Links to the groups of most interest to chemists follow:
- Spectral Database for Organic Compounds, SDBS
SDBS is a free database maintained by AIST (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology) in Japan. SDBS offers downloadable/printable spectra and peak assignments
MSDSs can be used to find basic property information as well as safety data
- Patents – What are they? 60% of chemistry research is published in Patents.
How to get them? US patents are free full text online, from Google (easiest) https://www.google.com/?tbm=pts,
and world patents are free and mostly full text online,http://esp@cenet. You can also search for chemical patents in Scifinder
This database contains the CAS Registry Number®, chemical names (both formal and common), molecular formulas, and structures or sequences for ~7900 chemicals of widespread general public interest. These substances are of global commercial use or importance and have been cited 1,000 or more times in the CAS databases. Examples of substances included are aspirin, biotin, benzoyl peroxide, and boric acid. The Common Chemistry database also includes all 118 elements of the Periodic Table, although not all of the elements may meet the 1,000 references threshold.
Links to Wikipedia records (when available) have been provided by the Wikipedia Chemicals WikiProject in collaboration with Chemical Abstracts Service.
You can quickly and easily confirm a chemical name, CAS Registry Number, or structure from this database of common, everyday chemicals.
You can search for substances in Common Chemistry by either their CAS Registry Number or by their chemical name. Chemical name searches can be by exact name if you have one or by name fragment. CAS Registry Number searches are exact search only. Consult the Help page for additional search tips and details.
Common Chemistry is provided by CAS as a public service. If the data is used in other public facing databases or applications an acknowledgement of Common Chemistry from CAS (www.commonchemistry.org.) as a data source is desired. (disclaimer)
This database will be updated periodically. Information such as Wikipedia links may be added on a more frequent basis as it becomes available.
Database last updated May 2015.