There are two sister legal retrieval systems for the PRC, Lawinfochina and Chinalawinfo; the former contains English, the latter Chinese material. Included are all laws adopted by the National People’s Congress and its Standing Committee from 1949; all administrative regulations promulgated by the State Council from 1949; many other rules or orders issued by other agencies; important judicial interpretations and other regulations impacting foreign-related activities; judicial cases from the Gazette of the Supreme People’s Court (also in English); Sino-foreign tax treaties; and other legal news and matter. The link provided is for the English version. Once in the English site, click any of the Chinese links to access the Chinese site (and vice versa). Access is only for one concurrent user.
In addition, Princeton users have access to the Chinese case studies contained as a separate database within Chinalawinfo.
This is a full text searchable database of documents covering the Tokyo Trials of World War II Japanese war criminals, collected from sources around the world. The database includes transcripts of the proceedings of the International Military Tribunal for the Far East, court exhibits of the International Military Tribunal for the Far East, transcripts of the interrogations by the prosecutors, historical photos, and relevant audio-visual resources.
The resources have been classified and indexed with parallel translations in English, Chinese and Japanese.
The database includes photographs or copies of original texts from the National Archives of the United States and related material acquired from sources around the world and was compiled by the Center for Tokyo Trial Studies at Shanghai Jiao Tong University.
The complete collection will be published in stages. The first stage includes the English-language Collection of Court Exhibits of the International Military Tribunal for the Far East. There is cross-referencing among the images, texts, audio and video material. In the future, all documents will be available in English, Chinese and Japanese. At this moment, some parts are already available in English, but related books and documents are still largely in Chinese only.
To use the database please click on the button “Log In” button in the top menu and choose “Institutional User Login” without filling in anything, to proceed.
The documents in this database were brought together by the Center of Local Archives at Shanghai Jiaotong University. The archives (mostly in manuscript form) originate mainly from private collections in the provinces of Jiangsu, Anhui, Fujian, and Jiangxi. Major parts of the collections come from Shicang 石仓 (Zhejiang) and from Huizhou 徽州. Included are contracts, private and company ledgers, examination documents, medical prescriptions, local theater and opera material, court records, letters, family records, and various other types of material. The majority of the documents date from the Qing and Republican period, but there are also some Ming and PRC documents included. Currently, this database is the only one of its type in China.
The texts have been arranged according to regions, with archives from families in the same region put together, by village. Various (full-text and multidimensional) searches and functions are available through searches in simplified and traditional characters.
ACCESS NOTE: Please confirm IP authentication when opening the database.
