Skip to main content

Russian Literature

Major Archival Collections in Russia

RGALI (The Russian State Literature and Art Archive)
The "largest repository of institutional records and personal papers relating to the history of Russian and Soviet Literature"*, containing fonds of Dostoevsky, Turgenev, Chekhov, Bunin, Akhmatova, Blok, Bulgakov, Esenin, Mayakovsky and Tsvetaeva to name only a few.


IRLI RAN (Pushkinskii Dom)
In addition to housing the core fond of archival materials related to Pushkin, IRLI RAN is a massive depository of archival materials relating to Russian literature from the 18th through the 20th centuries, holding manuscript materials and other documents authored by or relating to Batiushkov, Briusov, Blok, Derzhavin, Dobroliubov, Dostoevsky, Gogol, Griboedov, Herzen, Leskov, Nekrasov, Remizov, Saltykov-Shchedrin, Sologub, Turgenev, Voloshin and Zhukovskii, among many others.


The Manuscript Division of the Russian State Library
The RSL's Manuscript Division holds fonds of personal papers of many important Russian literary figures, including Babl, Blok, Bulgakov, Chekhov, Derzhavin, Dostoevsky, Esenin, Gogol, Fet, Lermontov, Nekrasov, Ostrovsky, Turgenev, Tiutchev and Zhukovskii.


The Manuscript Collection of the Russian National Library
A repository holding fonds of many Russian literary figures, among them Belyi, Khlebnikov, Gippius, Gogol (including the Manuscripts of Dead Souls), Goncharov, Lermontov, Merezhkovskii and Turgenev.


TsGALI (Central State Archive of Literature and Art)  




* Grimstead, P.K. (ed.). Archives of Russia: A Directory and Bibliographic Guide to Holdings in Moscow and St. Petersburg. New York : M.E. Sharpe, 2000. p. 213

Major Archival Collections in North America

Princeton University Library Rare Books and Special Collections
Princeton's division of Rare Books and Special Collections holds a number of important Russian Literature archival collections, most notable among them The Osip Mandelshtam Papers.


Columbia University Rare Book and Manuscript Library
Columbia University Rare Book and Manuscript Library is home to the Bakhmeteff Archive of Russian and East European Culture, which contains a wealth of archival materials authored by and pertaining to prominent literary figures of the Russian emigration such as Bunin, Aldanov, Remizov, Tsvetaeva, Khodasevich, Zaitsev, Teffi, and Don Aminado.


Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Yale University
Yale's Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library houses a number of important archival collections of literary figures of the Russian emigration, among them The Joseph Brodsky Papers, The Nina Berberova Papers, and The Roman Gul' Papers.


New York Public Library Archives and Manuscripts
The New York Public Library has rich collections of unique Russian and East European materials, its most important Russian-literature related archival collection being the Vladimir Nabokov Papers.


Library of Congress, Manuscripts
The Library of Congress houses many archival collections related to Russian culture, including the Vladimir Vladimirovich Nabokov Papers.