Skip to Main Content

Russian Literature

Highlights of the Princeton University Library's Russian Literature Holdings

The Osip Mandelshtam Papers. 2.4 linear feet of unique original manuscript and typescript documents, including drafts of poems and prose works, letters and other documents composed by Osip Mandelshtam, his wife Nadezhda Mandelshtam, and others. High resolution digital images of the documents are accessible through the finding aid.  

 

Two volumes from the library of Vladimir Nabokov, including a Pushkin volume containing the copy of Eugene Onegin used in the preparation of Nabokov's translation, and a volume of Tiutchev poetry. Both volumes have extensive autograph marginalia. Both have been digitally imaged and can be consulted in the Princeton University Digital Library  

 

The Anatoly Naiman Papers. 11.5 linear feet of unique original manuscript and typescript documents, photographs, and materials in other media, belonging to Russian poet, memoirist, translator, and secretary to Anna Akhmatova Anatoly Naiman. The Papers include correspondence and drafts of works by Naiman, Akhmatova, Joseph Brodsky, Lidia Chukovskaya, Sergei Dovlatov, Yevgeny Rein, Dmitri Bobyshev, and others.  

 

The Clarence Brown Papers. 2 linear feet of manuscript and typescript documents and photographs belonging to late Princeton Comparative Literature Professor Clarence Brown. Includes correspondence related to the transfer of the The Osip Mandelshtam Papers to Princeton and diaries kept by Brown during his sojourns in the Soviet Union in the 1960s, when he met with figures such as Anna Akhmatova, Nadezhda Mandelshtam, Joseph Brodsky, and others.  

 

Kees Verheul Letters from Nadezhda Mandelstam. A small collection of autograph letters from Nadezhda Mandelshtam to the Dutch Slavist Kees Verheul.  

 

The Cotsen Children's Library has one of the world's most significant collections of Soviet-era illustrated books for children and young readers. Selections from this collection are being digitized and mounted in a Slavic Collections department of the Digital Princeton University Library.  

Princeton Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies Collections Online

  Digitized selections from Princeton University Library's collections of rare materials from and/or related to Eastern Europe, Russia, and the other territories of the former Soviet Union are accessible in the Princeton Slavic Collections section of the Digital PUL website.