Classical Historiography for Chinese History

Published by the Institute of History and Philology, Academia Sinica, Taiwan. It continues the "New Series" published in England from 1949 to 1975. Previously the "First Series" of 10 volumes was published in Leipzig from 1924 to 1935; one issue was published in Leipzig in 1944. The journal covers all periods of Chinese history, literature, ideas, and culture in general, which includes the histories and cultures of other East and Central Asian peoples in their relations with China. All articles since 1924 are fully available online in PDF format, with the exceptionof the most recent volume.

Published by Institute of Chinese Literature and Philosophy, Academia Sinica. All the issues are put online in electronic version.

Published by Institute of Modern History, Academia Sinica. All the issues are put online in electronic version.

Edited by Key Research Institute of Social History of China in Nankai University. Some issues can be download from their website.

Published by Center for Chinese Studies 漢學研究中心, Taipei. The center provides the full copies of this journal in electronic version from Vol.1, No.1 (June 1983) to the latest issue.

Published by the Association Française d'Études Chinoises = French Association for Chinese Studies (AFEC), Paris, France. Language: French; short summary in English.

Publishied by Department of History, National Taiwan University. All the issues are put online in electronic version, and a query System is also provided online. The department is also publishing a newsletter titled "Newsletter Department of History, National Taiwan University 台大歷史學術通訊", the full copies of which can be downloaded from the website.

Published by College of Liberal Arts, National Taiwan University 台灣大學文學院. The contents of all the articles can be viewed online from the first issue (June 1950), and the full copies of the journal can be downloaded from Vol.58 (May 2003).

Published by Institute of Chinese Studies, the Chinese University of Hong Kong. The full copies of articles in PDF are provided from Vol.45 (2005) to the latest issue, and the contents and abstracts of the articles can be viewed from Vol.37 (1997).

Published by Institute for Cultural Interaction Studies, Kansai University 関西大学文化交渉学教育研究拠点. All the issues are put online in electronic version.

From 1929 to 1952

This database includes most of the journals published by the academic institutes in National Taiwan University. The journals that should be mentioned here are as follows:

• Historical Inquiry 台大歷史學報 （See above)
  
• Bulletin of the Department of Chinese Literature, National Taiwan University 台大中文學報
  
• Humanitas Taiwanica 台大文史哲學報 （See above）
  
• Chung Wai Literary Quarterley 中外文學
  
• National Taiwan University Studies in Taiwan Literature 台灣文學研究集刊
  
• Taida Journal of Art History 美術史研究集刊
  
• Journal of Archaeology and Anthropology 國立台灣大學考古人類學刊
  
• National Taiwan University Philosophical Review 國立台灣大學哲學論評
  
• National Taiwan University Studies in Japanese Language and Literature 台大日本語文研究
  
• National Taiwan University Book Series of History and Literature Studies 文史叢刊 (Not a journal), etc.
  

Published by Institute of Chinese Literature and Philosophy, Academia Sinica. All the issues are put online in electronic version.

Published in University of Hamburg, and the publication of Oriens Extremus is sponsored by the German Science Foundation (DFG). The journal has been appearing since 1954. Its contributions and reviews written in German and English are mainly concentrating on the history of cultural and intellectual history of Premodern China and on the relations between China and the cultures of Japan, Korea and the countries of South-East Asia. Major fields of interest are history, literature and philosophy. Now some of the articles published in this journal can be downloaded from its website in PDF version.

a journal of the arts of East Asia, the Indian Subcontinent and Southeast Asia, primarily aimed at collectors.

Published by Program for East Asian Classics and Cultures 人文社會高等研究院, National Taiwan University. All full copies of this journal are provided in PDF version online.

The Tabloids (1897-1949) is a sub-section of the Quan guo bao kan suo yin 全國報刊索引 (National Index to Chinese Newspapers & Periodicals). This section gives access to more than 400 individual titles of tabloids form the collections of Shanghai Library. The database includes among other titles like Youxi bao 《遊戲報》, Shijie fanhua bao 《世界繁華報》, Jingbao 《晶報》, Fuermosi (Holmes)《福爾摩斯》Luobinhan (Robin Hood)《羅賓漢》, Libao《立報》and Shehui ribao《社會日報》. These popular newspapers are a great resource for research into popular culture and modern city life in late Qing and Republican China. Much more than broadsheet newspapers the tabloids are focusing on leisure, entertainment, literature, film, theater and dance and also offer the latest gossip.

Published by Published by Institute of Chinese Studies, the Chinese University of Hong Kong. The journal used to be divided into a paper-based version and a online version, but now the online version is not been maintained any more. The back issues of the online version still can be viewed online. The contents of the articles that were published in its paper-based version can be viewed from the first issue (1990), and the full copies in electronic version can be downloaded from No. 87 (February 2005) to the latest issue.

A journal edited by Professor Shen Guowei 沈國威 in Kansai University. The website established by Professor Shen provides some full-text articles published in WAKUMON in PDF version.