History of women, gender & sexuality

History of women [microform]: from the Sophia Smith Collection at Smith College, the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College
RECAP Microfilm 12129
1248 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Z7965 .H57 1983
Massive compilation of several important collections of materials on the history of women to 1920. Arranged chronologically and by format (monographs, pamphlets, periodicals, manuscripts, photographs.) The printed guide has useful indexes by subjects and names, and a list of periodical titles. A link to the guide can also be found at http://microformguides.gale.com/SubjectLst.html

Gerritsen Collection - Women's History Online (1543-1945)
Major source for the study of women's history worldwide, especially feminism and the movement for women's rights. The collection includes the full text of books, pamphlets and periodicals spanning four centuries and 15 languages.

Everyday Life & Women in America, c1800-1920
Comprises rare books, periodicals, pamphlets, tracts, and broadsides concerning such areas as American home life, 1800-1920, the history of women, and the history of childhood.

Defining Gender, 1450-1910
Wide range of original sources including ephemera, pamphlets, commonplace books, diaries, periodicals, letters, ledgers, manuscript journals, poetry, receipt books and conduct and advice literature

Women and Social Movements International
Digital collection of material on women's international activism. Includes "conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century."

Women and Social Movements in the United States

Digital collection of material on women's activism in the United States.

Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820

Digital collection of material on women's activism in response to imperialism and colonialism, including Native American affairs

Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Women: transnational networks
"Issues of gender and class ignited nineteenth-century debate in the context of suffrage movements, culture, immigration, health and many other concerns. Using a wide array of primary source documents—serials, books, manuscripts, diaries, reports, and visuals ... focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century, all through a transnational perspective."

Miriam Y. Holden Collection
Miriam Holden, wife of Arthur Holden '12, assembled a significant collection of books on the history and achievements of women, which was donated to Princeton University around 1980. Part of the collection is housed in the Holden room on B floor; other parts are in Rare Books and Special Collection. See http://libweb5.princeton.edu/visual_materials/pulc/pulc_v_41_n_2.pdf for a description of the collection at that time, and also the finding aid to Holden's personal papers at http://arks.princeton.edu/ark:/88435/d504rk359