Skip to main content

Energy - Supply, Demand, and Pricing

Coal

SNL EnergyCovers more than 9,000 power plants; 3,000 North American energy companies; 1,700 active coal mines and 120 gas pipelines.  Provides detail on financials, supply and demand fundamentals, hourly market pricing and rate cases. Best source for pricing data. Registration from a Princeton domain is required.  Existing users login. A plugin is needed to download data.

International Energy Agency.
Detailed international data on
coalenergy prices and taxes, energy technology research and development, world energy statistics and balances, and energy projections.  For forecasts also see World Energy Outlook.

United States. Energy Information Administration. Coal Data.
Official energy statistics from the United States government on coal.  Includes international.

IEA Clean Coal Centre - Resource on the clean use of coal including reports, emission standards, and technologies.  Includes the Coal Power Atlas which shows the locations and names of many thousands of coal-fired power plants across the world.
 
United Nations.
(United Nations Collection) XVII.series W - No. 1 (1976/81)-no. 17 (2008)
Energy balances ... and electricity profiles ... for selected developing countries and areas.
Provides production of primary energy, balances, energy converted, transfers, consumption for coal, briquettes and cokes, other solid energy, petroleum, and natural gas, derived gases, and electricity.  2008+ online.
 

World Development Indicators
In addition to supplying economic and social data, includes environmental data including electricity production from coal. Data as early as 1960.

Data-Planet Datasets
Includes data from the World Resources Institute on trade and consumption of coal. 

Environmental Data Explorer (United Nations Environment Programme Data portal)
Portal to a wealth of international and regional data on many aspects of the environment including statistics on the proportion of the population using solid fuels and total primary energy supply from coal and coal products
.

World Resources Institute (environmental think tank)
The World Resources Institute's mission is "to move human society to live in ways that protect Earth's environment and its capacity to provide for the needs and aspirations of current and future generations".
Includes datasets on energy and resources including coal. 

Worldwatch Global Trends Worldwatch Institute CD-ROM with historical data (sometimes going back to the 1600s) on ecosystems, diversity, agriculture, food, water, energy, climate, and pollution. DSS Study Number 5108.  Updated by Vital Signs (Worldwatch Institute publication in cooperation with the United Nations Environment Programme). GE150.W675 (Current Volume in Trustees Reading Room) Coverage varies by year.  Check the index.