Skip to main content

Modern Europe

Germany: government records

Stenographische Berichte über die Verhandlungen des Deutschen Reichstages [Germany]
Legislative proceedings of the German government:

  • Oversize JN3971.A71 N673q (1867-1870) [Norddeutscher Bund. Reichstag.]
  • Oversize DD210 .D488q (1868-70) [Deutscher Zollverein. Zollparlament.]
  • RECAP Oversize 0857.38q (1871-1936) [Germany. Reichstag.]

Verhandlungen des Deutschen Bundestages. Stenographische Berichte
The proceedings of the Bundestag (the German legislative assembly), including debates, resolutions, drafts of law, and related documents.

  • RECAP Oversize 0857.394q (1949-1990) [Germany (West). Bundestag.]
  • Annex A J351 .K25 (1991 onwards) [Germany. Bundestag.]

Verhandlungen des Deutschen Bundestages. Drucksachen
See above.

  • Annex A J351 .K25 Suppl. (1991 onwards) [Germany. Bundestag.]
  • RECAP 0857.394q suppl. (1977-1991) [Germany (West). Bundestag.]
  • RECAP 0857.394q suppl. (1953-1976) [Germany (West). Bundestag.]

Verhandlungen des Bundesrates

  • Firestone Oversize JN3972.A2 G474q (1949-1990) [Germany (West). Bundesrat.]
  • Firestone Oversize JN3972.A2 G474q (1991-present) [Germany. Bundesrat.]

Reichs-Gesetzblatt (to 1943) AND Bundesgesetzblatt
The official register of legislation and treaties.

  • RECAP 7922.386 (1871-1943)
  • Firestone KK10 .G474 (1949-1990)
  • Firestone Oversize KK10.G475aq (1991-2003)

Akten der Reichskanzlei
This series documents the German chancellery. There are two subseries: Weimarer Republik (1919-1933) and Regierung Hitler (1933-1938). Because the volumes are cataloged individually, search the Main Catalog for "Akten der Reichskanzlei" for call numbers.

Akten zur deutschen auswärtigen Politik, 1918-1945
Firestone Oversize DD240 .G438 1950q
Retrospective compilation that document German foreign policy, similar to Foreign Relations of the United States. In German, but see below.

Documents on German foreign policy, 1918-1945
Firestone DD240 .G438 1949
An English-language translation of series C and D (1933-1941) of the above.

Akten zur auswärtigen Politik der Bundesrepublik Deutschland
Firestone DD258.8 .A385
Covers 1949-1977 (the most recent volume)

German Foreign Ministry Archives
RECAP 0448.386
50 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms CD1237.5.A43 1958
Includes papers from the archives of the former German embassy in Washington, files of individuals whose papers were preserved in the archives of the former German Foreign Ministry, and two groups of Asservate. Microfilm of originals now in the Foreign Ministry of the Federal German Republic.

German Foreign Ministry Archives, 1867-1920
Microfilm 01017
16 reels
Printed guide: none
A selection of documents related to the Ottoman Empire from the German Foreign Ministry Archives.

Austria: government records

Aussenpolitische Dokumente der Republik Österreich, 1918-1938 (ADÖ)
DB46 .A977 1993
This series documents Austrian foreign policy between World War I and World War II.

Occupation and Independence: The Austrian Second Republic, 1945-1963 Archives Unbound
"This Archives Unbound collection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal the internal affairs of post-World War II Austria, contain a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats."

Prussia: government records

Stenographische Berichte über die Verhandlungen [Prussia]
Legislative proceedings of the Prussian government:

  • Oversize DD208 .P748 1849q [Preussische Nationalversammlung]
  • Microfiche 257 (1849-1869/1870) [Prussia. Lantag, Herrenhaus.]
  • Microfiche 194 (1855/6 to 1870) [Prussia (Germany). Landtag.]
  • Oversize J368.C2 P748q (1872-1895) [Prussia (Kingdom). Landtag.]

Germany: personal papers

Papers of Hermann von Boyen, ca. 1787-1848 [microform]
1585.205
12 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms CD3026.A52
Description: "This collection of Von Boyen’s private and official papers consists chiefly of correspondence, memoranda, manuscript studies of military and political subjects, tables of organization and distribution of the Prussian Army, and records containing data relating to the military budget."

