Skip to main content

Energy - Supply, Demand, and Pricing

Petroleum

United States. Energy Information Administration. Petroleum.
Official energy statistics from the United States government on petroleum prices, reserves, production, refining & processing, trade, consumption, and sales. Includes some international data. Data can also be found in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets including the State Energy Data System.

 International Energy Agency.
Detailed international data on 
oil, energy prices and taxes, energy technology research and development,world energy statistics and balances, and forecasts from energy policies. For forecasts, also see World Energy Outlook.  For the latest outlook, see the Medium-Term Oil Market Report.

JODI Oil World Database.  2002+.  Monthly statistics on production and balance of crude oil by nation.

Oil & Gas etrack
Detailed statistical reports on exploration and production in the oil and gas industries.
 
United Nations.
(United Nations Collection) XVII.series W - No. 1 (1976/81)-no. 17 (2008)
Energy balances ... and electricity profiles ... for selected developing countries and areas.
Provides production of primary energy, balances, energy converted, transfers, consumption for coal, briquettes and cokes, other solid energy, petroleum, and natural gas, derived gases, and electricity. 2008+ online.
 
United Nations.
(United Nations Collection) XVII.series J - (1952-1978)
World energy supplies.
First volume has select statistics for 1929-1950.  Provides production and distribution of solid fuels, liquid fuels, gas, and electricity.   Continued by Yearbook of world energy statistics and Energy Statistics Yearbook.
 

Data-Planet Datasets
Includes petroleum production and pricing data from a variety of sources.

American Petroleum Institute. Average price of gasoline at the pump, the countries the U.S. imports of oil and product from, state motor fuel tax rates.

Basic Petroleum Data Book. Long time series for demand, production, crude oil reserves, exploration and drilling, financial characteristics of petroleum companies, prices, refining,imports & exports, offshore, transportation, natural gas, OPEC, and environmental measures. DSS. HD9560.4. B3.

World Oil and Gas Review.  Annual statistical report on the international oil and gas market and refining industry.

PRIO has data on all known oil and gas deposits.

County-level Oil and Gas Production in the U.S.  Covers continental USA only 2000-2011.  On-shore production. Indiana and Illinois are estimates.

Twentieth Century Petroleum Statistics. Long time series for reserves, demand, production, prices, reserves, capacity and other items related to petroeum and natural gas.  (DSS) HD9560.4. T83 2008.

International Crude Oil Prices: Major Time Series from the 1960s to 1991. Includes spot crude oil prices; crude oil netback values; posted crude oil and tax reference prices in major exporting countries; OPEC countries' official sales prices; sales prices in major exporting countries; crude oil imports/exports by country of origin/destination, values and quantities; crude oil supply contracts; and crude oil futures.  Social Science Reference Center. HD9560.4. I573 1993.

Oil Economists' Handbook. Includes long time series on crude oil prices, oil product prices, energy prices, oil futures prices and market activity, energy stocks, production, consumption, weather analysis, trade, refining, market shares, OPEC statistics, petrochemicals, reserves, renewable resources, shipping, pipelines, tankers, and quality.  (Trustee's Reading Room) HD9560.65.J452.

Worldwatch Global Trends Worldwatch Institute CD-ROM with historical data on world oil production and consumption by day back to 1950. DSS Study Number 5108. Updated by Vital Signs (Worldwatch Institute publication in cooperation with the United Nations Environment Programme). GE150.W675 (Current Volume in Trustee's Reading Room) Coverage varies by year.  Check the index.

World Development Indicators
In addition to supplying economic and social data, includes environmental data including oil and gas production and consumption. Data as early as 1960.

 

World Resources Institute (environmental think tank)
The World Resources Institute's mission is "to move human society to live in ways that protect Earth's environment and its capacity to provide for the needs and aspirations of current and future generations".
Includes datasets on energy and resources including oil and petroleum products. 

Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries.

WorldOil.com Statistics and Tables

Oil & Gas Journal Data Book. Lewis Library HD9560.1 O34 (1987+)