Skip to main content

African American Studies: Journals

Primary and selected secondary sources for research in African American Studies at Princeton University.

Access to journals

The Library provides access to thousands of scholarly and popular journals. Many are physically located within Firestone Library and off-site in ReCap, but even more are available electronically. All journal titles and holdings information can be found in the Library's online catalog. In addition, if you want a complete list of available, full-text e-journals, click here

African American Historical Serials

"The African American Historical Serials Collection is a complete, centralized and accessible resource of formerly fragmentary, widely dispersed and endangered materials that document the history of African American life and religious organizations from primary source materials published between 1829 and 1922."

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995    

Online collection of academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other diverse periodicals.

 

Black Studies Center

Black Studies Center

Scholarly essays and access to articles in Black Studies journals. Combines the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), and the full-text of The Chicago Defender, an important Black newspaper, from 1935-1975.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

JSTOR: African American Studies

Open access journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.

 

The following journals are freely available on the Internet:

 

 

 

Project MUSE

Project MUSE provides full text, subscription access to current content from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. 

Project MUSE: African American and African Diasporia Journals.

 

Search Articles+ (peer-reviewed)

Search Articles+ for peer-reviewed articles

Selected periodicals on microfilm

Black and Third World Periodicals. (ReCAP) Microfilm 11984.  The guide to microfilm is located in Microform Services in Firestone: (FilmB) E185.5 .S35 1995  

Black Stars. Location has: reel 1-10; vol.1, no. 1 (Nov. 1971)-v.7, no. 12 (Oct. 1978); v.28, no. 1 (Nov. 1978)-v.30, no.9 (July 1981) (ReCAP) Microfilm 12435

Freedomways. Location hasVol. 1, no. 1 (spring 1961)-v. 25, no. 3 (fall 1985). (F) HT1581.A2 F744

La Journée planétaire. Supplément bi-mensuel consacré aÌ€ la presse de la race noire, Location has: 1re année, bulletin no 1 (24 nov. 1929)-1re année, bulletin no 18 (20 juillet 1930) (ReCAP) Microfilm S01033

The Horizon. Location has: Vol. 1, no. 1 (Jan. 1907)-v. 6, no. 2 (July 1910). (ReCAP) Microfilm S00348

Negro heritage. Location has: Vol. 1-v. 16 (1961-Aug. 1977) (ReCAP) Microfilm S00845

Tan. Vol. 2, no. 11 (Sept. 1952)-v. 22, no. 12 (Oct. 1971). Location has: reel 1-9 (ReCAP) Microfilm 12436

Voice of the Negro. (1904-1906) filmed on reel with The Voice (1906-1907). Location has: Vol. 1, no. 1 (Jan. 1904)-v. 4, no. 2 (Mar. 1907) (ReCAP) Microfilm S01380

Africa Knowledge Project

Librarian for History and African American Studies