Records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide in Western languages. Includes chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, etc. 1971+
Print back to 1946 at Firestone Reference (DR) & East Asian Library: (GEST) Z3001 .B49. Prior title covering 1936-40 at Gest Z3001.xB8; Cumulative bibliographies covering 1941-65 at GEST Z3001.C94 & Z3001.C93.
It provides a searchable index for over 300 Chinese and bilingual periodicals published in Hong Kong, the citation of which mainly begins from 1980, but also begins from the initial issue for some significant periodicals. For example, it includes the index for the first Chinese periodical in Hong Kong titled Chinese Serial 遐 邇 貫 珍, which was published from 1853.
This site is established and maintained by Japan Legal History Association. It mainly includes the articles in the field of so-called "legal history", but also contains a huge number of articles in other fields of Chinese Studies.
This site is maintained by Ozaki Humiaki 尾 崎 文 昭 from Institute for Advanced Studies on China 東 洋 文 化 研 究 所, the Univesity of Tokyo. It includes a number of major peridicals in the field of Chinese Modern and Contemporary Literature. The search page is HERE. (CAUTION: the system only can be searched with Chinese characters in GB code or Roman alphabet according to Pinyin pronunciation of every Chinese character.)
This database gives access to academic journal articles from mainland China. Different to China Academic Journals the database does not only list articles that are included for full-text download, but also offers bibliographic information, abstracts, citation information, and statistics for articles that are not included for download. In this respect it is quite similar to the Web of Knowledge.
This database searches full-text versions of new (i.e., post-1949) local gazetteers, which are also browsable by region or topic. Pages are readable and downloadable in pdf form in some 6 million small parts by navigating through the Table of Contents (mulu), by clicking on “chakan yuanwen” (read original excerpt) or “xiazai yuanwen” (download original excerpt). You can also read through the complete gazetteers on line, by clicking on “zhengben yuedu” (reading full volume). More advanced searching (Boolean searching, fuzzy searching) is available, and you can narrow down results by using facets or adding refinements to your search (and clicking “search within results.”)
This database includes more than 2 million dissertations and theses, and hence is much larger than the history and literature (doctoral) dissertations and (master) theses parts of the CNKI equivalent previously available. Note that you can narrow down your results not only by using the topical and chronological facets, but also by typing within the tab-looking grey boxes on top of your results: e.g., by typing 北京大学 in the 学校 box.
More than 22 million full-text searchable articles, which are also browsable by topic or journal. Covered years are fewer than the China Academic journals database (most journals do not go back further than 2001), and page numbers are only visible when viewing the article itself, not in the index. Hence, searching CNKI’s China Academic Journals should be your first choice for finding articles; yet, with exclusive online contracts on the rise in China, some journals may be only available in one database and not the other. Again, you can narrow down your results not only by using the topical and chronological facets, but also by typing within the tab-looking grey boxes on top of your results: e.g., by typing 2003 to 2008 in the starting and concluding year boxes.
Searches more than 2 million conference papers. Also browsable by topic and then year. Although an extra function “full text only” is available, differences between “all” and “full-text only” seem to be minimal.
Working bibliography of translations from the Chinese Canon, usually limited to translations from Chinese. The translations are sorted by Taisho number. Chinese characters and pinyin are also provided.
Maintained by the Center for Buddhist Studies, National Taiwan University. See also the Supplement Character Set for Chinese Buddhist Texts. Contents include a glyph database that works with IBM compatible computers using Windows 3.1 and encoded in Big 5 Code. The "Fonts for Buddhist Usage" can be downloaded.