Research Guides: History of women, gender & sexuality: LGBT history

LGBT history

LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
A cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This collection features documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics. 1966+
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Includes books, periodicals and archival materials which document LGBT political, and social, and cultural movements from the early twentieth century until the present as well memoirs, biographies, fiction and other creative works which reveal the personal experience of lesbians, gays, transgendered, and bisexual individuals.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of the world's LGBTQ literature, for both academic & lifestyle publications. Covers the full run of 190 of the most important & historically significant journals, magazines, and regional newspapers, both mainstream and grey, and more than 330 books & reference works. Topics include sociology, culture, civil liberties, individual lives, family, community, employment, history, politics, psychology, and religion. Early 1950s+
Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
Brings together primary source content on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, including the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/Aids crisis, and more.

Digital Transgender Archive
Photos and publications from transgender history
Lesbian Herstory Archives
Oral histories, videos, and documents from lesbian history

Magazines

LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of the world's LGBTQ literature, for both academic & lifestyle publications. Covers the full run of 190 of the most important & historically significant journals, magazines, and regional newspapers, both mainstream and grey, and more than 330 books & reference works. Topics include sociology, culture, civil liberties, individual lives, family, community, employment, history, politics, psychology, and religion. Early 1950s+
Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
Brings together primary source content on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world, including the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/Aids crisis, and more.

International Periodicals and Newsletters from the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives filmed from the holdings of the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives. Parts 1-4 pt. 1. The Americas (reel 1-91) -- pt. 2. Europe (reel 92-178) -- pt. 3. Australia and New Zealand (reel 179-207) -- pt. 4. Asia, Africa and the Middle East (reel 208-211).Microfilm 12014; guide at (FilmB) HQ75.I58 2006

Selected Newsletters and Periodicals from the Holdings of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender History Society. Parts 1-3 Part 1. Advent to Frontiers Newsmagazine (San Francisco edition) (reels 1-23) -- Part 2. FTM (Female to Male) Newsletter to parents and friends of lesbians and Gays (San Francisco, CA) (reels 24-45) -- Part 3. Parents and friends of lesbians and gays newsletter (Santa Ana, CA) to Zuni Mountain news (reels 46-67). Microfilm 11950; guide at (FilmB) HQ76.8.U5 S44 2005

LGBTQ newspapers and periodicals collection from the Lesbian Herstory Archives.
108 microfilm reels MICROFILM 12562

Herstory [microform]. MICROFILM S00485; for accompanying index see: (Film B) HQ1154.H4
Contains women’s periodicals from the International Women’s History Periodical Archive assembled 1978- by the Women’s History Research Center (called 1968-1977 Women’s History Library).

Sexual Politics in Britain. Parts 1-6 Microfiche 915; guide at (FilmB) Z7164.S42S49

Politics, Social Activism and Community Support: Selected Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newsletters

"The collection features more than 200 newsletter and periodical titles totaling nearly 8,000 issues."

Organizations

Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance Archives, ca. 1972-1994. Parts 1-4. Microfilm 11997; guide at (FilmB) HQ76.8.U5A85 2002

Gay Activism in Britain from 1958: The Hall-Carpenter Archives, from the London School of Economics. Part 1 Microfilm 11949; guide at (FilmB) HQ76.8.G7 G39 2001

The Gay Rights Movement: Gay Activists Alliance, from the International Gay Information Center, the New York Public Library. Microfilm 11811; guide at (FilmB) HQ76.8.U5 G397

Mattachine Society, Inc. of New York: Records, 1951-76. International Gay Information Center. Microfilm 11783; guide at (FilmB) HQ76.3U52 M377

The National Gay and Lesbian Task Force records, 1973-2000 [microform]: from the holdings of the Human Sexuality Collection, Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, Cornell University. 298 reels: ser. 1. Internal files (reel 1-70) -- ser. 2. Field files (reel 71-226) -- ser. 3. Policy institute, subjects files, and photographs (reel 227-298). RECAP MICROFILM 12514; guide at FilmB HQ76.8.U5 N375 2001.

Lesbian Herstory Archives subject files [microform]. RECAP MICROFILM 12550

Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis Archives Unbound / Archives of Human Sexuality

Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis Archives Unbound

In Response to the the AIDS Crisis Archives Unbound "Briefing books, hearing and meeting transcripts, reports, and press clippings document the activities of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome from 1983-1994.

ACT-UP Oral History Project

Personal papers

The Homophile Movement: Papers of Donald Stewart Lucas, 1941-1976 Archives Unbound "This collection documents the activist and professional activities of Donald S. Lucas. The vast majority of the collection dates from 1953 to 1969. The Lucas collection contains an abundance of material relating to the early homosexual civil rights movement (the homophile movement)"

Vardaman papers, 1883-1917.
Manuscripts Off-Site Storage: TC089
http://findingaids.princeton.edu/collections/TC089
"Mansel Boyle, known to the Vaudeville stage as "Vardaman,the Auburn-haired Beauty," was born in 1877 in Santa Cruz, California. He worked extensively on the West Coast, eventually becoming one of the best-known female impersonators of the period.Consists of Vardaman’s papers, including documents, correspondence (both business and personal), diaries, a scrapbook, souvenir books, printing blocks, photographs of Vardaman as a female impersonator, snapshots, sheet music, playbills, clippings, miscellaneous material, and printed matter."