Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Classical Historiography for Chinese History

Research guide for Chinese Historiography

Encyclopedias

  • Beijing tu shu guan cang Zhongguo li dai shi ke ta ben hui bian 北京圖書館藏中國歷代石刻拓本匯編. Henan: Zhengzhou, 1990.
  • Beijing tu shu guan gu ji zhen ben cong kan 北京圖書館古籍珍本叢刊. Beijing: Xin hua shu dian, 1988-.
  • Gao Cheng 高承 (11th century), compiler. Shi wu ji yuan 事物紀源. In Cong shu ji cheng 叢書集成, v. 1209-1212.
  • Giles, Lionel. An Alphabetical Index to the Chinese Encyclopedia. London: British Museum, 1911.
  • Jiang Tingxi 蔣廷錫, et al., compilers. Gu jin tu shu ji cheng 古今圖書集成. Presented to the emperor in 1725. Photolithographic reproduction, Shanghai: Zhonghua shu ju, 1934.
  • Smith, Richard J. "The Cultural Role of Popular Encyclopedias in Later Imperial China."
  • Tai ping yu lan 太平御覽. Compiled under imperial auspices by Li Fang 李昉(925-96) and others. Completed in 983. Photolithographic reproduction, Shanghai: Commercial Press, 1935. See also index in Harvard-Yenching Institute Sinological Index Series, volume 23.
  • Wang Qi 王圻, compiler. San cai tu hui 三才圖會 (Pictorial Encyclopedias). 155 vols. Published in 1609.
  • Wang Yinglin 王應麟 (13th century), compiler. Yu hai 玉海. 1806 ed.
  • Yang Jialuo 楊家駱, compiler. Zhongguo wen xue bai ke quan shu 中國文學百科全書. Nanjing: Zhongguo ci dian guan, 1936 and 1937.
  • Zhai Hao 翟灝, compiler. Tong su bian 通俗編. Latest dated pref. 1751. In Cong shu ji cheng 叢書集成 , v. 1222-1223.

Other documents

  • These are less useful for the Qing since they are excerpts from sources that survive in full (especially the Hui dian 會 典 Dong hua lu 東 華 錄 Sheng xun 圣 訓 etc.
  • See Wilkinson, Endymion. The History of Imperial China: A Research Guide. Cambridge: East Asian Research Center of Harvard University, 1973 for the four Qing encyclopedias in the "Ten T'ung" 十 通 set, pp. 126-28
  • The Gu jin tu shu ji cheng 古 今 圖 書 集 成 (1725) which uses more primary sources, is good. There is an index by Lionel Giles (1911).
  • Huang chao tong dian 皇 朝 通 典 (to 1785)
  • Huang chao tong zhi 皇 朝 通 志 (to 1785)
  • Huang chao wen xian tong kao 皇 朝 文 獻 通 考 (to 1785)
  • Huang chao xu wen xian tong kao 皇 朝 續 文 獻 通 考 (1786-1911)
  • Indexes to 1936 Commercial Press editions
  • Huang chao zhang gu hui bian 皇 朝 掌 故 匯 編 (1902) in same tradition
  • For other encyclopedias, see Wilkinson, Endymion. The History of Imperial China: A Research Guide. Cambridge: East Asian Research Center of Harvard University, 1973, pp. 162-69; Teng, Ssu-yu, & Knight Biggerstaff. An Annotated Bibliography of Selected Chinese Reference Works. Third Edition. Harvard-Yenching Institute Series. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1971, pp. 94-95.
  • Fairbank, John K. Ch'ing Documents: An Introductory Syllabus. 3rd edition. Cambridge: East Asian Research Center of Harvard University, 1970, pp. 84-92.