Skip to main content

History of women, gender & sexuality

Topics: American

Witchcraft in Europe and America Archives Unbound

Witchcraft in Europe and America [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 05401
104 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms BF1566.R47
Reproduces books on witchcraft from the collections of Cornell University, the Lea Library at the University of Pennsylvania, and elsewhere. Good coverage of all aspects of witchcraft, including many trial accounts. Note: much of the material in English may also be found in Early English Books Online and Eighteenth Century Collections Online.

Women and Social Movements in the United States
Collection of full-text primary and secondary sources. Covers 1600-2000.

Bibliography of American women [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 05117
14 reels
Printed guide: none
"Encompassing fifty thousand titles, this systematic listing for monographs in women's history covers works in all fields of study published from 1600 to 1904. Compiled by Dr. H. Carleton Marlow of Brigham Young University, it is arranged on film in chronological, alphabetical, and subject order." [From the Library of Congress web site, http://www.loc.gov/rr/microform/wmnmicro.html]

Twentieth Century Advice Literature
Digital collection of advice manuals, etiquette books, how-to-guides, professional manuals, textbooks, and government and association publications that provide insight into social and economic issues including race, sex, gender, and family life in 20th century America.

Women Working (1800-1930)
Access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.

Twentieth century trade union woman [microform]
Microfiche 665
41 fiche
Printed guide: none
Consists of oral history interviews with women active in trade unions in the U.S.

Cornell University collection of women’s rights pamphlets on microfiche
MICROFICHE 163
124 fiche
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HQ1423.C6
Consists of pamphlets on women's rights, 1814-1912, collected by Cornell University. Arranged chronologically, but indexed by author. Printed guide includes brief abstract for each item.

Webster vs. Reproductive Health Services. Section IX, Amici curiae briefs [microform]
Microfiche 1560
84 fiche
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms KF228.W38W33 1990
Documents from the landmark Supreme Court case of 1989 on the constitutionality of a Missouri state statute regulating abortion. Includes the 80 amicus curiae briefs filed by organizations in this case.

Women and law [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 05626
40 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms KF478.A5 B37
Consists of newspaper and magazine clippings, research papers, and ephemera documenting the women's rights movement, primarily in the U.S. but also worldwide, in the 1970's. Compiled at the Women’s Law Library of the Women’s History Research Center. Organized by topic, e.g. law, politics, employment, education, rape/prison/prostitution, and Black/Third World.

Women's Issues and Their Advocacy within the White House, 1974-1977 Archives Unbound
"This collection documents Patricia Lindh’s and Jeanne Holm’s liaison with women’s groups and their advocacy within the White House on issues of special interest to women. Includes material accumulated by presidential Counselor Anne Armstrong and Office of Women’s Programs Director Karen Keesling. Topics include liaison activities with over 300 women’s organizations, agency women’s groups and program units, advisory committees on women and women appointees; public policy; and legislation and regulation of women’s civil rights in the government and the economy."

History Vault: Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights
Contains several separate collections including papers of women leaders of the suffrage movement from several regions of the U.S., papers of women politicians of the 20th century, material on family planning, and the Records of the Bureau of Vocational Information, 1908-1932.

Citizen's Advisory Council on the Status of Women, 1963-1977 History Vault

President's Commisson on Status of Women History Vault

Topics: British & international

Medieval and early modern women [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11790
16 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HQ1599.E5 M 424
Manuscript material from the British Library. Part 1 reproduces work by a number of important medieval and early modern women writers; Part 2 reproduces recipe, household and account books; religious texts; and correspondence. See http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/ medieval-and-early-modern-women-part-1/Contents.aspx and http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/ medieval-and-early-modern-women-part-2/Contents.aspx

Women and medicine [microform]: remedy books, 1533-1865
RECAP Microfilm 11860
35 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms RS131.28 .W66 2004
Reproduces medical and other recipe and household books written by women, from the Wellcome Library in London.

Aristocratic women [microform]: the social, political and cultural history of rich and powerful women
RECAP Microfilm 10536
25 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HQ1593 .A747
Reproduces the correspondence of Jemima, Marchioness Grey (1722-97) and her circle; the correspondence and diaries of Charlotte Georgiana, Lady Bedingfeld (formerly Jerningham), c1779-1833; and the letters of Anna Seward, c1791-1804 and Lady Stafford, c1774-1837.

Sexual politics in Britain [microform]
Microfiche 915
517 fiche
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Z7164. S42S49
Consists of periodicals published by, and records of, women's and gay rights organizations. Covers 1967-1982.

Helen Blackburn pamphlet collecton from Girton College [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11988
29 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms JN979 .H44 1987
Blackburn (1842-1903) was a British feminist. This collection consists of pamphlets from Britain, the U.S. and many European countries on suffrage, education, employment, and other issues. On Blackburn, see http://www.oxforddnb.com/view/article/31905

Proletarische Frauenbewegung [microform]: of the 19th & early 20th centuries
Microfiche 1925
1413 microfiches
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Z7964.G3 P764 1999q
A rich collection of material from the German proletarian women's movement. In German. Online guide at http://firestone.princeton.edu/hellenic/Frauenbewegung.pdf

Women, War and Society, 1914-1918
Archives Unbound
Consists of a wide range of materials from the collections of the Imperial War Museum.