Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Classical Historiography for Chinese History

Research guide for Chinese Historiography

Bibliography

  • Bol, Peter K., Research Tools for the Study of Sung History. Binghamton: Journal of Sung-Yuan Studies, 1990.
  • Chan, Albert, Chinese Books and Documents in the Jesuit Archives in Rome: A Descriptive Catalogue. Japonica-Sinica I-IV. M. E. Sharpe, 2001.
  • Cole, James H., Updating Wilkinson: An Annotated Bibliography of Reference Works on Imperial China Published Since 1973. New York, 1991.
  • ---, Twentieth Century China: An Annotated Bibliography of Reference Works in Chinese, Japanese, and Western Languages. 2 vols. M. E. Sharpe, 2004.
  • Farmer, Edward L., Romeyn Taylor, & Ann Waltner, Ming History: An Introductory Guide to Research. Minneapolis: University of Minneapolis History Department, 1995.
  • Hucker, Charles O., China: A Critical Bibliography. Tucson: The University of Arizona Press, 1962.
  • Loewe, Michael, Early Chinese Texts: A Bibliographical Guide. Berkeley: Institute of East Asian Studies, University of California, 1994.
  • She hui ke xue gong ju shu qi qian zhong 社 會 科 學 工 具 書 七 千 種 (Seven Thousand Varieties of Research Aids in the Social Sciences). Shanxi ren min chu ban she 陜 西 人 民 出 版 社.
  • Wen shi gong ju shu ci dian 文 史 工 具 書 詞 典 (Dictionary of Research Aids in Literature & History). Compiled by Zhu Hongxi 朱 鴻 熹 , et al. Zhejiang gu ji chu ban she 浙 江 古 籍 出 版 社, 1990.
  • Wilkinson, Endymion, Chinese History: A New Manual. Fifth edition. Cambridge: Harvard-Yenching Institute Monograph Series 84, 2018.
  • ---, The History of Imperial China: A Research Guide. Cambridge: Harvard East Asian Monograph, 1973.
  • Wu Xiaoxin, Christianity in China: A Scholars Guide to Resources in the Libraries and Archives of the United States. 2nd edition. M. E. Sharpe, 2006.
  • Zhongguo gong ju shu da ci dian 中 國 工 具 書 大 詞 典 (Dictionary of Chinese research aids). Compiled by Yang Mu-chih 楊 牧 之 et al. Heilongjiang ren min chu ban she 黑 龍 江 人 民 出 版 社 , 1993.
  • Zhongguo li shi gong ju shu zhi nan 中 國 工 具 書 指 南 (Guide to Chinese History Reference Works). Compiled by Lin Tiesen 林 鐵 森. Beijing: Beijing chu ban she, 1992.
  • Zurndorfer, Harriet T., China Bibliography: A Research Guide to Reference Works about China Past and Present. Leiden: E.J. Brill, 1995.

General Dictionaries

  • Ci hai 辭 海. Compiled by Shu Xincheng 舒 新 城 and others. Shanghai: Zhonghua shu ju, 1937. Frequently reprinted. New version revised by Ci hai bian ji wei yuan hui. Xianggang: Zhonghua shu ju, 1989.
  • Ci yuan 辭 源. Compiled by Lu Erkui 陸 爾 奎 and others. Shanghai: Commercial Press, 1955. Frequently reprinted. New version revised by Guangdong, Guangxi, Hunan, Henan Ci yuan xiu ding zu, and Shang wu yin shu guan bian ji bu. 4 vols. Beijing: Shang wu yin shu guan, 1979-1984.
  • Courveur, Seraphin, Dictionnaire classique de la langue chinoise. Hsienhsien: Press de la Mission Catholique, 1890. Taipei reprint, 1966.
  • Dai Kanwa jiten 大 漢 和 辭 典 (Encyclopedic Chinese-Japanese Dictionary) 13 vols. Compiled by Morohashi Tetsuji 諸 橋 轍 次. Tokyo: Taishukan shoten, 1955-60. The best multi-volume Chinese-Japanese dictionary of classical Chinese. Biased toward philosophy, religion, and Buddhism in particular.
  • Giles, Herbert Allen, Chinese-English Dictionary. 2 vols. Shanghai: Kelly & Walsh, 1912 (Later editions in 1 vol).
  • Guo yu ci dian 國 語 辭 典. Compiled by the Zhongguo ci dian bian zuan chu 中 國 辭 典 編 纂 處. 8 vols. Shanghai: Commerical Press 1948. Taipei reprint in 4 vols.
  • Guo, Zhengzhong 郭 正 忠, Zhongguo quan heng du liang san zhi shi si shi ji 中 國 權 衡 度 量 三 至 十 四 世 紀 (Chinese Weights and Measures: 3rd to 14th centuries). Beijing: She hui ke xue, 1993.
  • Han yu da ci dian 漢 語 大 辭 典 Complied by Luo Zhufeng 羅 竹 風 Shanghai: Shanghai ci shu chu ban she, 1987.
  • Han yu da zi dian 漢 語 大 字 典. Compiled by Han yu da zi dian wei yuan hui. Wuhan: Hubei ci shu chu ban she, 1986.
  • Mathews, Robert Henry, Mathews' Chinese-English Dictionary. Rev. ed. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1944. Dated, and no longer recommended for specialists or beginners.
  • Qiu, Guangming 丘光明, Zhongguo li dai du liang heng kao 中 國 歷 代 度 量 衡 考 (Study of historical weights and measures in China through the dynasties). Beijing: Ke xue, 1992. Another standard and comprehensive study of historical weights and measures.
  • For Chinese weights and measures, see Wu, Chengluo, 1937: Zhongguo du liang heng shi 中 國 度 量 衡 史 (History of Chinese metrology). 2d printing, Shanghai: Commercial Press, 1957. Wu gives detailed tables with citations for every type of measure.
  • Zhong wen da ci dian 中 文 大 辭 典 (Encyclopedic Dictionary of the Chinese Language). Compiled under the direction of Zhang Qiyun 張 其 昀. 40 vols. Taipei: The Institute of Advanced Chinese Studies, 1962. Represents a Chinese translation of the Dai Kanwa jiten 大 漢 和 辭 典.

