Skip to main content

African American Studies: Religion

A guide to resources at Princeton University Library.

Almanacs and encyclopedias

The African American Almanac.  Brigham Narins, editor.  10th ed. Detroit, Mich.: Thomson Gale, c2008. 

Encyclopedia of African American Christian Heritage, by Marvin A. McMickle.  Valley Forge, PA: Judson Press, c2002.  (F) BR563.N4 M353 2002

Encyclopedia of African American Religions.  Edited by Larry G. Murphy, J. Gordon Melton,Gary L. Ward.  New York: Garland Pub., 1993.  (DR) BR563.N4 E53 1993

The Encyclopedia of African and African-American Religions.  Stephen D. Glazier, editor.  New York: Routledge, 2001.  (DR) BL2462.5 .E53 2001

African American Music Reference  

Brings together text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the history and culture of the African American experience through music. The database will expand to include coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

Oxford Companion to United States History - African American Religion


African American Biographical Database  (1790-1950)

Biographical profiles & extended narratives of African-Americans from all walks of life. Many profiles include photographs & illustrations, and there is a rich collection of full-text African-American reference works.

Contemporary Black Biography  

Biographical profiles of the important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage of various nationalities.

Oxford African American Studies Center  

Access to the finest reference resources in African American studies. Includes the new African American National Biography.

Librarian for History and African American Studies

Steven Knowlton