Skip to main content

African American Studies: Film

Primary and selected secondary sources for research in African American Studies at Princeton University.

Film collections

 

Black Studies in Video

Brings together documentaries, interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. The collection contains over 500 hours of film covering history, politics, art and culture, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.

Filmakers Library

Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

LGBT Studies in Video

A cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This collection features documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
 

The HistoryMakers

Oral history interviews with more than 1,600 historically significant African Americans in fields such as the arts, business, education, entertainment, the law, the military, politics, religion, and science.  

A guide to the subjects addressed by the interviewees is available below.  

Articles

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus 1972+

Indexes articles and provides selective full text from over 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. Also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals (1979-1998), Treasures from the Film Archives (identifying silent film holdings in archives worldwide), the International Federation of Film Archives Affiliates' Publications, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.

Film Literature Index 1976-2001

Citations to articles about film and television in over 300 periodicals.

International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text 1864+

Comprehensive coverage of the performing arts, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, comedy, opera, and more. IIPA indexes more than 210 periodicals. Full text is available from 1998 to the present; citations to articles are indexed back to 1864.

Film Index International

Information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - indexes films from over 170 countries.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

An expanding resource offering full-text runs scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color of core U.S. and U.K. trade papers and magazines covering film, popular music, broadcasting (television and radio), and theater, together with film fan magazines and music press titles, through 2000. Key titles will include Billboard (1894-2000), Broadcasting (1931-2000), Melody Maker (1926-2000), New Musical Express (1946-2000), The Stage (1880-2000), and Variety (1905-2000), among many others. Provides a broad spectrum of valuable research material for multidisciplinary study of the film and media industries.

American Film Scripts Online

Contains the full-text of over 1,000 film scripts, and over 430 original images of previously unpublished screenplays. Search options include subjects, character name, writer, film title, actors, and directors.

American Film Institute Catalog 1893-1972.

Authoritative resource of American film information.

Selected DVDs in Firestone

African American lives: a film by Kunhardt Productions; executive producers, Henry Louis Gates, Jr., William R. Grant, Peter W. Kunhardt; written by Henry Louis Gates. Jr.; series producers, Graham Judd, Leslie D. Farrell; a production of Kunhardt Productions, Inc. and Thirteen/ WNET New York. [Alexandria, Va.]: PBS Home Video; Hollywood, Calif.: Distributed by Paramount Home Entertainment, [2006]. Firestone DVD 1942

Africans in America: America’s journey through slavery, produced for PBS by WGBH Boston; produced and directed by Orlando Bagwell, Susan Bellows; writer, Steve Fayer. Boston, MA: WGBH Educational Foundation ; [Alexandria, VA]: distributed by PBS Video, c2006. Firestone DVD 4276

Black in Latin America, a production of Inkwell Films, Wall to Wall Media LTD and Thirteen in association with WNET.org ; written by Henry Louis Gates Jr. ; series producer, Ricardo Pollack. [United States]: PBS Distribution, c2011. Firestone DVD 6280

Black Power Mixtape: 1967-1975. New York : IFC Films c2011. Firestone DVD 6629

Bleaching Black Culture, produced and directed by Cas Sigers-Beedles. [Atlanta, Georgia]: Moguldom Studios, 2014.  Firestone DVD 10032

Cabin in the Sky, a Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer picture; producer, Arthur Freed; screenplay, Joseph Shrank [sic]; director, Vincente Minnelli. Burbank, CA: Distributed by Warner Home Video, [2006] Firestone DVD 3675

Eyes on the Prize,a production of Blackside, Inc.; [creator and executive producer, Henry Hampton]. [Alexandria, Va.]: PBS Video, [2006] Firestone DVD 2937

Free Angela, and all political prisoners, Codeblack Films ; REALside Productions + De Films en Aiguille present, in coproduction with Direct Cinéma, with the participation of Direct 8, with the support of La Région Île-de-France; a film by Shola Lynch; director + writer, Shola Lynch. Santa Monica, CA : Lionsgate, [2013]. Firestone DVD 9922

Freedom Summer, American Experience Films; Firelight Films; written, produced and directed by Stanley Nelson. [Arlington, VA]: PBS, [2014] Firestone DVD 9428

Good hair" and other dubious distinctions, a film by C.S. DeBose. [Chicago : DePaul University, Dept. of Digital Cinema?, 2011 or 2012?] (Charleston, S.C.: Manufactured by CreateSpace) Firestone DVD 8003

Killer of Sheep: the Charles Burnett collection, Milestone Film and Steven Soderbergh present. [Harrington Park, N.J.]: Milestone Film & Video; [New York]: distributed by New Yorker Video, [2007] Firestone DVD 3150

Reflections Unheard: Black Women in Civil Rights, a film by Nevline Nnaji ; director, Nevlin Nnaji ; Yello Kat Productions. New York: Women Make Movies, 2013.  Firestone DVD 9536

Rosewood,  Warner Bros. presents a Peters Entertainment production in association with New Deal Productions; produced by Jon Peters; written by Gregory Poirier; directed by John Singleton.  Burbank, CA: Warner Home Video, 2007. Firestone DVD 3667

The Spike Lee Joint Collection. Universal City, CA: Universal, [2006]  Universal City, CA : Universal, [2006] Firestone DVD 3099

disc 1. Clockers / Universal Pictures ; a 40 Acres and a Mule Filmworks production ; a Spike Lee joint ; screenplay by Richard Price and Spike Lee ; produced by Martin Scorsese, Spike Lee, John Kilik ; directed by Spike Lee. Jungle fever / Universal Pictures ; a 40 Acres and a Mule Filmworks production ; a Spike Lee joint ; produced, written, and directed by Spike Lee -- disc 2. Do the right thing / Universal ; a Forty Acres and a Mule Filmworks production ; a Spike Lee joint ; produced, written, and directed by Spike Lee. Mo’ better blues / Universal pictures ; a 40 Acres and a Mule Filmworks production ; a Spike Lee joint ; produced, written, and directed by Spike Lee -- disc 3. Crooklyn / Universal Pictures ; a 40 Acres and a Mule Filmworks production in association with Child Hoods Productions ; a Spike Lee joint! ; story by Joie Susannah Lee ; screenplay by Joie Susannah Lee, Cinqué Lee, and Spike Lee ; produced and directed by Spike Lee.

Sisters of Selma: Bearing Witness for Change. A co-production of Hartfilms, Alabama Public Television, Inc., and The Independent Television Service; producer-director Jayasri Majumdar Hart; associate producer-writer William Hart; executive producer Celia Carey. Birmingham, Al: produced by Hartfilms ; [Alexandria, Va.] : Distributed by PBS Home Video, c2007. Firestone DVD 2171

Slavery by Another Name, a production of TPT National Productions in association with Two Dollars & A Dream, Inc.; produced and directed by Sam Pollard; written by Sheila Curran Bernard. [United States]: PBS Home Video, 2012. Firestone DVD 6816

Through a Lens Darkly: Black Photographers and the Emergence of a People, a film by Thomas Allen Harris. New York, NY: First Run Features, 2014. Firestone DVD 9925

Unnatural Causes: Is Inequality Making Us Sick? Produced by California Newsreel; in association with Vital Pictures ... [et al.]; presented by National Minority Consortia; series creator & executive producer, Larry Adelman. [San Francisco, Calif.]: California Newsreel, c2008. Firestone DVD 4233

Librarian for History and African American Studies