Skip to main content

Energy - Supply, Demand, and Pricing

Natural Gas

United States. Energy Information Administration. Natural Gas.
Official energy statistics from the United States government on natural gas prices, exploration, and reserve, production, trade, pipelines, storage, and consumption.  Includes some international data. Data can also be found in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets including the State Energy Data System.

International Energy Agency.
Detailed international data on
natural gasenergy prices and taxes, energy technology research and development,world energy statistics and balances, and forecasts from energy policies. For forecasts, also see World Energy Outlook.

SNL EnergyCovers more than 9,000 power plants; 3,000 North American energy companies; 1,700 active coal mines and 120 gas pipelines.  Provides detail on financials, supply and demand fundamentals, hourly market pricing and rate cases. Best source for pricing data. Registration from a Princeton domain is required.  Existing users login. A plugin is needed to download data.

JODI Gas World Database.  2009+.  Monthly natural gas production and trade data by nation.

Oil & Gas etrack
Detailed statistical reports on exploration and production in the oil and gas industries. 
 
United Nations. Energy Statistics Yearbook.
(United Nations Collection) XVII.series W - No. 1 (1976/81)-no. 17 (2008)
Energy balances ... and electricity profiles ... for selected developing countries and areas.
Provides production of primary energy, balances, energy converted, transfers, consumption for coal, briquettes and cokes, other solid energy, petroleum, and natural gas, derived gases, and electricity.  2008+ online.
 
United Nations.
(United Nations Collection) XVII.series J - (1952-1978)
World energy supplies.
First volume has select statistics for 1929-1950.  Provides production and distribution of solid fuels, liquid fuels, gas, and electricity.   Continued by Yearbook of world energy statistics and Energy Statistics Yearbook.
 
World LNG Map.  Interactive tool from Petroleum Economist Map Services. Contains maps, world statistics and data (production, consumption, trade movement, import and export capacities by country and operator) and shipping information for LNG (liquefied natural gas).
 

PRIO has data on all known oil and gas deposits.

American Petroleum Institute. Average price of gasoline at the pump, the countries the U.S. imports oil and product from, state motor fuel tax rates.
 

Gas Facts.  1942+.  Long running series featuring statistics on natural gas reserves and oil producing wells, imports, exports, supplementals, underground gas storage, distribution and transmission pipeline miles, consumption, revenues, end users, prices, appliance and housing data, construction expenditures, and personnel data.  Current edition in DSS.  HD9684.U5A7 1945+ in Firestone under same call number.  1942-1944 had 2 other titles and shelved in Firestone HD9684.U5A5 and HD9684.U5A6.

Basic Petroleum Data Book. Long time series for demand, production, crude oil reserves, exploration and drilling, financial characteristics of petroleum companies, prices, refining,imports & exports, offshore, transportation, natural gas, OPEC, and environmental measures.  DSS. HD9560.4. B3.

World Oil and Gas Review.  Annual statistical report on the international oil and gas market and refining industy.

County-level Oil and Gas Production in the U.S.  Covers continental USA only 2000-2011.  On-shore production.  Indiana and Illinois are estimates.

Twentieth Century Petroleum Statistics. Long time series for reserves, demand, production, prices, reserves, capacity and other items related to petroeum and natural gas.  DSS. HD9560.4. T83 2008.

Oil Economists' Handbook. Includes long time series on crude oil prices, oil product prices, energy prices, oil futures prices and market activity, energy stocks, production, consumption, weather analysis, trade, refining, market shares, OPEC statistics, petrochemicals, reserves, renewable resources, shipping, pipelines, tankers, and quality.  Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR). Firestone. HD9560.65.J452.

Worldwatch Global Trends Worldwatch Institute CD-ROM with historical data back to 1950 on world natural gas consumption and production as well as natural gas production for the USA and former Soviet Union. DSS Study Number 5108.  Updated by  Vital Signs (Worldwatch Institute publication in cooperation with the United Nations Environment Programme). GE150.W675 (Current Volume in Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR). Firestone) Includes data and essays on the environment. Coverage varies by year.  Check the index.

World Development Indicators
In addition to supplying economic and social data, includes environmental data including electricity production from natural gas. Data as early as 1960.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Includes data from various agencies on natural gas consumption and expenditures. 

World Bank. Data and Statistics. Environment.
Various international, regional, and country data on various aspects of the environment including natural gas
.

World Resources Institute (environmental think tank)
The World Resources Institute's mission is "to move human society to live in ways that protect Earth's environment and its capacity to provide for the needs and aspirations of current and future generations".
Includes datasets on energy and resources including natural gas. 

 Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries.

Oil & Gas Journal Data Book. Lewis Library HD9560.1 O34 (1987+)