Skip to main content

History of women, gender & sexuality

American women's organizations

Records of The National Association of Colored Women’s Clubs, 1895-1992 [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 09022
41 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E185.86 .R426
Consists of correspondence and reports documenting the activities of the NACWC, which advocated for civil rights and addressed issues such as health and education.

Papers of the Association Against the Prohibition Amendment and the Women’s Organization for National Prohibition Reform [microform]
Microfilm 05209
17 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HV5089.G84.
This collection documents the activities of the WONPR, which was founded in 1929 to work for the repeal of Prohibition.

Bureau of Social Hygiene project and research files, 1913-1940 [microform]
Microfilm 05108
31 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HV99.N6B853
The Bureau of Social Hygiene was a research institute founded by John D. Rockefeller, Jr. and charged with investigating social problems and crime, especially prostitution. The project files are arranged by topic. Covers primarily 1928-1935, with some earlier and later material.

Association of Southern Women for the Prevention of Lynching papers, 1930-1942 [microform]
Microfilm 05551
8 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E185.61.C655
Comprises correspondence, newspaper clippings, minutes, memos and pamphlets documenting the activities of the Association.

History Vault: Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990
"Comprises three collections documenting the National Woman's Party (NWP) role in the struggle for women's rights; from the effort to pass the Nineteenth Amendment that guaranteed the right of women to vote, to later campaigns for passage of the Equal Rights Amendment and other initiatives combating gender discrimination, both in the United States and around the world." [Note: this digital collection includes all the material in two microfilm collections held by Princeton, National Woman’s Party papers. Suffrage years, 1913-1920, RECAP Microfilm 04446, and Part 1 of National Woman’s Party papers, 1913-1974, RECAP Microfilm 11771.]

Also contains Papers of the League of Women Voters, 1918-1974 [RECAP Microfilm 08602], which documents the activities of the League of Women Voters, a nonpartisan group advocating participation in the democratic process. The League addressed issues such as women's rights and U.S. foreign policy, and provided a path to political involvement for women. The papers of the League are held by the Library of Congress.

Also contains the papers of the Women's Action Alliance, which was founded "to coordinate with local women's organizations and assist them in finding resources and funding on both the local and national levels."

Grassroots Feminist Organizations [microform]
MICROFILM 12388
96 reels
Printed guide: HQ1421.G7 2008
Material from Boston area Second Wave Organizations and the San Francisco Women’s Center.

The International Women’s Movement: The Pan Pacific Southeast Asia Women’s Association of the USA, 1950-1985 Archives Unbound
"Formerly known as the Pan Pacific Women’s Association of the U.S.A., the Pan Pacific and Southeast Asia Women’s Association was founded in 1930 to strengthen international understanding and friendship among the women of Asia and the Pacific and women of the U.S.A. The group promoted cooperation among women of these regions for the study and improvement of social, economic, and cultural conditions; engaged in studies on Asian and Pacific affairs; provided hospitality to temporary residents and visitors from Pacific and Asian areas; and presented programs of educational and social interest, dealing with the customs and cultures of Asian and Pacific countries."

Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis Archives Unbound
"As outspoken lesbian organizers for civil rights, civil liberties, and human dignity whose personal relationship fueled decades of political activism, Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin created and helped shape the modern gay and feminist movements. They are stellar examples of engaged citizens: women of extraordinary courage, persistence, intelligence, humor, and decency, who refused to be silenced by fear. Not only were they founders in 1955 of the first lesbian rights organization in U.S. history, the Daughters of Bilitis (DOB), but they also were instrumental in the formation and growth of other related social movements, including the contemporary women’s rights movement."

U.S. government records

Records of the Women’s Bureau of the Department of Labor, 1918-1965 [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 10548
23 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HD6095 .R426
Established in 1920, the Women's Bureau documented the condition of women workers in the U.S. The collection consists of reports, surveys, material from conferences, and speeches and articles by Women's Bureau staff. Princeton holds only Part 1 of this microfilm collection.

President’s Commission on the Status of Women [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11818
13 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HQ1421 .P737
From 1961 to 1963, the Commission addressed many issues faced by women in the U.S. workplace, including pay, child care, and labor law. This collection documents the work of the Commission and includes letters, meeting minutes, and reports.

Publications on the Status of Women
Full text database of reports and publications issued by local and state commissions on the status of women. When complete, these publications will document women's issues in all 50 states and include an array of ephemeral materials, charts, graphs, and tables. c. 1960.

British organizations

Archives of the Fabian Society [microform]
Microfilm S00836
15 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HX241.F333 F343
The Fabian Society is a British socialist organization established in 1884. Pt. 5 of the microfilm of their archives includes the Papers and records of the Fabian Women’s Group, 1919-1951.