Digital collections of historical material on many topics. Includes manuscripts, printed books and periodicals, and government documents. Material comes from the U.S. National Archives, the U.K. National Archives, and many other libraries and archives. Listed below are digitized African American resources that are included in Archives Unbound.
The Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle (BLA) was an underground, black nationalist-Marxist militant organization that operated from 1970 to 1981. Composed largely of former Black Panthers (BPP), the organization’s program was one of "armed struggle" and its stated goal was to "take up arms for the liberation and self-determination of black people in the United States." The BLA carried out a series of bombings, robberies (what participants termed "expropriations"), and prison breaks.
Date range: 1970-1983
Black Nationalism and the Revolutionary Action Movement: The Papers of Muhammad Ahmad (Max Stanford) This collection of RAM records reproduces the writings and statements of the Revolutionary Action Movement (RAM) and its leaders. It also covers organizations that evolved from or were influenced by RAM and persons that had close ties to RAM. The most prominent organization that evolved from RAM was the African People’s Party. Organizations influenced by RAM include the Black Panther Party, League of Revolutionary Black Workers, Youth Organization for Black Unity, African Liberation Support Committee, and the Republic of New Africa. Individuals associated with RAM and documented in this collection include Robert F. Williams, Malcolm X, Amiri Baraka, General Gordon Baker Jr., Yuri Kochiyama, Donald Freeman, James and Grace Lee Boggs, Herman Ferguson, Askia Muhammad Toure (Rolland Snellings), and Kwame Ture (Stokely Carmichael).
Date range: 1962-1999
*Printed guides to accompany microfilm are housed in Microform Services on A-floor in Firestone Library.
The Black Power Movement. Part 1. Amiri Baraka, from Black Arts to Black Radicalism
ReCap Microfilm 11800 Online guide Printed guide (FilmB) E185.615.B521 9 reels
The collection documents Amiri Baraka’s leadership role in the Black Arts Movement and activism in the Black Power Movement.
The Black Power Movement Part 2. The Papers of Robert F. Williams
ReCap Microfilm 11744 Online guide Printed guide (FilmB) E185.615.B522 26 reels
“The Robert F. Williams Papers cover Williams’s career from his leadership of the Union County, North Carolina, NAACP branch in the 1950s and early 1960s, through his life in exile in Cuba and China between 1961 and 1969, to his return to the United States in 1969, and his local activism in Baldwin, Michigan, from the mid-1970s until his death in 1996.”
The Black Power Movement Part 3. Papers of the Revolutionary Action Movement, 1962-1996
ReCap Microfilm 11801 Online guide Printed guide (FilmB) E185.615.B523 17 reels
Reproduces the writings and correspondence of Muhammad Ahmad (Max Stanford); RAM internal documents; records on allied organizations, including African Peoples Party, Black Liberation Army, Black Panther Party, Black United Front, Black Workers Congress, Institute of Black Studies, League of Revolutionary Black Workers, Republic of New Africa, and Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee; rare serial publications, including Black America, Soulbook, Unity and Struggle, Black Vanguard, Crossroads, and Jihad News; and, government documents such as the FBI file on Max Stanford, testimony about RAM’s role in the urban rebellions, and subject files covering key leaders associated with RAM including Malcolm X, Robert F. Williams, Amiri Baraka, and Assata Shakur, as well as on subjects such as the Black Power Conferences, the reparations movement, political prisoners, and more.
The Black Power Movement Part 4. The League of Revolutionary Black Workers, 1965-1976
ReCap Microfilm 11876 Online guide Printed guide (FilmB) E185.615.B524 3 reels
“This collection of records of the League of Revolutionary Black Workers (LRBW) consists of the files collected by General Gordon Baker Jr., one of the founding members of the Dodge Revolutionary Union Movement (DRUM) in 1968 and the LRBW in 1969.”
FBI file on the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC)
ReCap Microfilm 09178 Printed guide (FilmB) E185.61 .F355 2 reels
Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Papers, 1959-1972
ReCap Microfilm 04530 Printed guide (FilmB) E185.5.xS78 73 reels
Covers the activities of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) founded in 1960 at Shaw University in Raleigh, North Carolina. The organization was known for staging nonviolent protests and sit-ins.
See also Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee of California, The Movement
Microfilm S00846 Underground press collection. Listing of contents ((Film B) Z6951.U4)
FBI files on Black extremist organizations.
ReCap Microfilm 12456 Printed guide (FilmB) E185.615 .F534 2005 8 reels
Part 1 contains Cointelpro files on black hate groups and investigation of the Deacons for Defense and Justice.
Part 2 covers Huey Newton and Eldridge Cleaver of the Black Panther Party.
Oakland Museum of California. Political Posters
“The “All Of Us Or None” (AOUON) archive project was started by Free Speech Movement activist Michael Rossman in 1977 to gather and document posters of modern progressive movements in the United States. Though some early works are included, its focus is on the domestic political poster renaissance that began in 1965 and continues to this day. When Rossman died May 12, 2008 his family donated the collection to the Oakland Museum of California.”
“Popular Culture explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.”
“The Social Protest Collection held at the Bancroft Library at the University of California is a large collection, covering mainly 1960 to 1975. It was gathered by the Social Protest Project for the university’s undergraduate library between 1969 and 1982.
The collection consists of pamphlets, leaflets, flyers, posters, and other ephemera and primarily relates to the Vietnam War and Civil Rights demonstrations. There is also significant material on Black Power, the women’s movement, lesbian and gay rights, Third World issues, political documentation from the Left and Right, campus labour disputes and the movement against nuclear power and weaponry.”