Skip to main content

African American Studies: Religion

A guide to resources at Princeton University Library.


African American Periodicals, 1825-1995  

Online collection of academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other diverse periodicals.

America: History and Life  (1954+)

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

ATLA Religion Database + ATLA Serials  (1949+)

Citations and many full-text articles from religion and theology journals.

Black Studies Center    

Scholarly essays and access to articles in Black Studies journals. Combines the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), and the full-text of The Chicago Defender, an important Black newspaper, from 1935-1975.


Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR. 

Oxford African American Studies Center    

Access to the finest reference resources in African American studies. At its core, OAASC includes the Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895; the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; the second edition of Black Women in America; and the African American National Biography. Also includes the highly acclaimed Africana, a five volume history of the African and African American experience. In addition to these major reference works,OAASC offers other key resources from Oxford's reference series, including the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature.

Religious & Theological Abstracts  (1958+)

Provides abstracts of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of religion and theology.

Sociological Abstracts  (1952+)

Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers 2,500 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.

Wilson OmniFile  (1982+)  

Multi-disciplinary database providing select full text articles, abstracts, and indexing. Consists of databases for scholarly sources in agriculture, applied science and technology, art, biology, business, education, general science, humanities, law, library and information science, social sciences, as well as popular appeal titles.