The National Negro Business League was a business organization founded in Boston, Massachusetts in 1900 by Booker T. Washington, with the support of Andrew Carnegie. The mission and main goal of the National Negro Business League was "to promote the commercial and financial development of the Negro." The organization was formally incorporated in 1901 in New York, and established 320 chapters across the United States. Date range: 1901-1928
(BLA) was an underground, black nationalist-Marxist militant organization that operated from 1970 to 1981. Composed largely of former Black Panthers (BPP), the organization’s program was one of "armed struggle" and its stated goal was to "take up arms for the liberation and self-determination of black people in the United States." The BLA carried out a series of bombings, robberies (what participants termed "expropriations"), and prison breaks.Date range: 1970-1983
This collection of RAM records reproduces the writings and statements of the Revolutionary Action Movement (RAM) and its leaders. It also covers organizations that evolved from or were influenced by RAM and persons that had close ties to RAM. The most prominent organization that evolved from RAM was the African People’s Party. Organizations influenced by RAM include the Black Panther Party, League of Revolutionary Black Workers, Youth Organization for Black Unity, African Liberation Support Committee, and the Republic of New Africa. Individuals associated with RAM and documented in this collection include Robert F. Williams, Malcolm X, Amiri Baraka, General Gordon Baker Jr., Yuri Kochiyama, Donald Freeman, James and Grace Lee Boggs, Herman Ferguson, Askia Muhammad Toure (Rolland Snellings), and Kwame Ture (Stokely Carmichael). Date range: 1962-1999
*Printed guides to accompany microfilm are housed in Microform Services on A-floor in Firestone Library.
American Civil Liberties Union Archives, 1917-1950
MC001 Seeley G. Mudd Library ACLU Finding aid
315 linear ft. (1886 bound volumes, 12 archival boxes on 288 reels of microfilm). Bound scrapbook volumes for the years 1912, 1917-1946, with an extensive subject card file index. Consists of the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), documenting its activities in protecting individual rights under the leadership of Roger Baldwin.
American Missionary Association Archives, Microfilm edition from the Amistad Research Center
ReCap Microfilm 05360 Printed guide (FilmB) Z7817.A45 261 reels
Microfilm of collection of manuscripts deposited in the Amistad Research Center, Fisk University, Nashville.
American Negro Historical Society Collection, 1790-1905
ReCap Microfilm 11981 (FilmB) E185.93.P41 A5 1998 12 reels
Reproduces a variety of materials that illustrate the black experience in the 19th and 20th centuries, chiefly in Philadelphia.
Archives of the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries, 1942-1976
ReCap Microfilm 12000 Printed guide: none 58 reels
The collection is the complete records of the Race Relations Department, comprised of correspondence, research data, records of the self-surveys, news releases and newspaper clippings, photographs, and the records of the Institutes, which contain registers of participants, manuscript copies of lectures, reports of workshops and other records.
Black Academy of Arts and Letters Records, 1968-1980
ReCap Microfilm 11829 Printed guide: none 10 reels
Cultural organization founded in 1969 to recognize outstanding Blacks in the fields of arts and letters. Files of the Board of Directors containing correspondence, agendas, minutes, and records of three board committees. Administrative records including material on the founding of the Academy, nominations for awards, and records relating to daily operations, including correspondence, memoranda, financial papers, and mailing list. Annual meeting files which encompass planning and programming for annual meetings, 1970-1972, and related correspondence, programs, transcripts of meetings, and financial records.
Series I: Board of Directors files, 1969-1973
Series II: Administrative records, 1968-1980
Series III: Annual meetings, 1970-1972
COINTELPRO: the Counterintelligence Program of the FBI
ReCap Microfilm 05649 Printed guide: none 30 reels
Communist Party of the USA--Hoodwink (reels 1-17)--New left, Socialists Workers Party (reels 18-21)--Black nationalist hate groups(reels 22-25)--Special operations file, Espionage file (reel 26)--Nationalist groups (reel 27)--White hate groups (reels 28-30). “FBI files on various groups such as: Communist Party, White hate groups, African American nationalist hate groups, nationalist groups and other organizations.”
