Skip to main content

Basic Sources of International Economic Statistics

Major Sources for international macroeconomic statistics - Start with

For a comparison of major sources, see http://libguides.princeton.edu/MacroCompare.

World Development Indicators
Annual economic, social, educational, environmental and health data from many of the World Bank's major statistical publications. Provides data from 1960 to the present.  If researching African nations, also see Africa Development Indicators which has some additional variables.  WDI drops items over time and numbers do change.  See archived version for changes over time.

Data-Planet Datasets
Wide variety of economic, social, environmental, and political indicators from many US government agencies as well as international bodies.
Includes IMF's International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade (1980+), Balance of Payments, and Government Finance Statistics.  

 

Global Financial Data
Data on bonds, commodities, interest rates, stock markets and indices, futures, exchange rates, GDP, prices, and unemployment. World exchange rates back to 1624, inflation rates back to 1748, and wholesale prices back to 1720. Major commodities going back to 1784. Some annual series go back to the 1200s. Methodology and sources are documented. The stock market indices go back to 1693. Also included are data on stock market capitalization, dividend yields, price/earnings ratios, total return performance indices, and Global Financial Data's World Stock Market Indices.

CEIC
Provides macroeconomic and financial time series data on China, India, and many other countries. Contains a wide range of data on topics including national accounts, government and public finance, demographic and labor markets, inflation, foreign trade, foreign direct investment, financial markets, and data on a variety of industry sectors. Includes subnational data for China.

Datastream International
International economic indicators on a time series basis. Data is derived from national governments and banks, IMF, OECD, other international agencies, and the company's own researchers.
Location: Firestone Library, A Floor (RIS Suite) & STOKES

Economist Intelligence Unit
International economic, social, and political data and forecasts on a time series basis. Data is derived from national governments, trade associations, BIS, IMF, IFC, OECD, the World Bank, and EIU's own researchers. Consists of
EIU Country Data (international economic data and forecasts on a time series basis), EIU Market Indicators and Forecasts (social, economic, and political risk data), EIU World Investment Service (foreign direct investment), and EIU City Data (detailed cost comparisons of major international cities). Some of their other services offer overviews of various international industries, commercial regulations, risk briefings, and update services. Textual analysis and forecasts can be found in the EIU Country Profiles, Reports, and Forecasts1996+ or the Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports Historical Archive 1952-1995.

Global Insight
Best source for United States national, state, and metropolitan data. International data includes IMF's International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade, and Balance of Payments as well as OECD's Main Economic Indicators and National Accounts. Limited data coming directly from other countries is also included.

knoema.com/atlas. Useful for a wide variety of macroeconomic and social statistics on a wide variety of countries.  Tends not to go back far in time but good for quick look ups and sourcing is always provided.

Major Sources for international macroeconomic statistics - Additional Sources

OECD iLibrary 
Statistics on the OECD countries regarding topics such as general economic indicators, agriculture and food, bank profitability, economic forecasts, education, employment, globalization, industrial structure, institutional investors, international development, migration, trade, international direct investment, national accounts, governmental revenue, science and technology, services, social expenditure, industrial structural analysis, and telecommunications.

Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive

Economic, social, and political indicators of nations and empires of the world including countries and empires that no longer exist. Select data goes back to 1815.

 United Nations. Statistics Division
Among the many publications of the UN Statistics Division are yearbooks on: Construction, Energy, Industrial Statistics, International Trade, National Accounts and Demography.
UN Sales publications - Categories XIII & XVII (Located in United Nations Collection - Firestone 2nd Floor)
For 1926-1944, use the Statistical Yearbook of the League of Nations.

Penn World Tables of Economic & Social Indicators 1950-2014
Economic and social indicators for 182 countries.

Gapminder.
Provides data and visualization for the countries and many territories for various socio-economic indicators with sources cited in some cases back to the early 1800s.

 World Economic OutlookPresents the IMF staff's analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups (classified by region, stage of development, etc.), and in many individual countries. It focuses on major economic policy issues as well as on the analysis of economic developments and prospects. It is usually prepared twice a year.


Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development.
Main Economic Indicators
1960+
Provides monthly and quarterly long-term data for each country on national product, production, labor and wages, interest rates, balance of payments, etc.

Eurostat
National and regional economic and social indicators for the European Community and its member states.

Euromonitor Passport Reference.  Provides international demographic, macro-economic and marketing statistics for 210 countries.  Covers economic indicators, population trends, consumer and lifestyle information, country infrastructure, environment and more.

UNCTADStat
Provides a collection of statistical data relevant to the analysis of international merchandise and service trade, economic trends, foreign direct investment, external financing sources including remittances, population and labor force, commodities, and maritime transport for individual countries and for economic and trade groupings. Data are presented in an analytical way, through the use of rank orderings, growth rates and other special calculations, with a view to facilitate their interpretation. The primary paper equivalent is UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics ((UN) HF91 .H35q).  This title continues Handbook of International Trade and Development Statistics (1964-1995) located at HF91.H35.