Research Guides: Classical Historiography for Chinese History: CD-ROMs

All Content

China Academic Journals (CNKI) This link opens in a new window
More than 8,000 current PRC journals from all subject areas.
Full-text searchable (text delivered may be image-only). Most journals are available from 1994, and many from their first issue, as early as 1915.

The Columbia I-ching on CD-ROM Richard John Lynn, trans. N.Y. Columbia University Press, 1997. (Amazon.com)
"The Complete Collection in Four Treasuries" electronic library
This collection has been published in CD-ROM form (combined image/full-text version: around 178 CD) by the Chinese University of Hong Kong and Digital Heritage Publishing. Another CD-ROM version is being produced at the Modern China Language and Literature Institute, Shandong University, Chinese Information Engineering Research, c/o address: Mr.Wang Li, Department of Computer Science, Shandong University, Jinan, Shandong, China, P.R.C. 250100. The size of this electronic library is about 100GB. It strives to keep the original style and features. It not only provides searching by volume, title or author, but it also provides displaying, printing, and the bookbinding in the original manuscript's pattern. The general catalog for "The Complete Collection in Four Treasuries", the Jing 經 section. and Shi 史 section have been finished. The remaining sections are in process. If you are interested, please send an E-Mail to: "wlzyx@public.jn.sd.cn."

The ICS Ancient Chinese Text Concordance Series 先秦兩漢古籍逐字索引叢刊. Compiled by D.C. Lau 劉殿爵 & F.C. Chen 陳方正. Hong Kong: Shang wu yin shu guan, 1992. 12 vols, and also available on CD-ROM, including:
- A Concordance to the Da Dai Liji 大戴禮記逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Hanshi Waizhuan 韓詩外傳逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Huainanzi 淮南子逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Kongzi Jiayu 孔子家語逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Liji 禮記逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Militarists (Wuzi, Simafa, Sunzi, yuliaozi) 吳子/ 司馬法/ 孫子/ 尉繚子逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Shangjunshu 商君書逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Shuoyuan 說苑逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Wenzi 文子逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Xinxu 新序逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Yizhoushu 逸周書逐字索引.
- A Concordance to the Zhanguoce 戰國策逐字索引.

Muller's CJK-English Character Dictionary: a CD-ROM dictionary designed with its own font set for all International versions of the Windows 95 operating system. The dictionary originally contained 6572 characters, and about 1400 compound words. It offers romanized readings (and lookup system) for all three major East Asian languages: Chinese (Pinyin), Korean, and Japanese. The dictionary is originally organized according to the traditional radical/stroke system in an Explorer-like tree arrangement. See:

Web Resources for the Study of East Asian Language and Thought

Recently a significant update to the WWW CJK-English dictionary was completed. Many new compound words (over 1,000) have been added, along with numerous corrections of earlier data. The major enhancement is in hyperlinking:

1. The CJK Dictionary and Dictionary of Buddhist Terms are now fully interlinked. Users of the Buddhism dictionary may quickly and easily check the non-Buddhist connotations and compounds associated with any given character. The same is true in the reverse direction.
2. The characters in the CJK Dictionary are now linked to those in Rick Harbaugh's online Chinese character dictionary, the Zhongwen Zipu (www.zhongwen.com). Although the same characters are found in both, the divergent emphases of the two lexicons ensures a great deal of complementarity. Harbaugh's dictionary also contains numerous modern compounds not found in Muller's work. The former will list the Mathews and Nelson's numbers, while the latter dictionary lists the Morohashi and Daejaweon numbers. Harbaugh's is also linked to the Cantonese pronunciation dictionary.
3. All JIS-displayable characters and compounds which represent I-Ching hexagrams are linked to Chuck Polisher's I-Ching Lexicon (www.ns.net/~cpolish/).

The Multimedia I Ching: The I Ching or Book of Changes, from the original Wilhelm/Baynes Translation. New on CD-ROM. University Press, 1997.
Zhonghua bo shuo shi lun wen suo yin zhai yao jian suo guang die 中華博碩士論文索引摘要檢索光碟 (Chinese Dissertations Retrieval, 60,000 abstracts in Taiwan, PRC, Hong Kong, and USA and Canada, 1960 to present); National Central Library, National Taiwan Unversity Library.
Zhonghua Minguo chu ban tu shu mu lu guang die xi tong 中華民國出版圖書目錄光碟系統 (Republic of China Chinese national bibliography on CD-ROM, for IBM PC compatible, 350,000 entries); National Central Library, National Taiwan Unversity Library.
1870 Census of the United States. Proquest has published a CD Rom containing information from the 1870 Census on immigrants from Asia, including over sixty thousand entries for China. Contact Tkemp@HeritageQuest.com.