Research Guides: Classical Historiography for Chinese History: 5. Book Titles

Bibliographies for traditional Chinese science & medical texts

Mention should be made of the series of volumes in the 歷代中醫名著文庫, published by 華夏出版社 in Beijing, which began publishing circa 1995. This project, organized by Ren Yingqiu, Ma Jixingg, and others, provides first-rate critical eds. of ancient texts (unfortunately in simplified chars.), with detailed critical notes and substantial, usually innovative, scholarly essays on the text. Some are detailed volume-length treatments of individual texts; so far there is the 醫心方 and 證類本草. Other volumes are collections of texts of a given type. The one on acupuncture, entitled 針灸名著集成, contains about a dozen important works, some extremely rare, and all in superior critical editions. For instance, the illustrations in two well-known works, 銅人俞穴針灸圖經 (1026) and 針灸大成 (1601) are far superior to those previously published; both, for instance, show skeletons as part of acupuncture figures.

Collections of Confucian classical learning and bibliographies

Huang Qing jing jie 皇清經解 (Qing Dynasty Exegesis of the Classics). Canton: Xue hai tang 學海堂 , 1829, 1860. Index: 皇清經解提要.
Huang Qing jing jie xu bian 皇清經解續編 (Qing Dynasty Exegesis of the Classics, Supplement). Jiangyin: Nan jing shu yuan, 1886-88.
Qing dai wen ji bian mu fen lei suo yin 清代文集篇目分類索引 (Classified index to collected essays from the Qing dynasty). Taibei: Tai lian guo feng chu ban she, 1979. An excellent index to essays on the classics, histories, and many other topics in the literary collections of Qing scholars.
Qing ren bie ji zong mu清人別集總目(General catalog of literary collections of Qing authors), eds., Li Lingnian, Yang Zhong ; authors, Wang Yuxiang et al. Edition: Di 1 ban. 第一版. Published: Hefei Shi : Anhui jiao you zhu ban she, 2000. Physical description: 3 v. (16, 127, 3012 p.) ; 27 cm.
Shi san jing zhu shu 十三經注疏 (Notes & Annotations to the 13 Classics). Canton: xue hai tang edition, 1829. Reprint Beijing: Chunghua shu ju, 1980. With 索引. (See also under Electronic Resources).
Tong zhi tang jing jie 通志堂經解. Compiled by Nalan Chengde 納蘭成德. Reprint Canton: Yue dong shu ju 粵東書局, 1873. Index: 通志堂經解目錄, comp. by Weng Fanggang 翁方綱.
Union catalog of traditional Chinese texts by the National Central Library. This database now has 441,900 entries and includes holdings of libraries in Taiwan, China, Hong Kong and the United States.
Huang Zhixin 黃智信, compiler. "Yuan dai jing xue yan jiu lun zhu mu lu (1900-1996)" 元代經學研究論著目錄 (1900-1996) (Bibliography of works on Yuan dynasty classical studies). Zhongguo wen zhe yan jiu tong xun 中國文哲研究通訊 (Academia Sinica, Taiwan) 7, 2 (June 1997): 97-143.
Jiang Rixin, ed. Qing dai jing xue guo ji yan tao hui lun wen ji 清代經學國際研討會論文集 (Collected essays from the international conference on Qing dynasty classical studies). Nangang: Institute of Chinese Literature and Philosophy, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, 1994.
Lin Qingzhang 林慶彰, general editor. Riben yan jiu jing xue lun zhu mu lu (1900-1992) 日本研究經學論著目錄 (1900-1992) (Catalog of Japanese research works on classical studies). Nangang: Institute of Chinese Literature and Philosophy, Academia Sinica, Taiwan: 1993.
---, general editor. Jing xue yan jiu lun cong 經學研究論叢 (Introductory essays on research in classical studies). 3 vols. Taibei: Sheng huan Books, 1994-95.
---, general editor. Qian Jia xue shu yan jiu lun zhu mu lu (1900-1993) 乾嘉學術研究論著目錄 (1900-1993) (Catalog of works on research in the scholarship of the Qian-Jia Period, 1736-1820). Nangang: Institute of Chinese Literature and Philosophy, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, 1995.
---, & Jiang Qiuhua 蔣秋華, ed. Ming dai jing xue guo ji yan tao hui lun wen ji 明代經學國際研討會論文集 (Collected essays from the international conference on Ming dynasty classical studies). Nangang: Institute of Chinese Literature and Philosophy, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, 1996.
Yang Jinlong, & Chen Shuyi, ed. Yuan dai jing xue guo ji yan tao hui lun wen ji 元代經學國際研討會論文集 (Collected essays from the international conference on Yuan dynasty classical studies). Nangang: Institute of Chinese Literature and Philosophy, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, 1998.

