Skip to main content

Russian Literature

Online Catalogs

Princeton University Library
An online catalog of all holdings in all formats in the collections of Princeton University Library, including more than 50,000 titles related to Russian literature.
 

 

WorldCat
WorldCat is a database that amalgamates the catalog records from more than 72,000 libraries in 170 countries. The database contains over 2 billion records representing materials in 470 languages and dialects. Students and scholars of Russian literature should note that the Russian State Library in Moscow (the "Leninka") and the Russian National Library in St. Petersburg do not contribute catalog records to WorldCat and must be searched separately.
 

 

Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog
tual Catalog
The Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog is another database amalgamating catalog records from libraries around the world. If you are looking for a specific publication or source you believe exists and have not been successful using any of the above listed catalogs, it's a good idea to look for it in KVK. Note that, although the Russian State Library is listed among institutions covered by the Catalog, the Russian State Library Catalog should be searched separately.
 

 

Российская национальная библиотека
The National Library of Russia'a website provides access to the Library's online catalog and several other databases.
 

 

Российская государственная библиотека ("Ленинка")
The website of the Russian State Library in Moscow provides access to the Library's online catalog and other databases.
 

 

Президентская библиотека им. Б.М. Ельцина
The Presidential Library's website provides access to the Library's many disciplinary catalogs, including the Humanities and Social Science catalog which has a sub-catalog for philology.
 

 

Библиотека Академии Наук
The Academy of Science's website provides access to the institution's many electronic catalogs.
 

 

A Note about Transliteration. Princeton University Library Catalog, WorldCat and other North American catalogs use the Library of Congress Romanization Table for Russian as the standard for transliterated Russian. When searching these catalogs it is recommended that Russian names and other words be transliterated using this scheme. Searching in Cyrillic will retrieve only a small subset of Russian materials in these collections. When searching the online catalogs of libraries in the Russian Federation, using Cyrillic is generally most effective.