Research Guides: Classical Historiography for Chinese History: Archives

American declassified papers

Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Princeton Library has access to some files of declassified material on China (and some Japan) on national security, namely on the Chinese Civil War and the Tiananmen Square incident. These collections have now moved into the Archives Unbound database, also known as the Declassified Documents Reference Service, and newly include also Records of the U.S. Information Service in China: Chinese Press Reviews and Summaries, 1944-1950; 19th Century English-Language Journals from the Far East; General George C. Marshall's Mission to China, 1945-1947; Political, Economic, and Military Conditions in China: Reports and Correspondence of the U.S. Military Intelligence Division, 1918-1941; and Political Relations and Conflict between Republican China and Imperial Japan, 1930-1939: Records of the U.S. State Department.

Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980 This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan. Now covers 1919-1929, 1949-1980. Missing years are slowly being filled in.

The Roman Archives of the Society of Jesus (ARSI)
Digitized one of the most important reference works for factual data on the Jesuits who went to China in the sixteenth to eighteenth centuries, Joseph Dehergne, Repertoire des Jesuites de Chine (Rome, 1973).
The Chinese Christian Texts (CCT-Database)
A research database of primary and secondary sources concerning the cultural contacts between China and Europe in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries (from 1582 to ca. 1840).

Grand Secretariat Archives (Neige daku) This link opens in a new window
Full text images of hundreds of thousands of government documents from the Ming and Qing dynasties held at the Academia Sinica, searchable by official, title, matter and document number.