Reference guide on Chinese literature from ca. 700 B.C.E. to the early seventh century C.E. Alphabetically organized, it contains entries on major and minor writers, literary forms and Chinese literary terms. Includes detailed bibliographic and source information.
Biographical reference work for early China this biographical dictionary complements Michael Loewe's acclaimed Biographical Dictionary of the Qin, Former Han and Xin Periods (2000). Compiled by Rafe de Crespigny, the dictionary includes more than 8,500 biographical entries based on historical records and surviving inscriptions. The entries, including surnames, personal names, styles and dates, are accompanied by maps, genealogical tables and indexes.
Biographical reference work for early China with almost 6,500 entries compiled by Michael Loewe. The work draws on primary historical sources as interpreted by Chinese, Japanese and Western scholars and is supplemented by archaeological finds and inscriptions.
China Vitae is a foundation-supported activity whose objective is to provide current information on China 's leaders to scholars, analysts, and the general public. It consists of an English language database containing detailed biographies of thousands of Chinese leaders. Free of commercials, pop ups, and banners, the database is highly searchable, using state-of-the-art tools to find officials by name, institution, or location. A special comparison engine allows users to identify similarities in the backgrounds of officials. Another search tool tracks daily appearances of the most important officials.
The database is constructed by Zhonghua Shuju and compiled by Professor Gong Yanming from Zhejiang University. It is the first section of the larger Biographical Examination Database 历代科举任务数据库. It aims to record information on all Jinshi degree holders throughout Chinese history and to provide information about their regional and ancestral origin. Currently the database includes information on 102,000 Jinshi degree holders. It provides different search possibilities such as search by regional origin, dynasty, year of degree, last name, etc. Accurate and fuzzy searches are possible. Each entry aims to list historical sources for the recorded information. A number of options for statistical analysis are also provided (for details please see the database help page).
