Research Guides: Health Policy: Overview

Health Policy Resources

This is a guide to international and U.S. health policy resources. Information about health policy is found in books; journal and newspaper articles; reports from think tanks and research centers; government publications and web pages; and datasets. Use the tabs at the left to find specific types of resources. In addition, you are welcome to make an appointment with a librarian to help navigate these sources or locate materials not covered in this guide.

Finding a Topic

When looking for a research paper topic, it is often helpful to peruse reference publications, such as subject specific encyclopedias and handbooks, for summaries and overviews. The bibliographies of relevant entries and essays can provide a starting point for sources when conducting literature searches and reviews. Below are some suggested sources for health policy:

Encyclopedia of Health Services Research by Ross M. Mullner (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412951791
Publication Date: 2009-05-20
Key themes: Access to Care; Accreditation; Associations, Foundations, and Research Organizations; Biographies of Current and Past Leaders; Cost of Care; Economics, Finance, and Payment Mechanisms; Disease, Disability, Health, and Health Behavior; Government and International Healthcare Organizations; Health Insurance; Health Professionals and Healthcare Organizations; Health Services Research; Laws, Regulations, and Ethics Measurement; Data Sources and Coding; Research Method; Outcomes of Care; Policy Issues, Healthcare Reform, and International Comparisons of Public Health Quality.
Encyclopedia of Health Economics by A. J. Culyer (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780123756794
Publication Date: 2014-02-21
Overviews into the broad field of health economics, including the economics of designing health service finance and delivery and the economics of public and population health.
Encyclopedia of Global Health by Yawei Zhang (Editor)
Call Number: RA564.86 .D38 2019
ISBN: 9781412941860
Publication Date: 2008-01-09
Covers a broad range of health topics, including: physical and mental health, biographies of major doctors and researchers, profiles of medical institutions, organizations, and corporations, descriptions of drugs and operations, articles on national health policies, and thematic health topics in the humanities.
Encyclopedia of Public Health by Sally Kuykendall (Editor)
Call Number: Stokes Library - Reference - RA423 .E53 2018
ISBN: 9781610699822
Publication Date: 2018-06-08
Broad coverage of the concepts of public health and the methods we use to care for and promote the health of people in communities, groups, and our nation. Identifies relevant connections between physical, social, and emotional health and well-being to everyday life, including a perspective on past public health successes and likely directions for the future.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health by by Brigham Narins (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028666709
Publication Date: 2020
Topics include diseases and conditions, health and wellness efforts, nutrition, ethics and law related topics and statistics, sanitation issues, and everyday environmental effects.
International Encyclopedia of Public Health by Stella R. Quah (Editor-In-Chief); Kristian Heggenhougen (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780123739605
Publication Date: 2008-09-08
Covers: issues, challenges, methods, and approaches of global public health. Wide coverage from details of specific diseases to the organization of social insurance agencies. Also includes: public health aspects of diseases and conditions, aging, diet, injuries, ethical and legal subjects in public health, measurement and modeling, consumerism, anthropology and sociology, economics, the history of public health, and global issues.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Patrick L. Mason
ISBN: 9780028661957
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
See entries on Health Care Gap, Health Disparities, Mental Health Disparities.