Skip to main content

African American Studies: Plantation life

Primary and selected secondary sources for research in African American Studies at Princeton University.

Articles

America: History and Life  (1954+)

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

American Periodicals  (1740-early 20th century.)

Full-text and page images of several hundred American periodicals of the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries. 

JSTOR  

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

Data

Black Demographic Data, 1790-1860: A Sourcebook, by Clayton E. Cramer.  Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1997. 

Historical Census Statistics on Population Totals by Race, 1790 to 1990, and by Hispanic Origin, 1970 to 1990, for Large Cities and other Urban Places in the United States, by Campbell Gibson and Kay Jung.  Washington, DC : Population Division, U.S. Census Bureau, [2005]

Historical Statistics of Black America, compiled & edited by Jessie Carney Smith and Carrell Peterson Horton.  New York: Gale Research, c1995.  (F) E185 .H543 1995

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition  (Colonial Period to 2000)

Statistical series on subjects ranging from population and land area to production figures for crops and manufactured products. Detailed documentation provides brief histories of the statistical series and source materials.

Negro population in the United States, 1790-1915.  New York, Arno Press, 1968. (F) HA205.A33 1968, (Stokes) HA205.A33 1968

Digital primary sources

American History & Culture Online  (1500-1926)

Digital library of works written or published in the United States, as well as items printed elsewhere, that document the history of the Americas from 1492 to the mid-1800s. Based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana.

Early American Imprints - Evans Digital Edition

Digital library of works published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period,1639-1800.

Early American Imprints - Shaw-Shoemaker Digital Edition

Digital library of works published in America in the early 19th century. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period, 1801-1819.

Evans Digital Edition  (1639-1800)

Note: (not yet complete) Digital library of works published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries. Materials include fiction and non-fiction covering every aspect of American life in the period.

Everyday Life & Women in America, c1800-1920  

Comprises rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, tracts, and broadsides concerning such areas as American home life, 1800-1920, the history of women, and the history of childhood.

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries  

Collection of previously unpublished letters and diaries by women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries documenting the details of their lives and illuminating the roles women played within their families, their communities, and the social and political movements of their times. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries (Colonial-1950)

Full text database of women's personal writings.

Microfilm collections

*Printed guides to accompany microfilm are housed in Microform Services on A-floor in Firestone Library.


Butler Plantation Papers: The Papers of Pierce Butler (1744-1822) and Sucessors from the Historical Society of Pennsylvania

ReCap Microfilm 10622           E-guide            Printed guide (FilmB) F290.B96 B874          22 reels

This collection documents both the day-to-day running of the Butler plantations in South Carolina and Georgia from 1786 to 1885, and the political career of Pierce Butler, who served in Congress in 1792-94 and 1802-04.

John Horry Dent Farm Journals and Account Books, 1840-1892

ReCap Microfilm 01553           Printed guide (FilmB) Z6611.A33D46          4 reels

Dent was a prosperous plantation (and slave) owner who kept a daily journal for more than 50 years.

Records of Ante-bellum Southern Platations from the Revolution through the Civil War

ReCap Microfilm 05474           E-guides          Printed guide: (Film B) F213.S35          1286 reels

Plantation records from many libraries and archives, including business records, account books, reports, diaries and letters that offer a detailed view of life on Southern plantations. There is extensive material on slavery, agriculture as a business, and family life.

Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century: Papers and Diaries

ReCap Microfilm 06950           Printed guide: (FilmB) HQ1458.S687          411 reels

Consists of diaries and letters written by women in the American South in the 19th century. Covers a rich variety of topics including the Civil War, slavery, marriage and childbearing, religion and politics.

Southern Historical Manuscripts

ReCap Microfiche 848                   Printed guide: none          526 microfiche

Consists of original plantation records in the collection of Louisiana State University, Dept. of Archives and Manuscripts (Baton Rouge).

Papers of Robert F. W. Allston, 1801-1864

ReCap Microfiche 822                   Printed guide: none          438 microfiche

Allston was a rice planter and governor of South Carolina from 1856-1858. From the South Carolina Historical Society. See Allston, Robert F.W. (1801-1864) in American National Biography.

Newspapers

African American Newspapers at Princeton

America's Historical Newspapers  (1690-1922)

Searchable full-text of historical newspapers including titles from all 50 states. Now includes select coverage of some major papers after 1922 through the mid 1990s.

Nineteenth Century U. S. Newspaper Digital Archive  (1800-1899)

Digital archive of U.S. newspapers from the 19th century.