Commission on Interracial Cooperation Papers, 1914-1944
ReCap Microfilm 05550 Printed guide (FilmB) E185.61.C655 55 reels
“The Commission on Interracial Cooperation (CIC) was formed in 1919 in response to these civil disturbances. The CIC was a moderate coalition of whites and blacks, who recognized that promoting nonviolent change within the archaic Southern societal structure would in the long run better serve the cause of racial harmony. Included in the collection is correspondence, minutes of CIC meetings, pamphlets and reports, and CIC educational material.” The CIC was to become the Southern Regional Council in 1944.
Communist infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference and J. Edgar Hoover’s Official Confidential File on Martin Luther King, Jr.
ReCap Microfilm 05440 Printed guide: none 9 reels
Congress of Racial Equality, Papers, 1941-1967
ReCap Microfilm 04276 Printed guide: (FilmB) Z1361.N39M46 1980 49 reels
“Strategies, tactics and ideologies of CORE are documented in these papers. Internal records, reports, project files, correspondence, convention notes, newsletters and other information related to civil rights organizations are included.”
Congress of Racial Equality Papers: Addendum, 1944-1968.
ReCap Microfilm 04562 Printed guide; none 25 reels
“This collection offers materials recently released for micro-publication which were unavailable at the time of the 1980 program entitled The Papers of the Congress of Racial Equality, 1959-1976. The Addendum spans the years 1944-1968, with the largest portion of materials dealing with the 1961 to 1968 period when CORE adopted a more militant strategy in response to the Black Power movement. The collection was filmed from the holdings of the Library and Archives of The Martin Luther King, Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change, Inc. of Atlanta, Georgia.”
Microfilm edition of the Detroit Urban League Papers, 1916-1950, at the University of Michigan
ReCap Microfilm 09607 Printed guide (FilmB) F574.D49 N454 35 reels
Freedmen’s Aid Society Records, 1866-1932
ReCap Microfilm 11661 Printed guide (FilmB) LC2703.F743 120 reels
Consists of the records of the Freedmen's Aid Society, which was established by the Methodist Episcopal Church in 1866 to set up schools for African Americans in the South.
Series 1. Letterpress correspondence
Series 2. Receipt books
Series 3. Steward missionary foundation
Series 4. Educational institutions
Series 5. General correspondence
Series 6. Correspondence between staff members
Series 7. Correspondence of a personal nature
Series 8. Remaining documents
Series 9. Annual reports, 1866-1924
Series 10. Reports of board and committee meetings, 1866-1924.
Negro Labor Committee Record Group, 1925-1969
ReCap Microfilm 11589 Online guide Printed guide (FilmB) E184.6.G853 17 reels
Included in the manuscript collection are the personal files of Frank R. Crosswaith, founder and longtime chairman of the Negro Labor Committee.
New Deal Agencies and Black America in the 1930’s
ReCap Microfilm 05473 Printed guide (FilmB) E185.61.L47 25 reels
Materials found in this collection pertain primarily to the New Deal-black experience for the years between 1933 and 1940. Materials were drawn from the following agencies, Office of Education, National Youth Administration, Department of Interior, Civilian Conservation Corps, Department of Labor U.S. Employment Service, National Recovery Administration, Department of Commerce, and Works Progress Administration.
Papers of the Civil Rights Congress. Parts 1-5
ReCap Microfilm 11925 Printed guide (FilmB) E185.61.C59 1988 125 reels
Part I: Case files (40 microfilm reels)
Part II: Files of William L. Patterson and the National Office (42 microfilm reels)
Part III: Publications (19 microfilm reels)
Part IV: Communist Party USA files (16 microfilm reels)
Part V: Citizens Emergency Defense Conference files (8 microfilm reels).
