyore. Images and electronic texts are available with full-text search.

Financial Times

Financial Times (1888+)

The Official Index to the Financial Times. 1981-2005 (Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone HG11.A56q
1888-2021 (image access through Gale)
August 2004+ for FT.Com; 2005+ for newspaper (access through FT.COM; If not registered go to the SSO signin.)
- UK edition - November 28, 2005 - present
- Europe edition - January 3, 2006 - present
- US edition - September 1, 2005 - present
- Asia edition - January 28, 2009 - present
- Middle East edition - March 1, 2010 - present