Skip to main content

African American Studies: Women

Primary and selected secondary sources for research in African American Studies at Princeton University.

Articles

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995    

Online collection of academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other diverse periodicals.

America: History and Life  (1954+)

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Black Studies Center    

Scholarly essays and access to articles in Black Studies journals. Combines the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), and the full-text of The Chicago Defender, an important Black newspaper, from 1935-1975.

Contemporary Women's Issues (RDS)

Articles from journals, newsletters, proceedings, pamphlets, book and media reviews and more about global women's issues, 1992+.

Gender Studies Database  (1972+)

Combines Women's Studies International, and Men's Studies databases with coverage of sexual diversity issues. Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. An added feature is the Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption database, with citations and abstracts to books, journal articles final reports from federally-funded grant, conference papers, unpublished papers, reports on completed or continuing research, as well as descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies. Materials cited are primarily in English-language, originating from U.S. research and service programs.

GenderWatch  (1970+)

Wide range of sources including both scholarly and popular articles about women, gender issues, and GLBT.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences  (1951+)

Compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. Provides bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology.

International Index to Black Periodicals  (1900+)

Current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts for over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers, and newsletters from the United States, Africa, and the Caribbean.

JSTOR  

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR.

Literature Resource Center  

Provides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.

MLA International Bibliography  (1926+)

Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.

Oxford African American Studies Center

Access to the finest reference resources in African American studies. At its core, AASC includes the new Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895; the forthcoming companion set, the Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; the second edition of Black Women in America; and the much-anticipated African American National Biography. Also includes the highly acclaimed Africana, a 5 volume history of the African and African American experience. In addition to these major reference works, AASC offers other key resources from Oxford's reference series, including the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature.

ProQuest Research Library  (Mid 1970s+. (Highly selective earlier coverage))

Abstracting, indexing, and select full text of many core scholarly journals, magazines and major newspapers for information on a broad range of subjects.

PsycINFO  (1800's+)

Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.

Race Relations Abstracts  (1975+)  

Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Social Science Citation Index  (Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), and Arts and Humanities (1975+).)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.

Social Sciences Full Text  

General index to the literature of the social sciences including economics, politics, law, education, labor, and sociology. 

Sociological Abstracts  (1952+)

Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers 2,500 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts Online  (1995+)

International abstracting service on women's studies. The major focus is on education, employment, women in the family, medicine and health, gender roles, social policy, biography,literary criticism and historical studies.

Web of Science (ISI)  (Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), and Arts and Humanities (1975+).)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.

Women's Studies International

Selected digital resources

African American Experience

Full-text digital resource exploring African American life and culture. Targeted and thematic search options are featured to find articles, documents, images, and more.

Black Drama   (1850+)  

Full text of plays written by dramatists from Africa, the Caribbean, and North America, and detailed information about productions, theaters, production companies, and other ephemera related to the plays.

Black Thought and Culture     

Full-text collection of published non-fiction works is included, as well as interviews, journal articles, letters, and other materials of leading African-Americans. Biographical essays by leading scholars and an annotated bibliography of the sources in the database are also featured.

Black Women Writers

Works of fiction, nonfiction and poetry by women from North America, Africa and the Caribbean.

Citizen's Advisory Council on the Status of Women, 1963-1977 History Vault

Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Digital Dissertations)  (1861+; full text 1997+)  

Access to citations and abstracts for every title in the Dissertation Abstracts database. Dissertations written from 1997 forward are available full text. The database includes citations to dissertations from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Citations for dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward have abstracts.

Everyday Life & Women in America, c1800-1920

Comprises rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, tracts, and broadsides concerning such areas as American home life, 1800-1920, the history of women, and the history of childhood.

History Vault: Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights 
Contains several separate collections including papers of women leaders of the suffrage movement from several regions of the U.S., papers of women politicians of the 20th century, material on family planning, and the Records of the Bureau of Vocational Information, 1908-1932.

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries

Collection of previously unpublished letters and diaries by women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries documenting the details of their lives and illuminating the roles women played within their families, their communities, and the social and political movements of their times. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.

North American Women's Drama

Full text database of over 1000 plays from the 19th and 20th centuries to the present.

President's Commisson on Status of Women History Vault

Social Issues Primary Source Collections  (19th Century+)  

Primary source documents focusing on leading social issues for the environment; gender issues and sexuality; human and civil rights; and medicine, health, and bioethics.

Women and Social Movements in the United States

Collection of full-text primary and secondary sources.

Women and Social Movements International

Women Working, 1800-1930: Women's Bureau Bulletins

Explores women's roles in the United States economy between 1800 and the Great Depression.

Women's Issues and Their Advocacy within the White House, 1974-1977 Archives Unbound
"This collection documents Patricia Lindh’s and Jeanne Holm’s liaison with women’s groups and their advocacy within the White House on issues of special interest to women. Includes material accumulated by presidential Counselor Anne Armstrong and Office of Women’s Programs Director Karen Keesling. Topics include liaison activities with over 300 women’s organizations, agency women’s groups and program units, advisory committees on women and women appointees; public policy; and legislation and regulation of women’s civil rights in the government and the economy."

Microfilm

*Printed guides to accompany microfilm are housed in Microform Services on A-floor in Firestone Library.


Twentieth century trade union woman [microform] Microfiche 665    41 fiche   Printed guide: none
Consists of oral history interviews with women active in trade unions in the U.S.

Women and law [microform] RECAP Microfilm 05626   40 reels   Printed guide: Firestone Microforms KF478.A5 B37
Consists of newspaper and magazine clippings, research papers, and ephemera documenting the women's rights movement, primarily in the U.S. but also worldwide, in the 1970's. Compiled at the Women’s Law Library of the Women’s History Research Center. Organized by topic, e.g. law, politics, employment, education, rape/prison/prostitution, and Black/Third World.

Personal papers

*Printed guides to accompany microfilm are housed in Microform Services on A-floor in Firestone Library.


Mary McLeod Bethune Papers: The Bethune-Cookman College Collection, 1922-1955

ReCap Microfilm 10234                       Printed guide (FilmB) E185.97.B34 A3

Charlotte Eugenia Hawkins Brown Papers (1883-1961)

ReCap Microfilm11986                        Printed guide (FilmB) LA2317.B598 A3 1999

Fannie Lou Hamer Papers, 1966-1978

ReCap Microfilm 11839                       Printed guide: none

Papers of John and Lugenia Burns Hope

ReCap Microfilm 05653                       Printed guide (FilmB) Z6616.H67H67

Papers of Mary Church Terrell

ReCap Microfilm 11885           Printed guide: none

Papers of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People

ReCap Microfilm 05354                         Printed guide (FilmB) Z1361.N39 G84

Records of the National Association of Colored Women’s Clubs, 1895-1992

ReCap Microfilm 09022                         Printed guide (FilmB) E185.86.R426

Women, gender & sexuality

Librarian for History and African American Studies