For bibliographies and recent collections of essays and poetry by women, see:

Hu Wenkai 胡文楷 , compiler. Li dai fu nu zhu zuo kao 歷代婦女著作考 (Study of works written by women over the various dynasties). Revised edition. Shanghai: Gu ji chu ban she, 1985.
Chang, Kang-i Sun. "A Guide to Ming Ch'ing Anthologies of Women's Poetry and Their Selection Strategies." Gest Library Journal 5, 2 (1992): 119-60.

Cong shu (Collectanea) 叢書 titles

Beijing tu shu guan cang Zhongguo li dai shi ke ta ben hui bian 北京圖書館藏中國歷代石刻拓本匯編 . Zhengzhou, Henan: Zhongzhou gu ji chu ban she, 1989- . Collection of rubbings from ancient times to the 20th century in the Beijing Library. The Ming and Qing volumes (over 40 volumes alone) include civil examination materials from the provincial and metropolitan examinations.
Beijing tu shu guan gu ji zhen ben cong kan 北京圖書館古籍珍本叢刊. Collection of rare editions, especially Ming editions in the Beijing Library.
Cong shu ji cheng 叢書集成 . Compiled 1935-36. See Wilkinson, Endymion. The History of Imperial China: A Research Guide. Cambridge: East Asia Research Center, Harvard University, 1973, p. 24. Selections from previous cong shu here reset and printed in a uniform edition.
Hervouet, Yves, ed. A Sung Bibliography. Hong Kong: Chinese University Press, 1978.
Kanseki sosho jozai mokuroku 漢藉叢書所在目錄 (Catalog of Chinese colletanea [in Japanese libraries]. Toyogaku bunken senta, 1965. Refers to Chinese collections in the Toyo bunko, Tokyo University Oriental Library, Kyoto University Institute for Humanistic Studies, National Diet Library, Naikaku bunko, Seikado, and the Tenri Library.
Lo, Karl. A Guide to the Ssu Pu Tsung K'an: being an index to authors, titles, and subjects. Lawrence: University of Kansas Libraries, 1965.
Ming dai zhuan ji cong kan 明代傳記叢刊 . Taibei: Ming wen shu ju, 1991. Collectanea of important Ming materials.
Si ku quan shu 四庫全書 Compiled 1773-82. Books recopied into a uniform edition. See Hummel, Arthur, ed. Eminent Chinese of the Ch'ing Period. Washington, Government Printing Office, 1943-44, pp. 121-22; Teng, Ssu-yu, & Knight Biggerstaff. An Annotated Bibliography of Selected Chinese Reference Works. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1971, pp. 18-20; Wilkinson, Endymion. The History of Imperial China: A Research Guide. Cambridge: East Asia Research Center, Harvard University, 1973, pp. 14-15.
Si ku quan shu cun mu cong shu 四庫全書存目叢書 (Collectanea of all works in the annotated bibliography but not included in the Si ku quan shu). Ji Xianlin 季羨林 et al. 1200 vols. Beijing: Beijing University Press, 1994-1997.
Si ku quan shu zong mu 四庫全書總目. Shanghai, 1930 edition is best. See Teng, Ssu-yu, & Knight Biggerstaff. An Annotated Bibliography of Selected Chinese Reference Works. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1971, p. 18. Annotated bibliography of the contents of the Si ku quan shu and of those works considered but not included.
Si ku quan shu zong mu ji wei shou shu mu yin de 四庫全書總目及未收書目引得 . Beijing: Yanjing da xue tu shu guan yin de bian zuan chu, 1932. Reprint Taibei: Chinese Materials and Research Aids Service Center, 1966. Index to titles and authors in the above.
Wang Yunwu. Cong shu ji cheng chu bian mu lu 叢書集成初編目錄. Shanghai, 1935. Catalog of Cong shu ji cheng. The various cong shu on which this collection draws are here annotated as to contents. The catalog lists the title contents according to modern categories and is thus a help in discovering new material.
Zhang Shunhui 張舜徵. Qing ren wen ji bie lu 清人文集別錄. Taibei: Ming wen chu ban she, 1982.
Zhongguo cong shu zong lu 中國叢書綜錄 . 3 vols. Shanghai, 1959-62. A comprehensive index to congshu. See Wilkinson, Endymion. The History of Imperial China: A Research Guide. Cambridge: East Asia Research Center, Harvard University, 1973, p. 24; Teng, Ssu-yu, & Knight Biggerstaff. An Annotated Bibliography of Selected Chinese Reference Works. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1971, p. 67. Vol. 1 lists the nearly 3000 cong shu here indexed with information on editions and locations (in China). Vol. 2 lists the 70,000 titles included in the cong shu. Vol. 3 indexes Vol. 2 by title and author (4 corner).
Si bu cong kan 四部叢刊. Compiled in three series, 1919-37. See Wilkinson, Endymion. The History of Imperial China: A Research Guide. Cambridge: East Asia Research Center, Harvard University, 1973, p. 24.. Reproduction of the best original editions. Includes the po na pen editions of the standard histories for the best old version of a text.

