Research Guides: Health Policy: COVID-19

Overview

Many of the sources in other sections of this guide contain information about COVID-19 as pertains to health policy. See also the links below.

Metasites

COVID-19 Curated Data, Modeling, and Policy Resources - Publicly available data sources, analytic tools, policy options, and other resources, curated by Mathematica.

COVID-19 Tracking

COVID-19 Global Cases by Johns Hopkins CSSE Data visualization tool on cases, deaths, and testing.
U.S. CDC Covid Tracker Includes cases by county, vaccinations, forecasts, mobility, Vulnerability Index, State Profile Reports.
COVID-19 Dashboards Dashboards updated hourly with latest available data (Primary data source is the John Hopkins COVID-19 Data Repository).
COVID Tracking Project Volunteer organization launched from The Atlantic and dedicated to collecting and publishing the data required to understand the COVID-19 outbreak in the United States. Ceased adding new data on March 7, 2021.
US Gender/Sex COVID-19 Data Tracker Reports up-to-date and historical gender/sex-disaggregated data on COVID-19 cases and fatalities for 50 US States and 2 US Territories. Reports weekly and cumulative US state-level gender/sex-disaggregated COVID-19 cases and fatality data from mid-April to the present, manually extracted each week from publicly-available state public health departments. Provides disaggregated by sex: cases and deaths; case and mortality rates; age-adjusted mortality rates; time series of age-adjusted rate; ratio of mortality.
COVID-19 Global Gender Response Tracker From the U.N. Monitors responses taken by governments worldwide focusing on women's participation in COVID-19 task forces and national policy measures.
Novel Coronavirus Real-time Dashboard
Healthmap.org/Wuhan Data visualization tool with links to news resources on confirmed cases
Opportunity Insights. Economic Tracker. Track the economic impacts of COVID-19 on people, businesses, and communities across the United States in real time.
COVID-19 Vaccine & Therapeutics Tracker BioRender vaccine tracker. See the latest updates for vaccine and therapeutic drug developments for COVID-19.
New Jersey COVID-19 Data Dashboard (scroll down) Up-to-date tracking of vaccinations, cases and trends, hospital census, COVID in long-term-care facilities, vaccination in long-term-care facilities, mortality, cases by municipality, hospital staff cases, school COVID cases by county, contact tracing workforce by county, COVID in state psychiatric hospitals,

COVID-Related Policy Literature/Articles

Coronavirus Research Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A free health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Includes COVID-19 Collection

DisasterLit Specific topic search for coronavirus related resources through the Disaster Information Management Research Center
LitCOVID Curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus.
World Health Organization (WHO) Global Literature on Corona Virus Disease Database Under Main Subject (on the left) choose Public Health
Military Health System Coronavirus COVID-19 Information Center Military documents and news regarding COVID-19.
Health Affairs COVID-19 Resource Center - A collection of COVID-19 content from Health Affairs journal articles and additional commentary, expert analysis, and policy proposals.

International Policy

COVID-19 Policy Hub (OECD) Information and data related to policy decisions of OECD members in responding to COVID-19
Commonwealth Fund COVID-19 Research, analysis, and evidence-based policy options particularly focused on people whose access to health care and other critical services has been most affected, including communities of color and people with low income.
World Health Organization Coronavirus disease (COVID 19) Pandemic World Health Organization guidance and advice to countries. Includes COVID Dashboard
Global Social Responses to Covid-19 Web Archive Documents regional, social responses to the pandemic, which are critical in understanding the scope of the pandemic’s humanitarian, socioeconomic, and cultural impact. With an emphasis on websites produced by underrepresented ethnicities and stateless groups, the Archive covers (but is not limited to): sites published by non-governmental organizations that focus on public health, humanitarian relief, and education; sites published by established and amateur artists in any realm of cultural production; sites published by local news sources; sites published by civil society across and representatives; and relevant blogs and social media pages.

State Government Policy

COVID-19 RESOURCES FOR STATE LEADERS The Council of State Governments Data and Prediction Models, State Reopening Plans, State Vaccination Plans, Links to State Court Covid-19 Websites and more.
National Council of State Legislatures (NCSL)
Coronavirus (COVID-19) Revised State Revenue Projections (NCSL) National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) is tracking the budgetary and economic consequences of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. This page summarizes projected revenue shortfalls and revised estimates by state and fiscal year (FY).
State Action on COVID-19 Includes COVID-related state legislation.
COVID-19 Resources for States - Resources in policy areas ranging from education to health care costs and access.
Commonwealth Fund COVID-19 Research, analysis, and evidence-based policy options particularly focused on people whose access to health care and other critical services has been most affected, including communities of color and people with low income.