Biography

  • Ajia rekishi jiten 亞 細 亞 歷 史 事 典 (Historical Dictionary of Asia, 10 vols). Tokyo: Heibonsha, 1962.
  • Er shi si shi ji zhuan ren ming suo yin 二 十 四 史 紀 傳 人 名 索 引. Compiled by Zhang Chenshi 張 忱 石 , Wu Shuping 吳 樹 平. Beijing: Zhonghua shu ju, 1980.
  • Er shi wu shi ren ming suo yin 二 十 五 史 人 名 索 引 (An Index to the Names of People in the Twenty-Five Histories). Compiled by Zhang Xichen 章 錫 琛. Shanghai: Kai ming shu ju, 1935.
  • Franke, H., Sung Biographies. 3 vols. Wiesbaden: Franz Steiner, 1976.
  • Giles, Herbert A., A Chinese Biographical Dictionary. Shanghai: Kelly & Walsh, 1898. Taipei reprint 1971.
  • Goodrich, L. Carrington, ed. Dictionary of Ming Biography. New York and London: Columbia University Press, 1976.
  • Gu jin ren wu bie ming suo yin 古 今 人 物 別 名 索 引 (An Index to the Different Names of Famous Chinese, Ancient and Modern). Compiled by Chen Deyun 陳 德 蕓. Canton: Lingnan University Library, 1937. Taipei reprint 1969.
  • Gu, Tinglong 顧 廷 龍 , Zhongguo li da ren wu nian pu kao lu 中 國 歷 代 人 物 年 譜 考 錄 . Beijing: Zhonghua shu ju, 1992.
  • Hummel, Arthur W., ed., Eminent Chinese of the Ch'ing Period (1644-1912). 2 vols. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1943-1944. Reprinted in 1 vol. by Cheng Wen Press in Taiwan, 1966.
  • Li dai ren wu nian li tong pu 歷 代 人 物 年 里 通 譜 (A Comprehensive Chronology of Famous Chinese). Compiled by Yang Jialuo 楊 家 駱. Taibei: Shi jie shu ju, 1963.
  • Qing ren shi ming bie cheng zi hao suo yin 清 人 室 名 別 號 字 號 索 引. Compiled by Yang Tingfu 楊 廷 福. Shanghai: Shanghai gu ji chu ban she, 1988.
  • Shi ming bie hao suo yin 室 名 別 號 索 引. Compiled by Chen Naiqian 陳 乃 乾. Beijing: Zhonghua shu ju, 1982.
  • Taga, Akigoro 多 賀 秋 五 郎 , Sofu no kenkyu 宗 譜 の 研 究 (A study of genealogies). Tokyo: Toyo bunko, 1960.
  • Zhongguo jin xian dai ren wu ming hao da ci dian 中 國 近 現 代 人 物 名 號 大 辭 典. Compiled by Chen Yutang 陳 玉 堂. Hangzhou: Zhejiang gu ji chu ban she, 1993.
  • Zhongguo ren ming da ci dian 中 國 人 名 大 辭 典 (Biographical Encyclopedia of China). Compiled by Fang Yi 方 毅 and others. Shanghai: Commercial Press, 1934. Frequently reprinted.
  • Zhongguo wen xue jie da ci dian 中 國 文 學 家 大 辭 典 (Encyclopedia of Chinese Scholars). Compiled by Tan Zhengbi 譚 正 璧. Shanghai: Guang ming shu ju, 1934. Frequently reprinted. Many chronological errors.

