Skip to main content

Using RefWorks at Princeton: Citation Management at PU

If you need help using Endnote, see this guide.

What is a Citation?

What is a citation? A citation....

  • describes a book, journal article, website, or other published item
  • gives credit to the originator of an idea, thus preventing plagiarism
  • enables the reader to retrieve the item you refer to
  • includes the author, title, source (publisher and place of publication or URL), and date

A citation manager is a tool which helps you to store, organize and output your citations in the format you prefer.

Comparison Chart

EndNote EndNote Web Zotero RefWorks Procite
Cost $13 from PSR Free to PU users Free Free to PU users $200
Web based access/storage No Yes No
Yes No
Import references from online databases Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Store references online and share with others No Yes Not yet, coming soon Yes No
MS Word integration Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Create custom bibliographic styles Yes No No, but can import EndNote styles Yes Yes
Use Find it @PUL full-text links Yes Yes Yes Yes No
Requires online connection No Yes No Yes No
Other Available for Windows and MacOS Requires Firefox browser Available for Windows and MacOS

new comparison chart

Choosing a Citation Manager: Zotero, Mendeley, EndNote

The following popular citation managers provide the same basic features and functionality with some important exceptions. Below are a few scenarios that might be helpful when choosing a citation manager. Once you have narrowed down the choices, the rest is personal preference. Some tips: Consult the comparison chart below for specific features. Talk to people in your department – some disciplines tend to use one tool more than others. Consult your subject librarian for a recommendation.

How to choose a Citation Manager
I Need to: Use: Why:
…work from multiple computers or locations. Zotero
Mendeley
EndNote Basic
Zotero saves your citation library to your local computer, but syncs with multiple computers so you can work from home, work, or school.
Mendeley is a program that lives on your local computer, but syncs with a web account.
EndNote Basic is entirely web-based and can be accessed from any computer with internet access, and can sync with EndNote desktop.
…work without an Internet connection. Zotero
Mendeley
EndNote
Zotero, Mendeley and EndNote store your citation libraries locally on your computer.
…archive web pages and import citations from sites such as Amazon and ArtSTOR. Zotero Zotero allows you to easily save snapshots of web pages and annotate them within your citation library. It is a great tool for scraping citation information from web-based publications and some commercial and social networking sites.
…work on a group project or share my citations with others. Zotero
Mendeley
EndNote Basic
Zotero allows you to share your citations through shared folders -- you can give individuals or groups permissions to add and edit the citations in the shared folder. Mendeley allows you to share citations and documents with a group of up to 2 other users, or create a public reading list that is open to all. EndNote Basic allows you to create and share groups with other users.
Citation Manager Comparison Chart
Criteria Zotero Mendeley EndNote EndNote Basic
Web based? Yes, works with Firefox browser and can sync with online account; connectors for Chrome and Safari available Not primarily, but can sync with an online account which is editable Yes, with EndNote basic account Yes
Must be online? No No No Yes
Cost Free for basic account, some cost for more online storage space Free for basic account, some cost for more online storage space $$, Student discount through computer store Free  
Word-processor compatibility MS Word, Open Office, Google Docs MS Word, Open Office, LaTex MS Office, Open Office, iWork Pages MS Word
Import from databases Yes Yes Direct export from specific databases Yes
Import citation info from web pages Yes, also archives the page and you can add annotations Yes, with a bookmark for a limited number of sites (mostly publishers or databases) Yes, with Web Capture tool and EndNote basic account Yes, with Web Capture tool
Storage capacity Unlimited local storage and data syncing; 100MB free Zotero file syncing (larger syncing plans available for purchase); or can use WebDav Unlimited local storage and data syncing; 1GB personal and 100MB shared online space (larger online storage plans available for purchase) Unlimited local storage Limited to 50,000 citations and 2 GB of attachment storage
Attach associated files (PDFs, etc.) Yes, with option to attach automatically Yes, and can highlight and annotate PDFs Yes, and can highlight and annotate PDFs Yes
Search full text of PDFs Yes Yes Yes No
Create group or shared libraries Yes Yes, free for up to 3 group members (larger group plans available for purchase) Yes, with EndNote basic account Yes
Create bibliography with different styles Yes Yes Yes Yes
Automatic citation extraction from PDFs Yes Yes Yes No
Other features Sync library with multiple computers
Use tags to organize/search
Sync library with multiple computers
Sync with Zotero library
Insert figures and charts using word processor integration

 

 

Last updated May 2015