Skip to main content

African American Studies: Sociology

Primary and selected secondary sources for research in African American Studies at Princeton University.

African American Communities

African American Communities

"Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity."

Articles

Annual Review of Sociology  (1975+)

Comprehensive review of the literature in sociology. Identifies major tends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of sociology.

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Digital Dissertations)  (1861+; full text 1997+)  

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences  (1951+)

Compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

JSTOR    

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

ProQuest Research Library  (Mid 1970s+)

Abstracting, indexing, and select full text of many core scholarly journals, magazines and major newspapers for information on a broad range of subjects.

Race Relations Abstracts  (1975+)  

Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Social Issues Primary Source Collections  (19th Century+)  

Primary source documents focusing on leading social issues for the environment; gender issues and sexuality; human and civil rights; and medicine, health, and bioethics.

Social Science Citation Index  (Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), and Arts and Humanities (1975+).)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research. 

Social Sciences Full Text  

General index to the literature of the social sciences including economics, politics, law, education, labor, and sociology.

Sociological Abstracts  (1952+)

Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers 2,500 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.

Web of Science (ISI)  (Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), and Arts and Humanities (1975+).

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Useful for cited reference searches. Note: covers only a subset of the titles in Econlit.

Librarian for History and African American Studies