Eduard Lasker papers [microform]
1580.186.565
40 reels
Printed guide: none
"Eduard Lasker was a political leader during the Bismarck regime in Germany. His collection consists of ... manuscript material, correspondence and pamphlets." The originals are in Brandeis University Library.

Stresemann papers [microform]
1580.191.887
78 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DD231.S83C64
Gustav Stresemann (1878-1929) was the 1926 Nobel Peace Prize laureate. He was an important political figure in Weimar Germany, serving briefly as Chancellor and then as secretary of foreign affairs. The originals are in the German Foreign Ministry archives.

Germany: U.S. government records

Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the United States and Germany, 1910-1929
RECAP 1096.386.92.16
4 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Germany, 1930-1941 [microform]: internal affairs
Microfilm 12397
59 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DD253.A1 C66 1984
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files [microform]: Germany foreign affairs, 1930-1939
Microfilm 12400
12 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E183.8.G3 C617 1985
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html. Decimal numbers 762 and 711.62.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files [microform]: Germany internal affairs, 1942-1944
Microfilm 12406
35 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DD253.A1 C662
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files [microform]: Germany foreign affairs, 1940-1944.
Microfilm 12407
5 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DD253.A1 C658
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. [microform] Germany, internal affairs, 1945-1949: decimal number 862
Microfilm 12398
109 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DD257.4 .C668 1985
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html.

East Germany from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963 Archives Unbound
"Originally microfilmed as Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to the Internal Affairs of East Germany, this digital collection provides an in-depth look into the creation of the East German state, living conditions, and its people. Documents included in this collection are predominantly instructions to and despatches from U.S. diplomatic, and consular personnel regarding political, military, economic, social, industrial, and other internal conditions and events in East Germany."

Confidential U.S. State Department central files: Federal Republic of Germany: internal affairs: part 1, political, governmental, and national defense affairs, 1950-1954 (inclusive), [microform]
Microfilm 12392
56 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DD259 .C666 1986
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html. Decimal numbers 762A-762A.6

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Germany--Federal Republic of Germany [microform]: foreign affairs, 1950-1954, decimal numbers 662A and 611.62A
Microfilm 12403
9 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DD259.5 .C662 1986
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Germany, 1950-1954 [microform]: internal and foreign affairs, decimal numbers 762, 862, 962, 611.62, and 662
Microfilm 12396
45 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DD257.4 .C67 1990
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Federal Republic of Germany, 1955-1959. Foreign affairs [microform]: decimal numbers 662A and 611.62A
Microfilm 09650
5 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DD259.5 .C663
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Federal Republic of Germany, 1955-1959. Internal affairs [microform]
Microfilm 09637
69 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DD259 .C664
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Germany, 1955-1959. Internal and foreign affairs [microform]: decimal numbers 762, 862, 962, 611.62, and 662
Microfilm 10616
37 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DD257.4 .C68
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Germany, 1960-January 1963 [microform]: internal affairs and foreign affairs
Microfilm 12402
35 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DD257 .C63 2004
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html. Decimal numbers 762, 862, and 962 and foreign affairs, decimal numbers 662 and 611.62

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Federal Republic of Germany, 1960-January 1963. Foreign affairs. [microform]: decimal numbers 662A abd 611.26A
Microfilm 11687
5 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DD259 .C665
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Federal Republic of Germany, 1960-January 1963. Internal affairs [microform]
Microfilm 11712
46 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DD257.4 .C686
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Germany: subject-numeric files, February 1963-1966. Part 1, Political, governmental and national defense affairs [microform]
Microfilm 12399
14 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E183.8.G3 C62 2006
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Federal Republic of Germany, February 1963-1966. Part 1, Political, governmental and national defense affairs [microform]: subject-numeric categories: AID, CSM, DEF, and POL
Microfilm 12418
40 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html.

Records of the U.S. Department of State relating to the internal affairs of East Germany, 1960-1963 [microform]. Microfilm 12540 and printed guide at Firestone Microforms DD287 .U6 2003

Records of the U.S. Department of State relating to the internal affairs of East Germany, 1963-1966 [microform]. Microfilm 12539