Skip to main content

Energy - Supply, Demand, and Pricing

Alternative (Biomass, Ethanol)

International Energy Agency.
Detailed international data on
renewables, energy technology research and developmentworld energy statistics and balances, and energy projections. For forecasts, also see World Energy Outlook.

United States. Energy Information Administration.  Renewables.
Official energy statistics from the United States government on renewable and alternative fuels. Data can also be found in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets including the State Energy Data System.

U.S. Bioenergy Statistics
Produced by the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture.  Source of information on biofuels intended to present a picture of the renewable energy industry and its relationship to agriculture. Tracks U.S. ethanol and biodiesel production, consumption, and trade. Also monitors and analyzes U.S. bioenergy policy and events that affect the domestic and international biofuel and feedstock markets.  Includes suppy and disapperance, feedstocks, coproducts, infrastructure, prices, and next-generation biofuels.

Power etrack
Databases related to the power industry (electricity and alternative energy), the latest news and deals, company profiles and opinions and research reports. Includes power plants, transmission and distribution, deals and project finance. Also includes statistical reports on alternative power sources including wind, hydro, solar, geothermal, bio, ocean, transportation biofuels, fuel cells along with energy storage, efficiency, and infrastructure; and carbon. 

Worldwatch Global Trends Worldwatch Institute CD-ROM with historical data on biodiesel production back to 1991 and ethanol production back to 1980. DSS Study Number 5108.  Updated by Vital Signs (Worldwatch Institute publication in cooperation with the United Nations Environment Programme). GE150.W675 (Current Volume in Trustees Reading Room) Coverage varies by year.  Check the index.

Environmental Data Explorer (United Nations Environment Programme Data portal)
Portal to a wealth of international and regional data on many aspects of the environment including carbon stock in living forest biomass. 


 World Resources Institute (environmental think tank)
The World Resources Institute's mission is "to move human society to live in ways that protect Earth's environment and its capacity to provide for the needs and aspirations of current and future generations".
Includes datasets on energy and resources including biomass.  Some of the statistics on biomass consumption are also included in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets.

Oil Economists' Handbook. Includes historical time series including a chapter on renewable resources (wood, fuelwood, soyabean oil, vegetable and marine oils, biomass energy, charcoal, solar collector shipments, active solar market).  Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Firestone. HD9560.65.J452.

Beyond Nimbyism: a Multidisciplinary Investigation of Public Engagement with Renewable Energy Technologies, 2008

Aimed to increase understanding of public responses to renewable energy technologies, and looked at the local experience of resistance and consent, and ways in which public engagement is constructed and practised in the UK. Includes a dataset with responses to a survey administrated in 7 case study areas which were all sites of renewable energy projects around the UK with varying technologies (tidal, marine, bioenergy, offshore and onshore wind). To obtain a free account please register with the UKDA.