Skip to Main Content

Chinese Studies Resources - by type

Detailed directory of resources in Chinese Studies listed by type of resource

Lawinfochina/Chinalawinfo/Chinese Case Studies = 北大法寳

There are two sister legal retrieval systems for the PRC, Lawinfochina and Chinalawinfo; the former contains English, the latter Chinese material. Included are all laws adopted by the National People’s Congress and its Standing Committee from 1949; all administrative regulations promulgated by the State Council from 1949; many other rules or orders issued by other agencies; important judicial interpretations and other regulations impacting foreign-related activities; judicial cases from the Gazette of the Supreme People’s Court (also in English); Sino-foreign tax treaties; and other legal news and matter. The link provided is for the English version. Once in the English site, click any of the Chinese links to access the Chinese site (and vice versa). Access is only for one concurrent user.

In addition, Princeton users have access to the Chinese case studies contained as a separate database within Chinalawinfo.

Wanfang falü fagui = 万方法律法规

Wanfang’s Policies and Laws of China database. Searches some 500,000 entries. Special facets include currently valid versus discontinued distinctions, and refinement search boxes include issuing agency. Compare with LawInfoChina/ChinaLawInfo. As with all Wanfang databases, once on the Wanfang home page, you can move from database to database via tabs. The “xue shu lun wen” tab combines several databases into one mega-search, and you can also combine searches across databases using the advanced search option.

Zhongguo falü fagui dadian = 中国法律法规大典

This is a compilation of Chinese laws and regulations from 1949-1997. It may be viewed from the main computer cluster in the EAL.