Chronology

  • Dong, Zuobin 董 作 賓, Chronological Tables of Chinese History. 2 vols. Hong Kong: Hong Kong University Press, 1960.
  • Tchang, Matthias, Synchronismes chinois. Shanghai: Mission Catholique, 1905 (Varietes Sinologiques, no. 24). Taipei reprint, 1967.
  • Zhang Peiyu 張培瑜, San qian wu bai nian li ri tian xiang三 千 五 百 年 歷 日 天 象 (Three thousand five hundred years of astronomical and chronological tables). 鄭 州 Zhengzhou, 1997. Covers 1500 B.C. to A.D. 2050 with unprecedented precision.

Official Titles

  • Chang, Fu-jui, Les Fonctionnaires des Song, index des titres. Paris: Mouton et Compagnie, 1962.
  • De Crespigny, Rafe, Official Titles of the Former Han Dynasty. Canberra: Australia National University Press, 1967.
  • Des Rotours, Robert, Traite des fonctionnaires et traite del'armee. 2 vols. Leiden: E. J. Brill, 1947.
  • Hucker, Charles O., A Dictionary of Official Titles in Imperial China. Stanford: Stanford University Press, 1985. Now the standard reference book.
  • Li dai zhi guan biao 歷 代 職 官 表 (A Chronological Listing of Offical Titles). Compiled by Ji Yun 紀 昀. First published during the Qianlong period (1736-1795). Frequently reprinted.
  • Zhongguo fa lu zhi du shi yan jiu tong lan 中 國 法 律 制 度 史 通 覽 (Comprehensive view of Research on Chinese legal and institutional history). Tianjin: 天 津 教 育 出 版 社 , 1989.
  • Zhongguo li dai guan zhi da ci dian 中 國 歷 代 官 職 大 詞 典 (Greater dictionary of Chinese official offices throughout the dynasties), compiled by Lu Zongli 呂 宗 力 . Beijing: Beijing chu ban she, 1995. ISBN 7-200-01635-7/2-170.

Book Titles

  • Kanseki sosho jozai mokuroku 漢 籍 叢 書 所 在 目 錄. Toyo bunken chushin 東 洋 文 獻 中 心, 1965.
  • Si ku quan shu zong mu ji wei shou shu mu yin de 四 庫 全 書 總 目 及 未 收 書 目 引 得 (Index to the Catalog of the Si ku quan shu and to the Books that were not printed in that Collection). 2 vols. Compiled by James Ware and revised by Weng Tu-chien. Peking, 1932 (Harvard-Yenching Index Series, No. 5).
  • Yi wen zhi er shi zhong zong he yin de 藝 文 志 二十 種 綜 合 引 得 (Combined Index to the Twenty Dynastic Bibliographies). 4 vols. Compiled by William Hung and others. Peking, 1933 (Harvard-Yenching Index Series, No. 10)
  • Zeng ding Si ku jian ming mu lu biao zhu 增 定四 庫 簡 明 目 錄 標 注 (Additions and Corrections to the Standard Commentary on the Abbreviated Book List of the Ssu-k'u). Compiled by Shao Yichen 邵 懿 辰. Shanghai: Commercial Press, 1959.
  • Zhongguo cong shu zong lu 中 國 叢 書 綜 錄 (Comprehensive Descriptive Catalog of Book Collections). Compiled by the Shanghai Library. 3 vols. Shanghai: Commercial Press, 1959. See under Collectanea.

Geography

  • Chun qiu zhan guo di tu 春 秋 戰 國 地 圖 (Atlas of the Spring and Autamn and Warring States Periods). Compiled by Deng Xingju 鄧 興 鉅. Wuchang, 1911.
  • Hermann, Albert, Historical and Commercial Atlas of China. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1935. New ed. by Aldine Publishing Co. , Chicago, 1966. It also appears as An Historical Atlas of China.
  • Li dai yu di tu 歷 代 輿 地 圖 (Historical Atlas of China). Compiled by Yang Shoujing 楊 守 敬 and Xiong Huizhen 熊 會 貞. Published 1906.
  • Shinego, Aneki 重 野 安 繹, Shina kyoiki enkakuzu 支 那 疆 域 沿 革 圖 (Historical Altas of China). Tokyo, 1906.
  • Zhongguo gu jin de ming da ci dian 中 國 古 今 地 名 大 辭 典 (Encyclopedic Dictionary of Ancient and Modern Place Names in China). Compiled by Zang Lihe 臧 勵 龢 and others. Shanghai: Commerical Press, 1930. Taipei reprint 1966.