ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPRSTUVW
Abolition and ColonizationCivil Rights and Black PowerEducationFBI FilesFree African Americans in the 19th CenturyHistory 1700 to the presentOrganizationsPersonal PapersPlantation LifeSelected Web SitesSlavery and the Slave TradeThe ConfederacyWomen
19th Century Newspapers20th Century NewspapersNewspaper Web Sites
Books about Newspapers and PublishersNewspaper Indexes
Graphic ArtsManuscriptsSlavery Part 1Slavery Part 2
African Americans and PrincetonArchival CollectionsPublic Policy PapersSlavery at Princeton
A.M.E.A.M.E. Indiana - A.M.E. VirginiaA.M.E. Virginia - ChestnutCheyney - IndustrialInformat - North-westernPhiladelphia - Young
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

African American Studies  Tags: primary_sources newspapers  

Primary and selected secondary sources for research in African American Studies at Princeton University.
Last update: Nov 21st, 2009 URL: http://libguides.princeton.edu/aas  Print Guide  RSS Updates

History 1700 to the present             Print Page
  
 

1700 to the present

African American Culture and History: The L.S. Alexander Gumby Collection of Negroiana from the Holdings of the Rare Book and Manuscript Library of Columbia University in the City of New York

Microfilm 12135    Printed guide: none.

 

African American Religious Serials, 1850-1950

Microfilm 12138    Printed guide: none

 

American Missionary Association Archives.  Amistad Research Center Microfilm Edition

Microfilm 05360    Printed guide (FilmB) (Film B) Z7817.A45

 

American Negro Historical Society Collection, 1790-1905

Microfilm 11981    Printed guide (FilmB) E185.93.P41 A5 1998 http://www.gale.cengage.com/psm/guides.htm#B

 

Amistad Research Center.  Microfilm Edition of the American Missionary Association Archives

Microfilm 05360    Printed guide (FilmB) (Film B) Z7817.A45

 

Association of Southern Women for the Prevention of Lynching Papers, 1930-1942

Microfilm 05551    Printed guide (FilmB) E185.61.C655

 

Black Academy of Arts and Letters Records, 1968-1980

Microfilm 11829    Printed guide: none

 

Black and Third World Periodicals. The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, New York Public Library

Microfilm 11984    Printed guide (FilmB) E185.5.S35 1995

 

Black Workers in the Era of the Great Migration, 1916-1925

Microfilm 05597    Printed guide (FilmB) 000000000000000

 

Blacks in the Railroad Industry Collection, 1946-1954

Microfilm 11640    Printed guide see: http://www.gale.cengage.com/psm/guides.htm#B

 

Butler Plantation Papers: The Papers of Pierce Butler, 1744-1822, and Successors from the Historical Society of Pennsylvania

Microfilm 10622    Printed guide (FilmB) F290.B96 B874

 

California. Governor’s Commission on the Los Angeles Riots.  Transcripts, Depositions, Consultants Reports, and Selected Documents

Microfilm 1109.412.23          Printed guide: none

 

Civil Rights and Social Activism in the South

Microfilm 12030    Printed guide (FilmB) E185.6.C585 2007

 

COINTELPRO: the Counterintelligence Program of the FBI

Microfilm 05649    Printed guide: none

 

Commission on Interracial Cooperation Papers, 1919-1944

Microfilm 05550    Printed guide (FilmB) E185.61.C655

 

Congress of Racial Equality, 1941-1967: Papers

Microfilm 04276    Printed guide (FilmB) Z1361.N39M46 1980

 

Congress of Racial Equality, 1944-1948: Addendum

Microfilm 04562    Printed guide (FilmB) E185.61.P36

 

Correspondence of the Military Intelligence Division relating to “Negro Subversion,” 1917-1941

Microfilm 09662    Printed guide: none

 

Daniel Murray Pamphlet Collection: Pamphlets on African American History, 1821-1910

Microfilm 08889    Reel 1 contains guide.  (Also of interest from the Library of Congress is the Daniel A. P. Murray Pamphlet Collection, 1818-1907. http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/aap/aaphome.html

 

Detroit Urban League Papers, 1916-1950, at the University of Michigan

Microfilm 09607    Printed guide (FilmB) F574.D49 N454

 

The East St. Louis Race Riot of 1917

Microfilm 05592    Short contents index on reel 1.

