Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Policy

This is a guide to resources about U.S. and international health policy

Reports/Working Papers/Policy Papers

Health policy information is often found in reports, working papers and white papers of think tanks, international government organizations (IGOs), non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and academic research centers. See below for searching these types of materials.

Library Databases

International Health Policy Organizations & Centers

World Health Organization (WHO)  - Publications and data on a wide range of topics by country.

Pan American Health Association (PAHO) - Covers North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean. Publications and data on a wide range of topics.

Commonwealth Fund International Health Policy Center - Includes international health system profileshealth system features, and health and system statistics for individual countries.

European Observatory on Health Systems and Policies - Analysis and profiles of the European health care systems. Affiliated with the World Health Organization (WHO).

Rand Corporation - Nonprofit policy research organization covering international health, health care and aging, as well as many other topics. Access to reports, research briefs, journal articles.

World Bank Infectious Diseases and Vaccines - Reports with references to original data sources.

U. S. Health Policy Organizations & Centers

Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF) - Policy research organization focusing on U.S. health issues, particularly health insurance (e.g., Affordable Care Act, Medicare, Medicaid, the uninsured, etc.) and racial equity. Provides reports, data, public opinion polling, and news articles. State Health Facts includes information about individual states.

Commonwealth Fund Health policy research organization focusing on a wide array of issues, including health care delivery, access, insurance. cost and reform, as well as prescription drug policy, vulnerable populations and international innovations. Conducts the Biennial Health Insurance Survey.

StateNetwork.org Supported by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. Timely issue briefs, reports, webinars, commentary,  statistics, etc. on state health policy. Topics include insurance, public health, health equity, 

National Academy for State Health Policy (NASHP) - Independent academy of state health policy makes across branches and agencies of state government to address health issues. Current reports, blogs, charts, etc. 

NCSL 50-State Bill Tracking Databases - Find the status of bills introduced by state legislatures on a variety of topics, including COVID-19, environmental health, maternal and child health (scroll down to find topic area.)  See also special pages for Medicaid and CHIP.

CDC Public Health Policy - Links to the many U.S. government entities that regulate U.S. health policy. Most are searchable from library databases. See a librarian for assistance.

Urban Institute Health Policy Center - Reports, briefs and fact sheets on employer-based coverage, Medicare and Medicaid, the health care safety net, and state and local initiatives to improve population health. Includes a Health Insurance Policy Simulation Model

Dartmouth Atlas Project - Documents, through data, maps and publications, variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. Uses Medicare and Medicaid data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.

New Jersey Health Policy Organizations & Centers

Rutgers Center for State Health Policy - Research and analysis about health policy in New Jersey and around the nation. Topic areas include: access and coverage; health and long-term care workforce; health system performance improvement, long-term services and supports, and population health. Includes links to data about New Jersey.