Electronic resources for Chinese works

Analects: Lun yu 論語, compiled by Steve Angle
Buddhist canon, selections: Fo jing san lun 佛經三論 (Three Treatises of Buddhist Canon)
Chinese Medical Classics 中國醫學古典 Text Series: Nihon Naikyo Igakkai.
Prof. Kobayashi Kenji is the supervising editor of the series, which is maintained by Mugitani Kunio, at the Institute for Humanistic Studies, Kyoto University. After downloading a file, a utility program that decompresses the LHZ format is required. Includes the: 1. Su wen 素問 (209Kb); 2. Ling shu 靈樞 (168 Kb); 3. Nan jing 難經 (31 Kb); 4. Shang han lun 傷寒論 (180 Kb), 5. Jin gui yao lue 金匱要略 (81 Kb); 6. Shennong ben cao jing 神農本草經 (36 Kb); 7. Bian Que - Cang gong lie zhuan 扁鵲倉公列伝 (from the Shi ji) (20 Kb). All texts are encoded in Japanese. The required fonts can be found at a separate website address. With consent of its editor, the whole series is also available at the link below, converted into Chinese traditional characters (Big5) by Fabrizio Pregadio, University of Venice.
Chuan xi lu 傳習錄: Wang Yangming, Part 1 王陽明 , compiled by Steve Angle (Big 5)
Doctrine of the Mean: Zhong yong 中庸, compiled by Steve Angle.
Great Learning: Da xue 大學, compiled by Steve Angle.
Guanzi Nei ye 管子 (內業), compiled by Steve Angle.
Mencius: Mengzi 孟子, compiled by Steve Angle.
Mengzi zi yi shu cheng 孟子字義疏證: Dai Zhen 戴震, compiled by Steve Angle
Page references are to Volume 6 of 張岱年, ed., 《戴震全書》 Anhui, 1995 , and to John Ewell, trans., Re-Inventing the Way: Dai Zhen's "Evidential Commentary on the Meanings of Terms in Mencius" Ann Arbor: 1990.
Mohist Canons as reconstructed by A.C. Graham: Later Mohist Texts 墨子, compiled by Steve Angle
Mohist Doctrine, Selected Chapters: Mozi 墨子, listed on Steve Angle's website.
Ren xue 仁學 : Tan Sitong 譚嗣同 , compiled by Steve Angle.
Sunzi bing fa 孫子兵法 : Sunzi
300 Tang Poems 唐詩三百首
Chinese text and English translations for the 310 poems in the original collection of 300 Tang Poems 唐詩三百首 with additional poems that were added later on. This version contains 320 poems and is based on the Chinese electronic version created by Mr. Weichang Chan from the National Central University in Taiwan. The English translations are taken primarily from those in Witter Bynner's The Jade Mountain. Since there are only 310 poems in Bynner's collection, to complete this expanded collection of 320 poems the compilers added three translations from Perspectives on the Tang, Yale University Press (nos. 190,191,193) ; and seven from 300 Tang Poems, the Commercial Press, HK (nos. 001, 003, 039, 040, 042, 083, 084). Some seventy-seven poets are represented here, as are seven forms of Tang poetry. This is also part of the Chinese Text Initiative at the University of Virginia.
Wen xin diao long 文心雕龍: The Literary Mind and the Carving of Dragons
In 漢籍電子文獻資料庫
Xiao jing 孝經: Click Classic of Filial Piety
Xin min shuo 新民說 : Click Liang Qichao 梁啟超, compiled by Steve Angle
Xunzi 荀子, compiled by Steve Angle
Zhang Zai ji 張載集 , compiled by Steve Angle
Zhou Dunyi ji 周敦頤集 , compiled by Steve Angle
Zhuangzi 莊子
Zhuzi yu lei 朱子語類 on the Great Learning 大學: Zhu Xi, Parts 14-18 朱熹, compiled by Steve Angle
Zhuzi yu lei 朱子語類 on Learning 學 : Zhu Xi, Parts 7-13 朱熹, compiled by Steve Angle.
Zhuzi yu lei 朱子語類 on Metaphysics 理氣 : Zhu Xi, Parts 1-6 朱熹 , compiled by Steve Angle

For electronic classical texts, poetry, & novels in GB Code see:

Japanese indices of Chinese works

Chugoku shosetsu gikyoku shii kenkyu jiten sogo sakuinhen (hikkaku sakuin) 中國小說戲曲辭匯研究辭典 - 綜合索引篇 (筆畫索引). Yokuhama: Yokohama City University, 1956-. Part I-IV published so far since 1956. This is the index volume (index by strokes) of a dictionary for the study of the vocabulary of Chinese novels and dramas.
Chugoku zuihitsu sakuin 中國隨筆索引. Compiled by Kyoto Daigaku Toyoshi Kenkyukai 東京大學東洋史研究會 . Tokyo: Nippon Gakujutsu Shinkokai, 1954. This is an index to the headings of items in approximately 160 miscellanies ranging in time from the Tang dynasty to the end of the Qing dynasty, including such works as Yi jian zhi 夷堅志 by Hong Mai 洪邁 and Ri zhi lu 日知錄 by Gu Yanwu 顧炎武.
Fukusha seishi sakuin 復社姓氏索引 (Index of members of the Restoration Society). Compiled at Kyoto University by the Institute of Humanistic Studies, the "Late-Ming Early-Ch'ing Society and Culture Research Group," 1995.
Goto Toshimizu 後藤俊瑞 , compiler. Shushi shisho shushu sakuin 朱子四書集注索引. Hiroshima: Hiroshima University Press, 1955. An index to Zhu Xi's Si shu huo wen 四書惑問.
Hanabusa Hideki 花房英樹 , compiler. Ri Haku kashi sakuin 李白歌詩索引. No. 8 of the Tang Civilization Reference Series. Kyoto: Kyoto Daigaku Jimbungaku Kenkyujo, 1957. A concordance to the poems of Li Po, by title, character or phrase.
Hiraoka Takeo 平岡武夫 , & Ichihara Kokichi 市原亨吉 , compilers. Todai no gyosei chiri 唐代の行政地理. No. 2 of the Tang Civilization Reference Series。 Kyoto: Kyoto Daigaku Jimbungaku Kenkyujo, 1954. This work contains two primary indexes to place names (fu 府, chou 州 , jun 郡 , and xian 縣 ) of the Tang period. The first is an index to the place names appearing in pertinent sections of the following works:
- Jiu Tang shu 舊唐書 (945). juan 38-41 of 200 juan.
- Liu dian 六典 (ca. 739). juan 3, and Chen yuan shi dao lu -s 元十道錄 (ca. 802) are also covered in this index but reference is limited to whether or not the place names appear in them. The second index is to the place names in Li dai di li zhi yun bien jin shi 歷代地理志韻編今釋 (1837). Appended are an alphabetical index based on Wade-Giles romanization and an index based on total umber of strokes giving the four-corner numbers used in the main indexed.
- Tai ping huan yu ji 太平寰宇記 (ca. 980). 200 juan.
- Tang hui yao 唐會要 (961). juan 67, 68, 70, 71, 73 of 100.
- Tong dian 通典 (803). juan 卷 171-184 of 200 juan.
- Xin Tang shu 新唐書 (1060). juan 37-43 of 225 juan.
- Yuanhe jun xian zhi 元和郡縣志 (813). 34 of 40 juan.
--- , compilers. Todai no shijin 唐代の詩人. No. 4 of the Tang Civilization Reference Series. Kyoto: Kyoto Daigaku Jimbungaku Kenkyujo, 1960. An index to the following two works, giving the locations of the poems of Tang poets:
- Quan Tang shi 全唐詩 (1705). 900 juan.
- Quan Tang shi i 全唐詩逸 (1804). 3 chuan, a supplement to Quan Tang shi and recorded only in Japanese works.
- As a supplement, there is an index to biographic information on Tang poets in the following works:
  - Ho yueh ying ling ji 河岳英靈集
  - Ji xuan ji 極玄集
  - Quan Tang shi hua 全唐詩話
  - Quan Tang shi hua xu bian 全唐詩話續編
  - Tang cai zi zhuan 唐才子傳
  - Tang shi ji shi 唐詩紀事
  - Zhong xing xian qi ji 中興賢氣集
Hiraoka Takeo 平岡武夫 , & Imai Kiyoshi 今井清 , compilers. [Todai no] Choan to Rakuyo sakuin (唐代の ) 長安と洛陽索引. No. 5 of Tang Civilization Reference Series, published by the Institute of Humanistic Science, Kyoto University, 1956. 15,198 pp. This work consists of a classified list and index to names of people, buildings, temples, shrines, ponds, trees, wells, etc., appearing in the following seven works:
- Changan zhi 長安志. Compiled by Song Minqiu 宋敏求 (late-11th century). juan 6-10.
- Henan zhi 河南志. Compiled by Song Minqiu 宋敏求 (late-11th century). 4 juan.
- Liang jing xin ji 兩京新記. Compiled by Wei Shu -� -z (722). juan 3 of 5 juan. (the only extant copy is in Japan).
- Liang jing xin ji 兩京新記. Compiled by Cao Yuanzhong 曹元忠 (ca. 1895). 2 juan.
- Liang jing xin ji xu shih 兩京新記續拾. A supplement to Liang jing xin ji compiled by Hiraoka Takeo.
- Tang liang jing cheng fang kao 唐兩京城坊考 Compiled by Xu Song 徐松 (early 19th century). 1 juan.
- Tang liang jing cheng fang kao jiao bu ji 唐兩京城坊考校補記. Compiled by Cheng Hongzhao 程鴻詔 (1850). 1 juan.
--- , compilers. Todai no sambun sakka 唐代の散文作家. No. 3 of the Tang Civilization Reference Series. Kyoto: Kyoto Daigaku Jimbungaku Kenkyujo, 1954. An index to the following three works, giving the locations of biographies and works of 3,516 Tang dynasty prose writers:
- Quan Tang wen 全唐文 (1814). 1,000 juan.
- Tang wen shi yi 唐文拾遺 (ca. 1888). 72 juan.
- Tang wen xu shi 唐文續拾 (ca. 1894). 16 juan.
Iida Yoshiro 飯田吉郎 , compiler. To seisho goi sakuin 董西廂語匯索引 . Published by author, 1951. An index to the vocabulary of the Tung hsi hsiang.
Iriya Yoshitaka 入矢義高 , compiler. Tonko hembun shuko goi sakuin 敦煌變文集口語匯索引. 1961. Mimeographed. 34 pp. An index to colloquial glosses in Dunhuang pien wen ji.
Kanseki sosho shozai mokuroku 漢籍叢書所在目錄. Compiled by Toyogaku bunken senta renraku kyogikai. Tokyo: Toyo Bunko, 1965.
Ko-Min Bunkai sakuin ko 皇明文海索引稿. Compiled by Kyoto Daigaku Jimbun Kagaku Kenkyujo Rekishi Kenkyushitsu 東京大學人文科學研究所歷史研究室. Kyoto, 1961. Mimeographed, 214 pp. A draft index to Huang ming wen hai.
Mindai tokaroku sakuin ko 明登科錄索引稿, compiled at Kyoto University by the Institute of Humanistic Studies, the "Late-Ming Early-Ch'ing Society and Culture Research Group," 1995.
Nihon genzon shinjin bunshu mokuroku 日本現存清人文集目錄. Kyoto: Toyoshi kenkyukai 東洋史研究會.
Noma Fumichika, compiler. Shurai sakuin 周禮索引 (Index of the Rites of Chou). Fukuoka: Chugoku Bookstore, 1989.
O I shi sakuin 王維詩索引. Compiled by the Kyoto University Seminar on Chinese Literature and Language. Kyoto, 1952. Mimeographed. An index to the poems of Wang Wei (699-759).
Okamoto Shigeru 岡本繁. Bunshin choryu sakuin 文心雕龍. Mimeographed edition. Hiroshima University, 1950. An index to Wen xin diao long, treatise on literary criticism and theory, in 10 juan, by Liu Xie 劉勰 (6th century).
Sadao Takeji 竹治貞夫 , compiler. Chu ci suo yin 楚辭索引. Tokushima: Department of Chinese Literature, Tokushima University, 1970.
Sakai Ken'ichi 井健一 , et al., compilers. Koin sakuin 廣韻索引. Monograph No. 1 of the journal of the Chugoku Bunka Kenkyukai. Tokyo: Tokyo Kyoiku Daigaku Toyo Bungaku Kenkyushitsu , 1953.
Sesetsu shingo sakuin 世說新語索引. Compiled by Hiroshima Daigaku Chugoku Bungaku Kenkyushitsu 島大學中國文學研究室. 1959. Mimeographed. 670 pp. An index to Shi shuo xin yu by Liu Yiqing 劉義慶 (403-444). This is a more voluminous work than the Shi shuo xin yu yin depublished as No. 12 of the Harvard-Yenching Institute Sinological Index Series.
Shiba Rokuro 斯波六郎 , compiler. Monzen sakuin 文選索引. 3 vols. + supplement vol. Special Nos. 1-4 of the Tang Civilization Reference Series. Kyoto: Kyoto Daigaku Jimbungaku Kenkyujo, 1957-59. A monumental concordance to the Wen hsuan.
Yajima Genry 矢島玄亮 , compiler. Hyakushi zensho sakuin (chimei kanshoku shakumei inyo shomei) 百子全書索引 (地名，官職，引用書名). Sendai: Tohoku Daigaku Shinagaku Kenkyushitsu, 1953. Mimeographed, 137 pp. An index to place names, offices, titles and books cited in Bai zi quan shu 百子全書, a Qing dynasty cong shu covering the period from early Qin to Ming.

