Skip to Main Content

Chinese Studies Resources - by type

Detailed directory of resources in Chinese Studies listed by type of resource

Ancient and Early Medieval Chinese Literature Online: A Research Guide

Reference guide on Chinese literature from ca. 700 B.C.E. to the early seventh century C.E. Alphabetically organized, it contains entries on major and minor writers, literary forms and Chinese literary terms. Includes detailed bibliographic and source information.

Brill's Encyclopedia of China

A basic introductory encyclopedia to (largely, but not exclusively, modern) China, primarily for undergraduates. A paper version is also available. This work is the English adapted version of an original German-language encyclopedia, and most entries are written by well-known scholars (e.g., the Qing entry is written by Pierre-Etienne Will.)

Encyclopedia of Buddhism

Encyclopedia of Chinese Language and Linguistics

The online version of the Encyclopedia of Chinese Language and Linguistics.the 2015 version is an early release version; the complete edition will come out in early 2016.

The Encyclopedia of Chinese Language and Linguistics offers a systematic and comprehensive overview of the languages of China and the different ways in which they are and have been studied. It provides authoritative treatment of all important aspects of the languages spoken in China, today and in the past, from many different angles, as well as the different linguistic traditions they have been investigated in.

Thesaurus Linguae Sericae (TLS) = 漢學文典

The Thesaurus Linguae Sericae (TLS) is an Historical and Comparative Encyclopaedia of Chinese Conceptual Schemes and is designed as a collaborative forum for discussion on the close reading of Chinese texts for a cross-cultural study of conceptual history. It provides a corpus of classical Chinese texts wherever possible with interlinear translations. TLS links the texts incorporated with an analytic dictionary of the Chinese language.

The Thesaurus was founded by Christoph Harbsmeier (University of Oslo) and is developed by Center for Informatics in East-Asian Studies (Kyoto University). It is hosted by Princeton University, Department of East Asian Studies, in cooperation with Ruhr University Bochum, Forschungszentrum für traditionelle chinesische Kulturen.

Zhongwen baike dacidian = 中文百科大辭典

The (Taiwanese) Chinese illustrated encyclopedic dictionary - the Zhong wen bai ke da ci dian - has tens of thousands of entries, including thousands of color pictures and diagrams.