Skip to main content

African American Studies: Education

Primary and selected secondary sources for research in African American Studies at Princeton University.

Primary Sources

Black Thought and Culture     

Full-text collection of published non-fiction works is included, as well as interviews, journal articles, letters, and other materials of leading African-Americans. Biographical essays by leading scholars and an annotated bibliography of the sources in the database are also featured.

The Claude A. Barnett papers.

Recap Microfilm 02648      Printed guide: (FilmB) PN4841.A73M44 (Location has: Part.1; Part.3, ser.A-D, ser. I)       162 reels

Part. 1. Associated Negro Press news release, 1928-1964: Series A, 1928-1944 (29 reels). Series B, 1945-1955 (29 reels). Series C, 1956-1964 (25 reels).  Part. 2. Associated News Press organizational files, 1920-1966 (24 reels).  Part. 3. Subject files on Black Americans, 1918-1967: Series A, Agriculture, 1923-1966 (11 reels). Series B, Colleges and Universities, 1918-1966 (16 reels). Series C, Economic conditions, 1918-1966 (13 reels). Series D, Entertainers, artists and authors, 1928-1965 (7 reels). Series I, Race relations, 1923-1965 (8 reels).

General Education Board Archives. Series I, Appropriations.

ReCap Microfilm 12535     Printed guide (FilmB) LC243.G3 A3 1993   360 reels

Collection, covering 1901-1967, reveals the inner workings of the GEB; shows how it specifically aided countless African-American schools, teachers, and students throughout the South; and illustrates the tense race relations of the early twentieth century and the efforts of determined leaders to overcome hostility. The documents in this collection are organized alphabetically by state and then by location or institution. Included are reports by GEB’s state agents on educational conditions in the South and various school problems, correspondence among GEB officers, institutions requesting aid, and state agents, and pamphlets from the institutions requesting aid. Each reel contains a reel guide.

Roll no. 1-13. Alabama -- Roll no. 14-19. Arkansas -- Roll no. 20-22. District of Columbia -- Roll no. 23-28. Florida -- Roll no. 29-56. Georgia -- Roll no. 57-65. Kentucky -- Roll no. 66-71. Louisiana -- Roll no. 72. Minnesota -- Roll no. 73-79. Mississippi -- Roll no. 80. Missouri. New Mexico. New York (in part) -- Roll no. 81. New York (in part) -- Roll no. 82-97. North Carolina -- Roll no. 98. Oklahoma -- Roll no. 99-107. South Carolina -- Roll no. 108-131. Tennessee -- Roll no. 132-139. Texas -- Roll no. 140-156. Virginia -- Roll no. 157-159. West Virginia.

Horace Mann Bond Papers.

ReCap Microfilm 11591           Printed guide (FilmB) E185.97.B65A3     98 reels

Pt. 1. Bond family papers, 1892-1971, and general correspondence, 1926-1972 (9 reels) -- pt. 2. Subject files, 1926-1971 (36 reels) -- pt. 3. Institutional files, 1919-1972 (38 reels) -- pt. 4. Research files, 1910-1971, and writings, 1926-1972 (15 reels).

Includes personal and professional correspondence, administrative and teaching records, research data, manuscripts of published and unpublished speeches, articles and books, and Bond Family papers.

Mary McLeod Bethune Papers: The Bethune-Cookman College Collection, 1922-1955

ReCap Microfilm 10234          Online guide      Printed guide (FilmB) E185.97.B34 A3         13 reels

Administrative records of Mary McLeodBethune as president of Bethune-Cookman College including general correspondence, special correspondence, subject files, and financial records.

Mary McLeod Bethune Papers, The Bethune Foundation Collection

ReCap Microfilm 11958         Online guide        Printed guide (FilmB) E185.97.B34 A2 1996     19 reels

Pt. 1. Writings, diaries, scrapbooks, biographical materials and files on the National Youth Administration and women’s organization, 1918-1955 -- pt. 2. Correspondence files, 1914-1955 -- pt. 3. Subject files, 1939-1955 -- pt. 4. Administration of Bethune-Cookman College and the Mary Mcleod Bethune Foundation, 1915-1955 (including a three  reel supplement).

Papers of John and Lugenia Burns Hope 

ReCap Microfilm 05653     Printed guide: (FilmB) Z6616.H67H67      21 reels

"Contains the official and personal correspondence of the couple, their official, personal, and financial records; their articles, essays, and speeches (manuscript and printed), and several categories of miscellaneous materials."

United Negro College Fund Archives

Printed guide (FilmB) Z5815.U5 U29 1985

Articles

Black Studies Center    

Scholarly essays and access to articles in Black Studies journals. Combines the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), and the full-text of The Chicago Defender, an important Black newspaper, from 1935-1975.

Education Full Text  (Indexing 1929+; Full-text 1996+)

Comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Cover-to cover indexing, abstracts, and full text from hundreds of journals covering such topics as: comparative education, competency-based education, higher education, literacy standards, prayer in public schools, student counseling, teaching methods and evaluation, and dozens more.

Ebsco Academic Search  (1975+)  

Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals.

ERIC  (1966+)

Complete bibliography of education materials featuring published and unpublished sources of thousands of educational topics, with information from the Resources in Education and Current Index to Journals in Education. A very well designed thesaurus and identifiers facilitate use of this product.

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Full Text)  (1861+; full text 1997+)  

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts.

Dissertations & Theses @ Princeton University    

Citations and abstracts of only Princeton University dissertations. Princeton users may download for free the full text of dissertations published after 1996. This is a subset of Proquest Digital Dissertations.

ProQuest Central  

Sociological Abstracts  (1952+)

Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers 2,500 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.

Wilson OmniFile  (1982+)

Multi-disciplinary database providing select full text articles, abstracts, and indexing. Consists of databases for scholarly sources in agriculture, applied science and technology, art, biology, business, education, general science, humanities, law, library and information science, social sciences, as well as popular appeal titles.

Data

Data resources: Education

ACCESS TO THESE DATA FILES ARE RESTRICTED TO CURRENTLY ENROLLED/EMPLOYED MEMBERS OF PRINCETON UNIVERSITY.

 

National Center for Education Statistics  

Primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the United States. Includes some data from international surveys.

 

Encyclopedias

The African American almanac.

Includes coverage of such topics as: Africa and the Black diaspora; education; film and television; landmarks; national organizations; population; religion; science and technology; and sports.

Encyclopedia of African-American education.  Edited by Faustine C. Jones-Wilson ... [et al.]. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1996.  Also in (F) LC2717 .E53 1996

Oxford African American Studies Center  

Access to the finest reference resources in African American studies. At its core, OAASC includes the new Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895; the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; the second edition of Black Women in America; and African American National Biography. Also includes the highly acclaimed Africana, a five volume history of the African and African American experience. In addition to these major reference works, OAASC offers other key resources from Oxford's reference series, including the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature.

Librarian for History and African American Studies