Sinological indices (other)

Bai hu tong yin de 白虎通引得, Harvard-Yenching Institute Sinological Index Series No. 2. Beijing: Havard-Yenching Institute, 1931. xvi, 33pp. An index to Bai hu tong yi 白虎通義, a record of discussions by Confucian scholars of Late Han, in four juan, compiled by Ban Gu 班固 (32-92 A.D.).
Cui Dongbi yi shu yin de 崔東壁遺書引得 . Harvard-Yenching Institute Sinological Index Series No. 5. Beijing: Harvard-Yenching Institute, 1937. An index to Ts'ui tung-pi yi shu, a collection of works by Cui Shu 崔述 (1740-1816).
Feng shi wen jian ji jiao zheng fu yin de 封氏聞見記校證附引得. Harvard-Yenching Institute Sinological Index Series Supplement No. 7. Beijing: Harvard-Yenching Institute, 1933. A collated text of Feng shi wen chien ji, with index. Feng shi wen jian ji is a collection of little known anecdotes on Taoism, Confucianism, and affairs of the Tang period, in 10 juan, compiled by Feng Yin 封寅 of the Tang period.
Hou Han shu ji zhu shi zong he yin de 後漢書及注釋綜合引得. Harvard-Yenching Institute Sinological Index Seies No. 41. Beijing: Harvard-Yenching Institute, 1949. Combined Indexes to Hou Han shu and the notes by Liu Zhao and Li Xian.
Johnson, Wallace, compiler. Guanzi yin de 管子引得. Taibei: Cheng wen chu ban she, 1970.
---, compiler. Pian zi lei bian yin de 駢字類編引得. Taibei: Chinese Materials and Research Aids Service Center, 1966.
---, compiler. Tang lu shu yi yin de 唐律疏義引得. Taibei: Wen hai, 1965.
Hartwell, Robert. Guide to Sources of Chinese Economic History: 618-1368. Chicago: Committee on Far Eastern Civilizations, The University of Chicago, 1964.
Kao gu zhi yi yin de 考古質疑引得. Harvard-Yenching Institute Sinological Index Series No. 3. Beijing: Harvard-Yenching Institute, 1931. An index toK'ao ku zhi i, treatises on the Classics and historical works, by Ye Daqing 葉大慶 of the Sung period.
Kanda Nobuo, et al., compilers. Ba qi tong zhi lie zhuan suo yin 八旗通志列傳索引. Tokyo: Toyo Bunko, 1965.
Lau, D.C. 劉殿爵 , & F.C. Chen 陳方正 , compilers. The ICS Ancient Chinese Text Concordance Series 先秦兩漢古籍逐字索引叢刊. 12 vols. Hong Kong: Shang wu yin shu kuan, 1992. Includes:
- A Concordance to the Da Dai Li ji 大戴禮記逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Han shi wai zhuan 韓詩外傳逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Huainanzi 淮南子逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Kongzi Jia yu 孔子家語逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Li ji 禮記逐字索引.
- A Concordance to The Militarists (Wuzi, Sima Fa, Sunzi, Weiliaozi) 吳子 ? 司馬法? 孫子 ? 尉繚子逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Shang jun shu 商君書逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Shuo yuan 說苑逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Wenzi 文子逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Xin xu 新序逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Yi zhou shu 逸周書逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Zhan guo ce 戰國策逐字索引.
Li He shi yin de 李賀詩引得. Taibei: Chinese Materials and Research Aids Service Center, 1969.
Ming dai chi zhuan shu kao fu yin de 明代敕撰書考附引得. Harvard-Yenching Institute Sinological Index Series Supplement No. 3. Beijing: Harvard-Yenching Institute, 1932. Notes on Imperial compilations during the Ming dynasty, with index.
Ming shi 明史 . Taibei: Guo fang yan jiu yuan, 1963. Part of the same series as the Qing shi above, in 6 volumes, the last of which contains an index of proper names.
Mozi yin de 墨子引得. Harvard-Yenching Sinological Index Series Supplement No. 21. Beijing, 1948. A concordance to Mozi.