 

Fannie Lou Hamer, 1917-1977: Papers, 1966-1978

Microfilm 11839    Printed guide (FilmB) E185.97.H35 A3 2005a

 

Federal Surveillance of Afro-Americans, 1917-1925: The First World War, the Red Scare, and the Garvey Movement

Microfilm 05596    Printed guide: none

 

Franklin D. Roosevelt and Race Relations

Microfilm 12390    Printed guide (FilmB) E806 .F6917 2008

 

Holdings of Mother Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church Historical Museum in manuscript and print

Microfilm 11660    Printed guide: none

 

Horace Mann Bond Papers

Microfilm 11591    Printed guide (FilmB) E185.97.B65 A3

 

Malcolm X.  Transcripts of the Malcolm X assassination trial [microform] : the People of the State of New York v. Thomas Hagan, Thomas 15X Johnson, and Norman 3X Butler.

Microfilm 09179    Printed guide (FilmB) KF224.H3 H342 1993

 

Microfilm Edition of the American Missionary Association Archives,  Amistad Research Center

Microfilm 05360    Printed guide (FilmB) (Film B) Z7817.A45

 

Military Intelligence Division relating to “Negro Subversion,” 1917-1941

Microfilm 09662    Printed guide: none

 

Minority Voter, Election of 1936 and the Good Neighbor League

Microfilm 12137    Printed guide (FilmB) JK526 1936.D48 2008

 

National Archives.  Correspondence of the Military Intelligence Division relating to “Negro Subversion,” 1917-1941

Microfilm 09662    Printed guide: none

 

New Deal Agencies and Black America

Microfilm 05473    Printed guide (FilmB) E185.61.L47

 

Papers of Arthur B. Spingarn

Microfilm 11888    Guide contents list located on Reel 1

 

Papers of Robert H. Terrell

Microfilm 11868    Guide contents listed at the beginning of reel 1

 

Papers of the Congress of Racial Equality, 1941-1967

Microfilm 04276    Printed guide (FilmB) Z1361.N39M46 1980

 

Papers of the Congress of Racial Equality, 1944-1968: Addendum

Microfilm 04562    Printed guide (FilmB) E185.61.P36

 

Papers of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People

Microfilm 05354    Printed guide (FilmB) Z1361.N39 G84

 

Papers of the National Negro Congress, 1933-1947

Microfilm 11689    Printed guide (FilmB) E185.61.N374

 

Peonage Files of the U.S. Department of Justice, 1901-1945

Microfilm 06400    Ptinted guide (FilmB) HD4875.U6 P46

 

Records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, Parts 1-3

Microfilm 11720    Printed guide (FilmB) HD6515.R362 B76

 

Records of the Committee on Fair Employment Practices: Division of Review and Analysis: Part 1. Racial Tension File, 1943-1945

Microfilm 11991    Printed guide (FilmB) HD8081.A65 S55 2006

 

Records of the National Association of Colored Women’s Clubs, 1895-1992

Microfilm 09022    Printed guide (FilmB) E185.86.R426

 

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, New York Public Library, Black and Third World Periodicals

Microfilm 11984    Printed guide (FilmB) E185.5.S35 1995

 

Scottsboro Case: State of Alabama v. Patterson, et. al.

Microfilm 05618

 

Southern Civil Rights Litigation Records for the 1960s

Microfilm 05448    Printed guide (FilmB) KF4756.A1G84 or (SF)KF4756.A1G84

 

Southern Tenant Farmers’ Union Papers, 1934-1970

Microfilm 06126    Printed guide (FilmB) Z7164.T7 S5

 

St. Mark’s Protestant Episcopal Church, Charleston, South Carolina, Parts A-G

Microfiche 1044

 

State Free Negro Capitation Tax Books, Charleston, South Carolina, ca.1811-1860

Microfilm 08353    Guide appears at the beginning of reels 1 and 2

 

Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Papers, 1959-1972

Microfilm 04530    Printed guide (FilmB) E185.5.xS78

 

Transcripts of the Malcolm X Assassination Trial: The People of the State of New York v. Thomas Hagan, Thomas 15X Johnson, and Norman 3X Butler

Microfilm 09179    Printed guide KF224.H3 H342 1993

 

Tuskegee Institute News Clippings File

Microfilm 05488    Printed guide (FilmB) Z1361.N39xT8 1978

 

Universal Negro Improvement Association, Records of the Central Division, New York, 1918-1959

Microfilm 11989    Printed guide (FilmB) E185.86.U55 1988

 

Universal Negro Improvement Association Records, 1921-1986

Microfilm 11994    Printed guide (FilmB) E185.86.U48 A12 1994

 

W.E.B. Du Bois Papers (1868-1963)

Microfilm 04494                    Printed guide (FilmB) Z6616.D8 M35

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

Microfilm Location

History collections on microfilm and printed guides to accompany microfilm are housed in Microform Services on C-floor in Firestone Library.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait