This database contains hundreds of thousands of Chinese laws and legal commentaries, in both Chinese and English. It can be searched by keyword or browsed by category.
A database comprised of the volumes called pishu (皮书) from the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS), published (often yearly) by the Social Science Academic Press (SSAP). This database should be especially useful for researchers in the economic, political and social sciences of China.
The archive covers all pishu published by SSAP from 1991 onward, and new pishu are uploaded on a monthly basis, between 15-20 new volumes each month. You can see the updated title list here: http://www.eastview.com/Files/UDB-Pishu.xlsx.
You can search within all titles, or by series and/or thematic keyword (click on those headings). The seven series are China Society and Culture (国社会与文化), China Economic Development (中国的经济发展), China Regional Analysis - Provincial (中国地区分析 - 省级), China Regional Analysis - Municipal (中国地区分析 - 市政的), China Regional Analysis - Hong Kong/Macau/Taiwan (中国地区分析 - 香港/澳门/台湾), China Industrial Sectors (中国的工业部门), and Global Economy, Politics, Security (世界经济，政治，安全). Thematic keywords include advertising, ethnology, etc. The database also includes such titles as the Annual Report on Research on Japan (日本研究报告). An explanatory brochure about the database is available from: http://www.eastview.com/Files/EVPishu.pdf .
We have only a selection of these works in paper, and ranges may be spotty. Note that almost all titles are Chinese-only, although they do have English alternative titles.
Chinese Population Census Statistics are also available via the Princeton Map collection.
Via the map collection Princeton users have permanent access to the following data sets:
China County Boundaries with Census Data, 1953
China County Boundaries with Census Data, 1964
China County Boundaries with Census Data, 1982
China County Boundaries with Census Data (Part A), 1990
China County Boundaries with Census Data (Part B), 1990
China County Census Short Form Data, 2000
China County Census Long Form Data (L1-L6), 2000
China County Census Long Form Data (L7-L8), 2000
Township Census Data 2000 for each Province
China Economic Census Data by County, 2008
China census data by county, 2000-2010
China extended long form census data by province, 2010
China extended short form census data by province, 2010
China extended long form census data by county, 2010
China township population census data, 2010
All the files can be downloaded and either be used in a GIS software or opened with Excel. To open the data in Excel, please download the shapefile and open the file with the extension “.dbs” in Excel. Under “Metadata” in each entry additional information about the Excel fields is available.
Select geo-coded data is contained in the China Geo-Explorer I.
More statistical data from China is available via the CNKI China Statistical Yearbooks, EPS and CEIC.
The latest annual statistics for China can also be found in the Data Planet Statistical Datasets under the source "China Data Institute"
The China Statistical Yearbook Database (CNKI) is a large selection of statistical data published by the Chinese government, including the 2010 census (search for 2010年人口普查). A wide variety of economic, social and environmental topics is covered. There is a data search (with a standard, an index value, and an index definition mode), a data analysis tool (enabling comparison by districts, indexes, years), and one can use yearbook navigation. Because of changes to indexes over the years, and differences in coverage from index to index or district to district, the safest way of searching may be by yearbook navigation.
The database is available from within the general CNKI interface, as used for the China Academic Journals. However, because there is a noticeable time gap between yearbook issues showing up in the Chinese interface, and their appearance in the English interface, users are encouraged not to use the alternative English interface if avoidable. There are also translation and typographical issues with the English version.
CNKI has recently updated its platform for statistical data from China under the name 中国经济社会大数据研究平台 (China Economic and Social Data Platform). The new interface allows searching by indicator across yearbooks and creation of GIS maps. Access is available to Princeton users via 中国经济社会大数据研究平台 China Economic and Social Data Platform.
CNKI now also offers an alternative English interface called China Data Insight that gives access to the yearbook data by indicators rather than by published yearbook. There are many problems and inconsistencies with the translation of the indicators in this interface. Click “Sign in” to be recognized as a Princeton user by IP (this service requires SonicWall VPN).
Note that more statistical data may be available from other databases like EPS, CEIC, Data Planet, the so-called pishu reports database (China Economy, Public Policy, and Security Database), and the China Geo-Explorer I).
Please note: As of April 1, 2023, the Cybersecurity Administration of China (CAC) imposed new oversight requirements on specific content types appearing in the China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI). Due to these requirements, full text downloads of four content types will be temporarily suspended: dissertations, conference proceedings, patents, and statistics. Since April 1, 2023, the Chinese Statistical Yearbooks Database and the surrogate services like the China Economic and Social Data Platform and China Data Insight are not available outside of the People's Republic of China. For more information please see: https://www.eastview.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/03/Chinese_regulatory_actions_impact_map.pdf
In the meantime users can access our other statistical offerings for China: EPS, CEIC, Data Planet, the so-called pishu reports database (China Economy, Public Policy, and Security Database), and the China Geo-Explorer I which all can be found here: https://libguides.princeton.edu/c.php?g=1071063&p=9192878
Please also note that we do have many of the statistical yearbooks in print. You can find those via the library catalog. Many print yearbooks come with CDs including the data in electronic form in Html and Excel format. We have made efforts to transfer the content of these CDs to the Princeton Data and Statistical Services (DSS) https://library.princeton.edu/dss where Princeton users can download them after login. The whole list of Chinese statistical yearbooks on the DSS server the is available at: https://dss.princeton.edu/catalog?utf8=%E2%9C%93&q=china+yearbook
Note that more statistical data may be available from other databases like CNKI Statistical Yearbooks, CEIC, Data Planet, the so-called pishu reports database (China Economy, Public Policy, and Security Database), and the China Geo-Explorer I).
NOTE: To enter the database click "Enter the Database" in the upper right corner on EPS's website.
NOTE: To enter the database click "EPS数据平台" in the in the middle of EPS's website.
Please also note that some browsers do not support offsite access to both language versions of this database.
Chrome, Edge, and Opera all seem to work fine.
Data and Statistical Services (DSS) provides a catalog of data (longitudinal studies, panel data, etc.) and statistical sources available in Princeton and available freely on the web. The catalog has seperate entries for China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan. Many of the data from China's statistical yearbooks are available via this service.
