This website is a continuation of the CEDICT project started by Paul Denisowski. It aims to provide a complete Chinese to English dictionary with pronunciation in pinyin for the Chinese characters. The text file can be downloaded to a computer, PalmPilot, or mobile phone. Separate programs (available on the site) allow searching. Available in GB or Big 5.
by Rick Harbaugh. Copyright 1996, 1997, 1998. New Features: Chinese Discussion Board; Chinese Characters Dictionary Web. Readings now include: Dao De Jing, The Analects, Doctrine of the Mean, The Great Learning, Classic of Filial Piety, The Art of War - Sunzi, Ballad of Mulan, Tang Poems, Diary of a Madman - Lu Xun. All characters in this dictionary are "CLICKABLE".
Maintained by the Mandarin Promotion Council, Ministry of Education, R.O.C. Requires knowledge of Chinese. Good alternative to the Kangxi zidian 康熙字典 or other alternatives. Very good for taboo characters associated with names of emperors.
The chief editor of this dictionary is Charles Muller of the Toyo Gakuen University. The introduction explains: "This dictionary is a compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources... Since my basic area of interest concerned the Chinese Buddhist canon, the orientation of the dictionary has been toward East Asian sources, and therefore the dictionary was known during its first 15 years of existence, as the Dictionary of East Asian Buddhist Terms (DEABT). Realizing, however, that a large portion of the content was actually concerned with Indian and other cultural manifestations of Buddhism, and not wanting to discourage potential collaborators with other orientations, we renamed it, in 2001, to the present Digital Dictionary of Buddhism (DDB). Thus, while there is a basic layer of East Asian terminology, since much of what East Asian Buddhists have written about is the Buddhism of India, Central Asia, and Tibet, the content of this database/dictionary/encyclopedia/translation glossary is intended to be pan-Buddhist in character." Login required. A limited number of searches is available to all, but for more extensive use the editors ask that you contribute information to the site.
Le Grand Ricci is to all purposes the most comprehensive bilingual dictionary of Chinese (into French) in the Western world. It covers three millennia of the Chinese language, from the Classics to the modern age, and is encyclopedic in its scope. The compilers were able to draw on the full range of French sinological expertise in completing the project, and has paid especially attention to specialized terms in a wide variety of fields (religion, medicine etc.) It contains 13,392 main entries (single characters) and 280,000 expressions (or Chinese words composed of a set of characters). Entries can be looked up by Chinese character, by romanization (pinyin), by radical and strokes, and by the total number of strokes.
PLECO Chinese Dictionary (basic) can be downloaded for free for the iPhone, iPad, iPod and Android. This app is very convenient for looking things up on the go. Additional features may be purchased on its website