Papers of the Congress of Racial Equality, 1941-1967
ReCap Microfilm 04276 Printed guide (FilmB) Z1361.N39 M46 1980 49 reels
Papers of the Congress of Racial Equality: Addendum, 1944-1968
ReCap Microfilm 04562 Printed Guide (FilmB) E185.61.P36 25 reels
Papers of the NAACP
ReCap Microfilm 05354 Online guides Printed guide (FilmB) Z1361.N39 G84 500+ reels
Papers of the National Negro Congress, 1933-1947
ReCap Microfilm 11689 Printed guide (FilmB) E185.61.N374 94 reels
Part I: Records and correspondence, 1933-1942
Part II: Records and correspondence, 1943-1947
Part III: Financial records, 1940-1947, and publications
Part IV: Negro Labor Victory Committee, 1942-1945
Records of the National Association of Colored Women’s Clubs, 1895-1992
ReCap Microfilm 09022 Printed guide (FilmB) E185.86.R426 41 reels
Records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters
ReCap Microfilm 11720 Printed guide (FilmB) HD6515.R362 B76 50 reels
Part I: Records of the BSCP, 1925-1969
Part II: Records of the Ladies Auxiliary of the BSCP, 1931-1968
Part III: Records of the BSCP relations with the Pullman Company, 1925-1968
Records of the National Negro Business League
ReCap Microfilm 10600 Printed guide (FilmB) HD2425.R426 14 reels
Part I: Annual conference proceedings and organizational records, 1900-1919
Part II: Correspondence and business records, 1900-1923
Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, 1954-1970
ReCap Microfilm 10096 Printed guide (FilmB) E185.61.S687 82 reels
Part I: Records of the President’s office (21 reels)
Part II: Records of the Executive Director and Treasurer (22 reels)
Part III: Records of the Public Relations Dept. (10 reels)
Part IV: Records of the Program Dept. (29 reels).
Southern Tenant Farmers’ Union Papers, 1934-1970
ReCap Microfilm 06126 Printed guide (FilmB) Z7164.T7 S56 60 reels
“A collection consisting of correspondence, reports, press releases, legal documents, pamphlets, and other materials. It documents the formation of the union and its activities to improve the lot of sharecroppers, tenant farmers, small landowners and migratory farm workers; its relations with government agencies, and other unions/organizations.”
Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Papers, 1959-1972
ReCap Microfilm 04530 Printed guide (FilmB) E185.5.xS78 73 reels
“One of the most important civil rights groups in the late '50s and early '60s, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) was also to become one of the most controversial in its later years. Formed by student activists nationwide in response to the burgeoning student sit-in movement in 1960, the SNCC adopted the Gandhian theories of nonviolent direct action, which had been formulated by CORE in the 1940s. The collection includes correspondence, project files, internal reports, and printed materials generated by the SNCC organization as it challenged racial barriers, faced internal crises, and sought a leadership role in the fight for desegregation, voter's rights, and black power.”
Universal Negro Improvement Association, Records of the Central Division, New York, 1918-1959
ReCap Microfilm 11989 Printed guide (FilmB) E185.86.U55 1988 6 reels
Collection also contains records related to organizations affiliated with the Universal Negro Improvement Association (UNIA) including Garvey Clubs, and the Pan-African Community League, among others.
Universal Negro Improvement Association Records, 1921-1986
ReCap Microfilm 11994 Printed guide (FilmB) E185.86.U48 A12 1994 16 reels
Correspondence, reports, conference proceedings, speeches, minute and ledger books, membership certificates, and much more relating to the Universal Negro Improvement Association. Founded by Marcus Garvey in 1914 as a philanthropic and fraternal ogranization to promote pan-Africanism, the UNIA developed into a radical political group that advocated repatriation to Africa, among other things. The major portion of this collection dates from the period 1940-1950.