Skip to main content

Energy - Supply, Demand, and Pricing

Alternative Renewables (Solar, Wind, Geothermal, Hydropower)

International Energy Agency.
Detailed international data on
renewables, energy technology research and development,world energy statistics and balances, and forecasts from energy policies. For forecasts, also see World Energy Outlook.

United States. Energy Information Administration.
Official energy statistics from the United States government on renewable and alternative fuels. Data can also be found in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets including the State Energy Data System.

Power etrack
Databases related to the power industry (electricity and alternative energy), the latest news and deals, company profiles and opinions and research reports. Includes power plants, transmission and distribution, deals and project finance. Includes statistical reports on alternative power sources including wind, hydro, solar, geothermal, bio, ocean, transportation biofuels, fuel cells along with energy storage, efficiency, and infrastructure; and carbon. 

California Solar Statistics.

Aquastat. Statistics on water resources.

Water Data from The World's Water
Data on fresh water, dams, and sanitation.

Environmental Data Explorer (United Nations Environment Programme Data portal)
Portal to a wealth of international and regional data on water.


 World Resources Institute (environmental think tank)
The World Resources Institute's mission is "to move human society to live in ways that protect Earth's environment and its capacity to provide for the needs and aspirations of current and future generations".
Includes datasets on energy and resources including solar, wind, wave, and geothermal consumption.  Renewables consumption data is also found in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets.

Worldwatch Global Trends Worldwatch Institute CD-ROM with historical data on world photovoltaic production back to 1971, photovoltaic production by country or region back to 1994, global solar water heating installations back to 1997, and world wind energy generation capactiy back to 1980. DSS Study Number 5108. Updated by Vital Signs (Worldwatch Institute publication in cooperation with the United Nations Environment Programme). GE150.W675 (Current Volume in DR) Coverage varies by year.  Check the index.

Oil Economists' Handbook. Includes historical time series including a chapter on renewable resources (wood, fuelwood, soyabean oil, vegetable and marine oils, biomass energy, charcoal, solar collector shipments, active solar market).  Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone. HD9560.65.J452.

Environment Canada. Water. Provides information and data on Canada's water use, quantity, and other information about water in Canada.

European Environment Agency. Water Module.

Beyond Nimbyism: a Multidisciplinary Investigation of Public Engagement with Renewable Energy Technologies, 2008
Aimed to increase understanding of public responses to renewable energy technologies, and looked at the local experience of resistance and consent, and ways in which public engagement is constructed and practised in the UK. Includes a dataset with responses to a survey administrated in 7 case study areas which were all sites of renewable energy projects around the UK with varying technologies (tidal, marine, bioenergy, offshore and onshore wind). To obtain a free account please register with the UKDA.