Qing shi 清史. Edited by the Qing shi bian zuan wei yuan hui 清史編纂委員會 of the Guo fang yan jiu yuan 國防研究院 Taibei, 1961. This work in 8 volumes is a re-edited version of the Qing shi gao 清史稿 . Beijing: Zhunghua shu ju, 1977. The work is punctuated and the last volume contains an index of proper names.
Riben qi kan san shi ba zhong dong fang xue lun wen pian mu fu yin de 日本期刊三十八種東方學論文篇目附引得. Harvard-Yenching Institute Sinological Index Series Supplement No. 6. Beijing: Harvard-Yenching Institute, 1933. A bibliography of articles on Orientology in 38 Japanese periodicals to 1933, with index. See Yi bai qi shi wu zhong Riben qi kan zhong dong fang xue lun wen pian mu fu yin de below.
Rong zhai sui bi wu zhong zong he yin de 容齋隨筆 �- 種綜合引得. Harvard-Yenching Institute Sinological Index Series No. 13. Beijing: Harvard-Yenching Institute, 1933. Combined indices to the five collections of miscellanies of Hong Mai 洪邁 (1123-1202).
Shang Chengzuo 商承祚 , & Huang Hua 黃華, compilers. Zhongguo li dai shu hua zhuan ke jia zi hao suo yin 中國歷代書畫篆刻家字號索引. 2 vols. Beijing: Ren min mei shu chu ban she, 1960. A hao-to-real name and real name-to-hao index of calligraphers, painters, and seal engravers. Volume One gives the hao-to-real name index with skeleton information on province of origin, dynasty in which lived, specialties, and dates when available. Volme Two is the index from real name-to-hao.
Shuo yuan yin de 說苑引得. Harvard-Yenching Institute Sinological Index Series No. 1. Beijing: Harvard-Yenching Institute, 1931. An index to the Shuo yuan, a collection of Confucian moralistic anecdotes compiled by Liu Xiang 劉向 (79-8 B.C.)
Song ren zhuan ji suo yin 宋人傳記索引. Compiled by the Japan Committee for the Song Project of the Tokyo Bunko. Tokyo, 1968.
Su shi yan yi yin de 蘇氏演義引得. Harvard-Yenching Institute Sinological Index Series No. 14. Beijing: Harvard-Yenching Institute, 1933. An index to Su shi yan yi, a collection of essays on law and other topics, in two juan, by Su E 蘇鶚 of the Tang period.
Tomi Saeki 佐伯富 , compiler. Tzu zhi tong jian suo yin 資治通監索引. Kyoto: Thi Kenkyukai of Kyoto University, 1961.
Tong Shigang 童世綱 , compiler. Hu Shi wen cun suo yin 胡適文存索引 . Taibei: Xue sheng shu ju 學生書局, 1969.
Xiao jing yin de 孝經引得. Harvard-Yenching Institute Sinological Index Series Supplement No. 23. Beijing: Harvard-Yenching Institute, 1950. A concordance to the Xiao jing .
Xin Tang shu zai xiang shi xi biao yin de 新唐書宰相世系表引得. Harvard-Yenching Institute Sinological Index Series No. 16. Beijing: Harvard-Yenching Institute, 1934. An index to the genealogical tables of the families of chief ministers in Xin Tang shu.
Xunzi yin de 荀子引得. Harvard-Yenching Institute Sinological Series No. 22. Beijing: Harvard-Yenching Institute, 1950. A concordance to Xunzi.
Yi bai qi shi wu zhong Riben qi kan zhong dong fang xue lun wen pian mu fu yin de 一百七十五種日本期刊中東方學論文篇目附引得. Harvard-Yenching Institute Sinological Index Series Supplement No. 13. Beijing, Harvard-Yenching Institute, 1940. A bibliography of articles on Orientology in 175 Japanese periodicals from 1933 to 1940, with index. See Riben qi kan san shi ba zhong dong fang xue lun wen pian mu fu yin de above.
Yi qie jing yin yi yin yong shu suo yin 一切經音義引用書索引. Compiled by Beijing da xue yan jiu yuan wen shi bu 北京大學研究院文史部 as No. 6 of the Beijing University Research Institute Series on Literature and History. Changsha: Shang wu yin shu guan, 1938. An index to the titles quoted in Yi qie jing yin i.
Yuan shi 元史. Of the same series as the Qing shi and Ming shi.

