Skip to main content

History of women, gender & sexuality

Personal papers: American

The collected correspondence of Lydia Maria Child, 1817-1880
Microfiche 517
97 fiche
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E449.C534152H64
Child was an American journalist and abolitionist who corresponded widely with important political and literature figures of the 19th c. U.S. See also http://www.anb.org/articles/15/15-00127.html

M. Carey Thomas papers [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 04570
217 reels
Printed guide: Z6616.T514W47
Consists of the personal and administrative papers of Thomas (1857-1935), President of Bryn Mawr College from 1894-1922 and noted advocate for women's education. Also includes papers of Thomas' partner, Mary Garrett. See also http://www.anb.org/articles/15/15-00852.html (on Thomas) and http://www.anb.org/articles/15/15-00927.html (on Garrett)

The papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 06966
45 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HQ1412 .P364
Compilation of the public and private papers of the two leaders of the American women's suffrage movement in the late 19th c. The papers are held in a number of archives and private collections. Includes diaries, letters, news clippings and scrapbooks, and legal papers. The printed guide has a detailed subject/name index. See also http://www.anb.org/articles/15/15-00021.html and below.

The papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 05438
5 reels
Printed guide: none
Reproduces Stanton's papers at the Library of Congress. See above and also http://www.anb.org/articles/15/15-00640.html and http://lcweb2.loc.gov/service/mss/eadxmlmss/eadpdfmss/1998/ms998020.pdf

Emma Goldman papers [microform]: a microfilm edition
Microfilm 11725
69 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HX843.7.G65E43 1995
Goldman (1869-1940) was an anarchist and feminist who was deported from the U.S. to the newly created Soviet Union in 1919; after 1921, she moved through several European countries and Canada. The collection consists of correspondence, published material by and about Goldman, and government surveillance documents from the U.S., Britain, Russia, and elsewhere. See also http://www.anb.org/articles/15/15-00276.html

The papers of Margaret Sanger [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 09965
145 reels
Printed guide: none
Sanger (1879-1966) was an American advocate of birth control and an activist in many related areas. Her papers document her public and private activities and include the records of a number of organizations in which she was involved, including Planned Parenthood. The collection comprises material from the Library of Congress. See also http://www.anb.org/articles/15/15-00598.html

Margaret Sanger papers. Documents from the Sophia Smith Collection and college archives, Smith College (Series 2) [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11675
83 reels
Printed guide:Firestone Microforms HQ764.S3 S263 ser. 2
See above.

Margaret Sanger papers. Collected documents series [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11676
18 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HQ764.S3 S263 ser. 3
See above.

Papers of Emily Greene Balch, 1875-1961 [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11999
26 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms JZ5540.2.B34 P37 1988
Balch was a sociologist and peace activist who receive the Nobel Peace Prize in 1946. See http://www.anb.org/articles/15/15-00032.html

Papers of Mary Church Terrell [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11885
34 reels
Printed guide: none
Terrell (1863-1954) was an African-American social activist and a founder of the National Association of Colored Women. Her papers are at the Library of Congress. See http://www.anb.org/articles/15/15-00686.html

Mary McLeod Bethune papers [microform]: the Bethune-Cookman College collection, 1922-1955
RECAP Microfilm 10234
13 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E185.97.B34 A3
Bethune (1875-1955), an important figure in the civil rights movement, founded what became the Bethune-Cookman College in 1904 to educate African-Americans. She was active in the federal government and in many African-American organizations. This collection consists of the records of the college. See also http://www.anb.org/articles/06/06-00042.html

Mary McLeod Bethune papers: Bethune Foundation collection [microform]:
RECAP Microfilm 11958
19 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E185.97.B34 A2 1996
See above. This collection consists of Bethune's correspondence and other personal papers, plus material on the Bethune Foundation, which she founded in 1953.

Papers of Edwin Doak & Lucia Ames Mead, 1876-1936 [microform]
Microfilm 11985
11 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Z6464.Z9 M35 1991
Mead and Doak were peace activists; Mead was also active in the women's rights movement.

Charlotte Eugenia Hawkins Brown papers, 1883-1961 [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11986
4 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms LA2317.B598 A3 1999
Brown was an African-American educator and founder of the Palmer Institute. See http://www.anb.org/articles/09/09-00117.html.

Papers of Hannah Clothier Hull, 1889-1958 [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 11987
6 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Z6464.Z9 H85 1991
Hull was a peace activist, especially through her involvement with the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom. See http://www.anb.org/articles/20/20-00492.html

Fannie Lou Hamer, 1917-1977 [microform]: papers, 1966-1978
RECAP Microfilm 11839
17 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E185.97.H35 A3 2005a
Hamer was an African-American civil rights activist. See http://www.anb.org/articles/15/15-00821.html

FBI file on Eleanor Roosevelt [microform]
Microfilm 10567
3 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E807.1.R48 F34
Reproduces material from the FBI's files, covering Eleanor Roosevelt from 1932 through 1962. Documents both her political activities and opposition to her. See also http://www.anb.org/articles/15/15-00580.html and http://foia.fbi.gov/foiaindex/erosevlt.htm for an online version of the file.

Personal papers: British

Women, emancipation and literature: the papers of Harriet Martineau, 1802-1876
RECAP Microfilm 07850
17 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HQ1595.M5 W653 1991
Martineau was an influential abolitionist and feminist in 19th. c. Britain. The papers include correspondence and manuscripts of her published work. See http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/ women_emancipation_literature/Contents.aspx. See also http://www.oxforddnb.com/view/article/18228

Women, education and literature: the papers of Maria Edgeworth, 1768-1849
Microfilm 10304
49 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms PR4646 .A355
Edgeworth was a novelist of early 19th c. Britain. The papers include correspondence, notebooks and drafts of her published work. See http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/ women_education_and_literature/index.aspx See also http://www.oxforddnb.com/view/article/8476

The papers of Emily Davies and Barbara Bodichon [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 05643
14 reels
Printed guide: none
The papers of two advocates for women's rights in Britain. See http://www.oxforddnb.com/view/article/2755 [on Bodichon, 1827–1891)] and http://www.oxforddnb.com/view/article/32741 [on Davies, 1830–1921].

Women, suffrage and politics [microform]: the papers of Sylvia Pankhurst, 1882-1960
RECAP Microfilm 07849
37 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HQ1595.P34S373 1989
Pankhurst was a leader of the women's suffrage movement in Britain in the early 20th century. The collection includes correspondence, records of the organizations in which she was involved, and material documenting her political activities. See http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/ women_suffrage_and_politics_sylvia_pankhurst/ Contents.aspx and http://www.oxforddnb.com/view/article/37833