COVID-19 Datasets

CORD-19: COVID-19 Open Research Dataset
The Semantic Scholar team at the Allen Institute for AI has partnered with leading research groups to provide CORD-19, a free resource of more than 280,000 scholarly articles about the novel coronavirus for use by the global research community.
A County-level Dataset for Informing the United States' Response to COVID-19
An arXiv.org link from the Computer and Society sub-discipline.
COVID-19 Community Profile Report
Includes case and testing data by county from Health and Human Services.
more...less...
See the FAQ.
COVID-19 Data Repository
Repository for data examining the social, behavioral, public health, and economic impact of the novel coronavirus global pandemic.
COVID-19 open research dataset
A Free, Open Resource for the Global Research Community. In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Allen Institute for AI has partnered with leading research groups to prepare and distribute the COVID-19 Open Research Dataset (CORD-19), a free resource of over 44,000 scholarly articles, including over 29,000 with full text, about COVID-19 and the coronavirus family of viruses for use by the global research community.
COVID-19 US State Policy Database
Database of state policies on closures, shelter-in-place orders, housing protections, changes to Medicaid and SNAP, physical distancing closures, reopening, and more created by researchers at the Boston University School of Public Health. Policies included are state-wide directives or mandates, not guidance or recommendations. In order for a policy to be included, it must apply to the entire state. State policy source documentation can be found at: tinyurl.com/statepolicysources.
COVID Racial Data Tracker
Race and ethnicity data pertaining to COVID in the U.S.
COVID Tracking Project
Includes data by state on tests, hospitalizations, in ICU, on ventilators, and outcomes.
Global Coronavirus Susceptibility Index (Knoema)
Indicates vulnerability of countries to spread of the COVID-19 virus. It is compiled by Knoema for 148 countries.
more...less...
Datastream is terminal based and in Firestone and Stokes Library.
A global database on central banks' monetary responses to Covid-19
Provides details of central banks' monetary policy responses to Covid-19.
Governments' Responses to COVID-19
Tracks governments’ responses to COVID-19 all around the world. The dataset is at the country-level and covers the January-July 2020 period; it is updated on a monthly basis. It tracks 20 measures – 13 public health measures and 7 economic measures – taken by 228 governments. The tracking of the measures allows creating an index of the rigidity of public health measures and an index of economic response to the pandemic. The objective of the dataset is both to inform citizens and to help researchers and governments in fighting the pandemic.
Imperial College London YouGov Covid 19 Behaviour Tracker Data Hub
Contains individual responses from nationally representative surveys of the general public about symptoms, testing, self-isolation, social distancing and behavior. Contextual data includes: gender, age, region (within country), number of people in the household, children in household, health conditions, working status and the date of the survey response. A weighting variable is also provided, typically based on age, gender and region. For obvious reasons, people with severe symptoms, people who are / have been hospitalised and some other hard to reach groups will be under-represented in the sample. The files contain anonymized respondent level data files from surveys conducted from the 31st March 2020 to date.
Institutional Origins of COVID-19 Public Health Protective Policy Response (PPI)
Measures public health government responses to COVID-19 at all levels of government throughout the world. The PPI measure considers the extent of COVID-19 policy responses in the following categories: state of emergencies, border closures, school closures, social gathering and social distancing limitations, home-bound policies, medical isolation policies, closure/restriction of businesses and services, and mandatory personal protection equipment. The coding for public health policies is based on government websites and reputable news sources reporting adoption of these policies.
Marshall Project - State-by-State Look at Coronavirus in Prisons
New York Times COVID-19 Github data
Our World in Data-Coronavirus Pandemic (COVID-19)
Data related to: cases, deaths, tests, mortality risk, policy, data visualizations, and links to datasets.
Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) data
Includes loan-level data, including business names, addresses, NAICS codes, zip codes, business type, demographic data, non-profit information, name of lender, jobs supported, and loan amount ranges.
For all loans below $150,000, SBA is releasing all of the above information except for actual amounts (ranges are provided).
more...less...
Also available via the RDS Explorer and API.
Princeton University. Data & Statistical Services. COVID-19 Datasets
COVID-19 datasets
Roper Center Public Opinion Data Related to COVID-19
Roper Center Public Opinion Data related to COVID-19 plus some additional links to other public opinion sources. One needs to authenticate via CAS to Roper and then use their registered username/password.
SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics is now offering COVID-19 data at the national, state, and county levels, updated daily. The data is sourced from USAFacts.org.
US Gender/Sex COVID-19 Data Tracker
Reports up-to-date and historical gender/sex-disaggregated data on COVID-19 cases and fatalities for 50 US States and 2 US Territories. Reports weekly and cumulative US state-level gender/sex-disaggregated COVID-19 cases and fatality data from mid-April to the present, manually extracted each week from publicly-available state public health departments. Provides disaggregated by sex: cases and deaths; case and mortality rates; age-adjusted mortality rates; time series of age-adjusted rate; ratio of mortality.

Mapping Tools

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Online data and mapping application that gives access to indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education. Geography available differs by source. Data come from both public and proprietary sources. Not all data can be downloaded. See also https://www.policymap.com/issues/covid-19
SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) This link opens in a new window
Mapping application that lets users create thematic maps & reports using demographic, business, & marketing data. COVID-19 data at the national, state, and county levels, updated daily. Data is sourced from USAFacts.org. Requires each user to register to create a personal work space
The 2009 Congressional District data is on the DSS Server. Latest congressional district data built into program.