Sinological Indices (supplement to Teng & Biggerstaff)

McMullen, L. Concordances and Indexes to Chinese Texts, San Francisco, Chinese Materials Center Inc., 1975.
Wang Yunwu 王云五 , compiler. Shi tong suo yin 十通索引. In Wan you wen ku Series 2. Shanghai, Commercial Press, 1937. 327, 13, 168 pp. Combined Indexes to the:
- Tong dian 通典
- Tong zhi 通志
- Wen xian tong kao 文獻通考
- Xu Tong dian 續通典
- Xu Tong zhi 續通志
- Xu Wen xian tong kao 續文獻通考
- Huang chao tong dian 皇朝通典
- Huang chao tong zhi 皇朝通志
- Huang chao wen xian tong kao 皇朝文獻通考
- Huang chao xu Wen xian tong kao 皇朝續文獻通考.
Ye Shaojun 葉紹鈞 , ed. Shi san jing suo yin 十三經索引 (重訂本). Beijing: Zhonghua shu ju, 1983. ( First edition in Teng & Biggerstaff).

Western indices of Chinese works

Baxter, Glen. Index to the Imperial Register of Ci Prosody. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1956.
Fraser, D.H., compiler. Index to the Zuo zhuan 左傳. Revised by J.H.S. Lockhardt. Taibei: Cheng wen, 1966.
Giles, Lionel, comiler. "An Alphabetical Index to the Chinese Encyclopedia, Qin ding gu jin tu shu ji cheng." London: British Museum, 1911. Appended to theQin ding gu jin tu shu ji cheng 欽定古今圖書集成, an encyclopedia in 10,000 juan, compiled under imperial auspices and presented to the Emperor in 1725.
Ivanhoe, P.J., compiler. A Concordance to Tai Chen, "Yuan shan" 原善. San Francisco: Chinese Materials Center, 1979.
---, & David Nivison, compilers. A Concordance to Dai Zhen, "Mengzi zi yi shu zheng" 孟子字義疏證. San Francisco: Chinese Materials Center, 1979.