Skip to main content

African American Studies: Reference

Primary and selected secondary sources for research in African American Studies at Princeton University.

E-books

ABC CLIO eBook collection

Full-text books in humanities, social sciences, gender studies, African American Studies, Latino Studies, and Native American Studies. Browse the subject category, then select race and ethnicity to access a full range of reference books.

Hathi Trust Digital Library

Princeton University Library has joined together with many other large academic libraries to store, preserve and protect its digitized book collections, by partnering with HathiTrust, a shared repository of digitized content.  Princeton plans to store its Google Books Project public domain images and other locally created digital collections in HathiTrust.

OAIster

OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access digital resources.  The records of the open access multidisciplinary digital resources available via OAIster lead to a wide range of materials and include: digitized (scanned) books, journal articles, newspapers, manuscripts and more, from more than 1000 contributors worldwide.

SAGE Reference Online

A collection of handbooks and encyclopedias in history, the sciences, and the social sciences.

Dictionaries and encylopedias

The African American Almanac

Includes coverage of such topics as: Africa and the Black diaspora; film and television; national organizations; population; religion; science and technology; and sports.

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: the Black Experience in the Americas.

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present: from the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-first Century

Encyclopedia of African American popular culture. Jessie Carney Smith, editor.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: Greenwood, c2011  (DR) E174 .E54 2011

The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America.

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism

The Jim Crow Encyclopedia

Negro Year Book: An Annual Encyclopedia of the Negro. Nashville: Sunday School Union Print, 1912-1952. (F) E185.5 N41 Location has: 1912, 1914/15, 1918/19, 1921/22, 1925/26, 1931/32, 1937/38, 1941/46, 1952; (ReCapMicrofilm 04543 1918, 1925/26

Oxford African American Studies Center 

Access to the finest reference resources in African American studies. At its core, OAASC includes the new Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895; the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; the second edition of Black Women in America; and African American National Biography. Also includes the highly acclaimed Africana, a five volume history of the African and African American experience. In addition to these major reference works, OAASC offers other key resources from Oxford's reference series, including the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature.

The State of Black America 

Blackwell Reference Online

Blackwell Reference Online (Princeton access only)

Full-text of approximately 300 humanities and social science reference books published by Blackwell.

Blackwell Companion to Modern Theology

           Part V: Contemporary Issues, Ch. 31 “Race”

Blackwell Companion to Social Inequalities

Blackwell Companion to Social Movements

           Part VI:  Major Social Movements, Ch. 28 “Ethnic and Nationalist Social Movements”

Blackwell Companion to the Sociology of Culture

            Part IV:  Identity and Difference, Ch. 15 “Race after the Cultural Turn”

Blackwell Companion to the Sociology of Families

             Part III: Inequality and Diversity

Blackwell Dictionary of Modern Social Thought

    “EmancipationEquality and InequalityEthnicityRaceRacismStereotype

Companion to African American History

A Companion to African-American Philosophy

A Companion to African American Studies

A Companion to 19th-Century America

            Part IV: Race, Gender, and Ethnicity

A Companion to Post-1945 America

           Part II: People and Movements, Ch. 10 “Hyphen Nation: Ethnicity in American Intellectual and Political Life;” Ch. 12 “The Historiography of the Struggle for Black Equality since 1945”

A Companion to Media Studies

          Part V: Effects, Ch. 20 “Race and Crime in the Media: Research from a Media Effects Perspective;” Ch. 23 “The Impact of Stereotypical and Counter-Stereotypical News on Viewer Perceptions of Blacks and Latinos: An Exploratory Study”

Part VI: Futures, Ch. 25 “All Consuming Identities: Race, Mass Media, and the Pedagogy of Resentment in the Age of Difference”

A Companion to Racial and Ethnic Studies

See also:  A Companion to the American South

                A Companion to the Civil War and Reconstruction

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online  (Princeton access only)

Full-text of more than 100 dictionaries and reference books published by Oxford University Press

Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature

The Oxford Companion to American Military History

              "African Americans in the military

The Oxford Companion to Black British History

               “Ira Aldridge” (African American actor)

The Oxford Companion to Canadian History

               “African Canadians

Oxford Companion to United States History

               “African Americans

                African American Religion

Librarian for History and African American Studies